American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Harley Night
August 25, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans
Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

“Fast” Eddie Castro claimed a main event victory at Industry Speedway for the first time in his career on Harley Night at the Wednesday-night facility.

Castro started in gate two, made the best start, and entered turn one ahead of the field. “Mad Dog” Shawn McConnell, who had started in gate five, emerged from the rest of the pack behind Castro and chased the diminutive leader. Castro opened a comfortable lead, though, and was never seriously threatened. Castro was first to the checkered flag, McConnell had to settle for second, Tommy Hedden was third, “The Edge” Charlie Venegas finished fourth, and Tyson Burmeister was fifth.

Buck Blair opened the heats with a win over Venegas. Hedden defeated John Marquez in the second heat. Burmeister passed Mike Faria to win the third heat. Castro beat McConnell to end round one.

Round two started with Venegas beating Castro. Blair beat Neil Facchini for his second straight win. Hedden defeated Faria for his second win in a row. McConnell finished the second round by beating Russell Green.

Venegas made it two consecutive victories to begin the final round. Castro used the outside to pass Marquez for his second victory. Burmeister defeated Faria in the penultimate heat. McConnell and Hedden had an awesome side-by-side battle in the final heat with McConnell edging the Northern Californian for the victory.

Hedden and Castro finished one-two in the first semi to book their places in the main event. Venegas trapped from the outside and won the second semi with Burmeister following him into the main. McConnell won the Last Chance to take the final spot in the main-event field.

Eloy Medellin led all four laps and scored a dominant victory in the Support Main Event. Bruce Marteney was second, DeWayne Stark finished third, Bubba Vazzana was fourth, and Kevin Johnson finished fifth.

Max Ruml defeated Samuel Ramirez to win the Youth First Division Main Event and Dillon Ruml beat Broc Nicol in the Youth Second Division Main Event.

Matthew Duffy held off Victoria Matthews and Logan Scantlin to win the Pee Wee First Division Main Event.

Scantlin was victorious in the Pee Wee Second Division Main Event. Alyssa Smith finished second, Duffy was third, Sebastian Palmese finished fourth, Clayton Rustin was fifth, and Dominic Laney finished sixth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen piloted their new machine to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Bryan Motis and Brandi McElroy were second, Kevin Brown and Matt Davis finished third, and Gerard Jackson and Dave German were fourth.


Sidecar Main Event (restarted)
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
2 - Bryan Motis/Brandi McElroy
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German

Pee Wee Second Division Main Event
23 - Logan Scantlin
31 - Alyssa Smith
116 - Matthew Duffy
795 - Sebastian Palmese
9 - Clayton Ruston
19 - Dominic Laney

Pee Wee First Division Main Event
116 - Matthew Duffy
6 - Victoria Matthews
23 - Logan Scantlin

Youth Second Division Main Event
111 - Dillon Ruml
146 - Broc Nicol

Youth First Division Main Event
308 - Max Ruml
22 - Samuel Ramirez

Support Main Event
178 - Eloy Medellin
242 - Bruce Marteney
268 - DeWayne Stark
274 - Bubba Vazzana
122 - Kevin Johnson

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2338
9 – Mike Faria 2226
11 – Bobby Schwartz 0000
14 – Eddie Castro 3238
24 – Gino Manzares E1E1
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3137
39 – Buck Blair 3317
40 – Tommy Hedden 3328
41 – John Marquez 2125
43 – Charlie Venegas 2338
48 – Tyson Talkington 1NrN 1
63 – Michael Raines 0123
86 – Neil Facchini 0213
145 – Brad Pappalardo 10R 1
146 – Aaron Fox 1012
321 – Russell Green 1214

Race Results
1: Blair, Venegas, Pappalardo, Manzares (engine failure)
2: (restarted) Hedden, Marquez, Talkington, Schwartz (penalty line)
3: Burmeister, Faria, Green, Raines (tape penalty)
4: Castro, McConnell, Fox, Facchini (fell, remounted)
8: (restarted twice) Venegas, Castro (tape penalty), Burmeister (tape penalty), Talkington (non starter – restart)
9: Blair, Facchini, Raines, Schwartz
10: Hedden, Faria, Manzares, Fox
11: McConnell, Green, Marquez, Pappalardo
15: Venegas, Raines, Green, Manzares (engine failure)
16: Castro, Marquez, Fox, Schwartz
17: Burmeister, Faria, Blair (tape penalty), Pappalardo (retired)
18: McConnell, Hedden, Facchini, Talkington (non starter)
Semi #1: Hedden, Castro, Green, Blair, Faria
Semi #2: Venegas, Burmeister, McConnell, Marquez, Raines (fell)

First Division Last Chance
6 - Shawn McConnell
39 - Buck Blair
41 - John Marquez
321 - Russell Green

First Division Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro
6 - Shawn McConnell
40 - Tommy Hedden
43 - Charlie Venegas
26 - Tyson Burmeister

Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

Fast Eddie's first Scratch Main victory at The City of Industry's Grand Arena!
[He earned it! They were buzzin' his tires all the way home!!]
Industry Speedway

[There was a herd of Pee Wees on the loose last night,
making the ground shake by abusing their throttles.]
Industry Speedway

Final race of the night,
Scratch Main Event, right?
As even a start as ever you'll see,
Faster was Eddie: gate two, not three.
Industry Speedway

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.