American Speedway  

2010 Golden Gate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Golden Gate Speedway
Solano County Fairgrounds
Vallejo, California

Golden Gate Speedway
August 14, 2010
By: Gary Roberts

More great racing at Golden Gate Speedway in Vallejo, CA . A good rider turn out, a bigger crowd than last week, and still a bit cold and windy but less bone chilling cold than last week.

The format was changed to that used now in Southern California with a points championship followed a Main event for the top 4 riders and a Consolation event for the next 4.

Once again, Billy Janniro and Tommy Hedden dominated the Division 1 races scoring 11 and 12 points consecutively. Kelly Kerrigan had a good evening scoring 10. Matt Becker and JT Mabry tied on 8 points and had a run-off which put JT in the main. The first run of the main ended with Kerrigan falling uncomfortably, which put him out of the rerun. In the re-run Janniro and Hedden battled, exchanging positions for 4 laps, with Hedden taking a close victory. Mabry finished a not too distant third. Hedden's victory followed his win of the scratch main at Auburn the night before.

The division 2 main started with drama. The first attempt ended with a broken set of tapes. All riders blamed one another, so the new guy Kjell Lovlien, who looked the most innocent to me, was put back 10 yards. Everyone missed the fact that 30 yard rider Matt Drury jumped the start long before the tapes were broken! Second time around local rider Chris Wilkes took the gate and rode a perfect race, followed closely by Rachelle Kerr.

Division 3 was closely contested by a large turn out of riders. The eventual winner was first-time winner, Chris Trummell, followed by Tim Kerrigan and Billy Vaughn. The track enabled several different lines and Tim Kerrigan’s use of the outside line used more by first division riders paid off for him.

Division 1 Main Event
1. Tommy Hedden; 2. Billy Janniro; 3. JT Mabry; 4. Kelly Kerrigan.

Division 1 Consolation Event
1. Bob Hicks; 2. Russell Green; 3. Matt Becker; 4. Ricky Felicio.

Points scored in qualifying rounds:
Tommy Hedden 12
Billy Janniro 11
Kelly Kerrigan 10
JT Mabry 8
Matt Becker 8
Russell Green 7
Bob Hicks 6
Ricky Felicio 4
Devin Defreece 3
Ian Ferris3
Shawn Eldridge 2
Danny Faria 2
Cody Ciciarelli 2

Division 2 Main Event
1. Chris Wilkes; 2. Rachelle Kerr; 3. Matt Drury: 4. Dustin Berdollt; 5. Brian Leventon; 6. Kjell Lovlien.

Division 2 Consi
1. Charles Haines: 2. Les Veale.

Division 3 Main Event
1. Chris Trummell; 2. Tim Kerrigan; 3. Billy Vaughn; 4. John Williams; 5. Chanse Vacarro: 6.Wade Boyd.

Division 3 Consi
1. Chris Casey; 2. John Gautreaux: 3. Tor Lovlien; 4. Greg Lovlien. 5. Rich Mignano: 6. Tom Satery.

1. Ryan Vaughn; 2. Colton Hicks.

The Golden Gate season has 3 more events. Aug 21, 28 and Sept 4.

- Gary Robertsgary_rob@ix.netcom.com

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.