American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

2010 Bruce Penhall Night of Legends
August 18, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas made a grand return to Industry Speedway by winning the main event at the 2010 Bruce Penhall Night of Legends.

Venegas, who missed the previous five weeks because he's been busy promoting Golden Gate Motor Speedway in Vallejo, made the best start and led into turn one. Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell emerged from the rest of the pack in second and chased after the leader. Venegas held a comfortable lead at the end of lap one and McConnell never gained significant ground on him. Venegas was first to the checkered flag, McConnell finished second, "Fast" Eddie Castro was third,

Tyson Burmeister finished fourth, and "Battling" Buck Blair was fifth.

Blair kicked off the heats with his first win. McConnell was leading the second heat before Michael Raines went by on the third lap and went on to an impressive victory. Burmeister defeated Venegas in the third heat. Gino Manzares, in his first domestic appearance in nearly six months, passed John Marquez in the final corner to end round one with a victory.

Venegas started round two with his first win. Burmeister made it two straight wins by defeating Manzares. Marquez beat McConnell in the next heat. Castro finished the second round by beating Tyson Talkington.

Burmeister opened the final round with his third consecutive win. Castro beat Marquez for his second straight win. Blair beat Venegas for his second victory. The heats ended with McConnell beating Manzares.

Venegas won the first semi with McConnell following him into the main. Burmeister and Blair finished one-two in the second semi and transferred to the main. Castro won the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main.

After some bantering on the internet, a much-ballyhooed challenge pitted support rider Kevin Johnson against speedway legend Jim "The Animal" Fishback. Fishback took the initial lead but drifted wide and allowed Johnson to get past. Johnson led going into the final corner but copied Fishback's previous mistake and went wide. Fishback cut back underneath Johnson to steal the victory at the line.

Mike Salyer led the Support Main Event before Jake Myers went by on the third lap. Myers was still leading when John Pavia fell and brought out the red flag. The referee awarded the victory to Myers, Joey Donaldson was credited with second, Chris Jones finished third, Salyer was fourth, and John Pavia was relegated to fifth.

Broc Nicol led all four laps to win the Youth Main Event. His Team Hagon Shocks teammate Kurtis Hamill finished second and Nicky Reimer was third.

Matthew Duffy defeated Logan Scantlin in the Pee Wee First Division Main Event.

After several near misses, Alyssa Smith scored her first Pee Wee Second Division Main Event victory. Scantlin finished second, Sebastian Palmese was third, Dominic Laney finished fourth, Clayton Ruston was fifth, and Walker Calvo was sixth.

Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie led the first lap of the Sidecar Main Event but Bryan Motis and Brandi McElroy slipped by on the inside exiting turn two the second time. The duo led the rest of the way for the victory. Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers finished second, Beard and Laurie were third, Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished fourth, and Kevin Brown and Matt Davis was fifth.

The next event at Industry Speedway is Harley Night and will include the season finale of the street-legal Harley races.


Sidecar Main Event
2 - Bryan Motis/Brandi McElroy
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
16 - Kevin Brown/Matt Davis

Pee Wee Second Division Main Event
31 - Alyssa Smith
23 - Logan Scantlin
795 - Sebastian Palmese
19 - Dominic Laney
9 - Clayton Ruston
21 - Walker Calvo

Pee Wee First Division Main Event
116 - Matthew Duffy
23 - Logan Scantlin

Youth Main Event
146 - Broc Nicol
104 - Kurtis Hamill
41 - Nicky Reimer (engine failure)

Support Main Event (awarded)
175 - Jake Myers 20
112 - Joey Donaldson 30
116 - Chris Jones 20
333 - Mike Salyer 10
355 - John Pavia 20 (fell)

Internet Challenge Match Race
275 - Jim Fishback
122 - Kevin Johnson

First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2 2 3 7
9 – Mike Faria R - - 0
11 – Bobby Schwartz 0 1 2 3
14 – Eddie Castro 1 3 3 7
24 – Gino Manzares 3 2 2 7
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3 3 3 9
39 – Buck Blair 3 1 3 7
41 – John Marquez 2 3 2 7
43 – Charlie Venegas 2 3 2 7
48 – Tyson Talkington 1 2 Nr 3
63 – Michael Raines 3 2 1 6
86 – Neil Facchini 1 0 1 2
145 – Brad Pappalardo 0 0 0 0
146 – Aaron Fox 2 1 R 3
151 – Brandon Leedy 0 0 1 1
244 – Joey Holt 1 1 1 3

Race Results
1: Blair, Fox, Facchini, Pappalardo
2: Raines, McConnell, Castro, Leedy
3: Burmeister, Venegas, Holt, Schwartz
4: Manzares, Marquez, Talkington, Faria (tape penalty) (retired)
7: (restarted) Venegas, Raines (penalty line), Fox (fell, remounted)
8: Burmeister, Manzares, Blair (tape penalty), Leedy
9: Marquez, McConnell, Holt, Facchini
10: Castro, Talkington, Schwartz, Pappalardo
13: (restarted) Burmeister, Schwartz, Facchini, Fox (penalty line) (retired)
14: Castro, Marquez, Leedy
15: (restarted) Blair, Venegas, Holt, Pappalardo
16: (restarted) McConnell, Manzares, Raines, Talkington (non starter – restart)
Semi #1: Venegas, McConnell, Marquez, Castro, Holt
Semi #2: (restarted) Burmeister, Blair, Talkington, Raines (tape penalty), Manzares (no starter – restart)

First Division Last Chance
14 - Eddie Castro
41 - John Marquez
63 - Michael Raines
48 - Tyson Talkington (engine failure)

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
6 - Shawn McConnell
14 - Eddie Castro
26 - Tyson Burmeister
39 - Buck Blair

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.