American Speedway  

2010 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Harley Night #2 / Sidecars
August 28, 2010 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

"Boogaloo" Bobby Schwartz won the main event on Harley Night at Costa Mesa, but his and everyone's thoughts were on Philip Harmatiuk who suffered severe injuries from a crash in event 14.

Harmatiuk, who earlier in the evening scored an impressive victory over former National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria, hit the turn two wall at a high rate of speed in an incident involving two other riders as well. "Fast" Eddie Castro was uninjured and Aaron Fox was sore after hitting the wall himself, but Harmatiuk suffered the worst of it. After being tended to by medical personnel, Harmatiuk was transported to Western Medical Center where he remains hospitalized at this time. Any, and all information regarding Harmatiuk's injuries and status will be released via the Harmatiuk family.

The evening began with Gary Hicks beating Gino Manzares. "Mad Dog" Shawn McConnell defeated Doug Greyson in the second heat. Event three saw Harmatiuk hold off Faria for his aforementioned victory. Tyson Burmeister finished round one by defeating John Marquez.

Hicks started round two by holding off a very determined Burmeister for his second win. Buck Blair beat McConnell for his first win. Faria beat Manzares in the next heat. Fox ended the second round by winning his maiden first division scratch race.

Hicks won the restarted event 14 under very somber circumstances. McConnell defeated Burmeister for his second win in the evening. Faria made it two wins in a row ahead of Blair. Former Youth National Champion Jason Ramirez, in his first night back after injuring his back several months ago, concluded the heats with a win over Schwartz.

Faria and McConnell finished one-two in the first semi to transfer to the main. In the second semi Hicks led Burmeister all the way to the finish line and into the main event. Schwartz won the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main.

The main event was dedicated to Jim Gardner, a Support Division rider who passed away the previous day after suffering injuries in a road accident a couple weeks prior. During pre-race interviews, all five competitors expressed that their thoughts and prayers were with their comrade Harmatiuk.

Hicks made the best start from gate one, but Schwartz used the wide line to muster enough speed around the outside to propel himself into the lead on the back straight. Hicks tried to get under Schwartz over the course of the next lap, but couldn't get by. It would be the closest he would get as the 54 year old former World Pairs Champion led to the checkered flag. Hicks settled for second, McConnell was third, Faria finished fourth, and Burmeister was fifth.

"Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen got the best start in the Support Main Event but went wide in turn two which allowed Rudy Laurer to take over the lead. Laurer got off the groove and went wide himself in turn four and handed the lead back to Bowen. Laurer refused to give up, but his determination brought him to close to Bowen on the third lap and he ran into the leader's back wheel and went down. The red flag came out and the victory was awarded to Bowen. Geoff Herkner was second, Mike Wiley was third, and Laurer was credited with fourth.

C.J. Sanborn led all four laps en route to his first victory in the Support B Main Event. Dan Wensloff finished second, Todd Silicato was third, and Norman Graham finished fourth.

Gerard Jackson and Dave German led the Sidecar Main Event into turn one but Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers pushed their way by in turn two and took the lead. Bryan Motis and Chris Levitt also went by and immediately began pressuring the leaders. Motis and Levitt appeared to have the lead in their grasp several times, but each time they were denied. Their bid ended on the last lap when they ended up on the infield. The Driggers duo led to the finish line, Jackson and German were second, Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen finished third, and Motis and Levitt were credited with fourth.

Then next event at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway is the John Matherson Cup on Saturday, September 11. It will also include the final Amateur Afternoon and Brad Oxley School of Skid during the day.


Sidecar Main Event
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
2 - Bryan Motis/Chris Levitt

Support B Main Event
393 - C.J. Sanborn
169 - Dan Wensloff
282 - Todd Silicato (fell, remounted)
129 - Norman Graham (fell, remounted)

Support Last Chance
11 – Bobby Schwartz
24 – Gino Manzares
39 – Buck Blair
66 – Jason Ramirez

Support Main Event (awarded)
177 - Steve Bowen
208 - Geoff Herkner
101 - Mike Wiley
182 - Rudy Laurer

First Division Heats 1 2 3 T
3 – Gary Hicks 4 4 4 12
6 – Shawn McConnell 4 3 4 11
9 – Mike Faria 3 4 4 11
11 – Bobby Schwartz 2 1 3 6
14 – Eddie Castro F F 2 2
17 – Robbie Sauer 1 3 2 6
24 – Gino Manzares 3 3 3 9
26 – Tyson Burmeister 4 3 3 10
39 – Buck Blair 2 4 3 9
41 – John Marquez 3 1 1 5
63 – Michael Raines 2 2 2 6
66 – Jason Ramirez 1 2 4 7
120 – Doug Greyson 3 1 1 5
141 – Josh Abbott 1 2 2 5
145 – Brad Pappalardo 2 1 1 4
146 – Aaron Fox 1 4 Nr 5
149 – Philip Harmatiuk 4 2 Nr 6

Race Results
1: Hicks, Manzares, Blair, Abbott
2: McConnell, Greyson, Raines, Sauer
3: Harmatiuk, Faria, Pappalardo, Fox (tape penalty), Castro (fell)
4: Burmeister, Marquez, Schwartz (tape penalty), Ramirez (fell, remounted)
8: Hicks, Burmeister, Raines, Pappalardo
9: Blair, McConnell, Harmatiuk, Marquez
10: Faria, Manzares, Ramirez, Greyson
11: Fox, Sauer, Abbott, Schwartz, Castro (tape penalty) (fell)
14: (restarted) Hicks, Manzares, Castro (tape penalty), Harmatiuk (non starter – restart), Fox (non starter – restart)
15: McConnell, Burmeister, Sauer, Marquez
16: Faria, Blair, Abbott, Pappalardo
17: Ramirez, Schwartz, Raines, Greyson
Semi #1: Faria, McConnell, Blair, Ramirez, Raines
Semi #2: Hicks, Burmeister, Manzares, Schwartz, Sauer

First Division Last Chance
11 - Bobby Schwartz
24 - Gino Manzares
39 - Buck Blair
66 - Jason Ramirez

First Division Main Event
11 - Bobby Schwartz
3 - Gary Hicks
6 - Shawn McConnell
9 - Mike Faria
26 - Tyson Burmeister

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.