American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Trench Shoring Night
August 11, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz celebrated his 54th birthday in grand style by winning the main event on Trench Shoring Night at Industry Speedway.

Schwartz, who also became a grandfather for the first time the previous week, launched ahead of his competitors at the starting line and led into turn one. Schwartz, the oldest racer in first division, was chased by Austin Novratil, the division’s youngest competitor. Novratil tried forcing a mistake from the former National Champion but couldn’t force a mistake out of the wily veteran. Schwartz held off his teenaged challenger and claimed victory. Novratil settled for second, “Battling” Buck Blair was third, “Flyin” Mike Faria finished fourth, and “Fast” Eddie Castro was fifth.

Tyson Burmeister kicked off the heats by passing Blair on the second lap for the lead and the win. McConnell made a last-turn pass on Faria to win the next heat. Novratil beat Schwartz to end round one with his first victory of the night.

McConnell defeated Schwartz to start round two with his second straight win. Novratil beat Burmeister in the next heat for his second victory. Castro ended the second round by beating Michael Raines.

McConnell passed Castro on the second lap to open the final round with his third straight win. Schwartz beat Raines in the next heat for his first win. Novratil ended the heats with a win to match McConnell’s perfect score.

Castro was victorious in the first semi with Novratil following him into the main event. Blair won the second semi and Faria finished second to also transfer to the main. Schwartz trapped from the outside and won the Last Chance to book the final place in the main.

Rick Howard led the Support Main Event but a crash involving Jake Myers and Chris Jones brought out the red flag. Howard led the restart until Jones used the outside to go around him on the back straight. Jones never looked back from there and went on to victory. Tony DeAlmeida finished second, DeWayne Stark was third, Myers finished fourth, and Howard was fifth.

Rocco Scopellite led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth First Division Main Event. Max Ruml finished second and Nicky Reimer was third.

Dillon Ruml led the Youth Second Division Main Event for a lap, but Broc Nicol charged up the inside on the back straight to take over the lead. Nicol pulled away from there to take home the win. Dillon Ruml settled for second and Kurtis Hamill was third.

Logan Scanltin held off Matthew Duffy to win the Pee Wee First Division Main Event.

Sebastian Palmese passed Clayton Ruston on the second lap and raced away with the victory in the Pee Wee Second Division Main Event. Alyssa Smith was second, Scanlon finished third, Dominic Laney was fourth, Ruston finished fifth, and Walker Calvo was sixth.

Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie led from start to finish and won the Sidecar Main Event. Bryan Motis and Brandi McElroy were second and Kevin Brown and Matt Davis finished third.

The next event at Industry Speedway will be the 2010 Bruce Penhall Night of Legends and will include appearances by many American speedway legends. In addition to Penhall, some of the confirmed legends joining in the festivities are Dennis Sigalos, Jim Fishback, Brad Oxley, Bill Cody, Mark Cherry, and Billy Gray.


Sidecar Main Event 
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie 
  2 - Bryan Motis/Brandi McElroy 
 16 - Kevin Brown/Matt Davis 

Pee Wee Second Division Main Event 
795 - Sebastian Palmese 
 31 - Alyssa Smith 
 23 - Logan Scantlin 
 19 - Dominic Laney 
  9 - Clayton Ruston
 21 - Walker Calvo

Pee Wee First Division Main Event 
 23 - Logan Scantlin 
116 - Matthew Duffy 

Youth Second Division Main Event 
146 - Broc Nicol 
111 - Dillon Ruml 
104 - Kurtis Hamill 

Youth First Division Main Event 
  9 - Rocco Scopellite 
308 - Max Ruml 
 41 - Nicky Reimer 

Support Main Event (restarted) 
116 - Chris Jones 		20 
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 		20 
268 - DeWayne Stark 		20 
175 - Jake Myers 		20	(penalty line) 
188 - Rick Howard 		0 

First Division Heat Scoring	1	2	3	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell		4	4	4	12
  9 – Mike Faria		3	2	3	7
 11 – Bobby Schwartz		3	2	4	9
 14 – Eddie Castro		1	4	3	8
 26 – Tyson Burmeister		4	3	2	9
 39 – Buck Blair		3	2	1	6
 63 – Michael Raines		2	3	3	8
 86 – Neil Facchini		2	3	2	7
145 – Brad Pappalardo		1	1	1	3
146 – Aaron Fox			2	1	2	5
151 – Brandon Leedy		1	1	0	2
178 – Eloy Medellin		0	0	0	0
181 – Austin Novratil		4	4	4	12
208 – Geoff Herkner		0	0	1	1	
274 – Bubba Vazzana		0	0	0	0

Race Results
 2: Burmeister, Blair, Castro, Fox, Medellin
 3: McConnell, Faria, Facchini, Pappalardo, Herkner
 4: Novratil, Schwartz, Raines, Leedy, Vazzana
 7: McConnell, Facchini, Schwartz, Fox, Vazzana
 8: Novratil, Burmeister, Faria, Pappalardo, Medellin
 9: Castro, Raines, Blair, Leedy, Herkner (fell, remounted)
13: McConnell, Castro, Facchini, Pappalardo, Vazzana
14: (restarted) Schwartz, Raines, Burmeister, Herkner, Medellin (penalty line)
16: Novratil, Faria, Fox, Blair (tape penalty), Leedy
Semi #1: Castro, Novratil, Schwartz, Raines, Fox
Semi #2: Blair, Faria, Burmeister, McConnell, Facchini (fell, remounted)

First Division Last Chance 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 
  6 - Shawn McConnell 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 
 63 - Michael Raines 

First Division Main Event 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 
181 - Austin Novratil 
 39 - Buck Blair 
  9 - Mike Faria 
 14 - Eddie Castro
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.