American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Speedway Racers Remembrance Night
June 4, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Tyson Burmeister and Eddie Castro claimed victories on Speedway Racers Remembrance Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

The Scratch Main Event began with Burmeister and Jimmy “Little Animal” Fishback entering turn one wheel to wheel. Fishback found enough traction on the outside and propelled himself into the lead on the back straight. The former Youth National Champion dropped down in front of Burmeister as they entered turn three but found too much grip and went over backward in spectacular fashion in turn four. Burmeister took over the lead and went unchallenged the rest of the way and was first to the checkered flag. Tim Gomez finished second, Castro was third, Mike Faria finished fourth, and Fishback was given credit for fifth.

2008 Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo led the eight-rider Handicap Main Event field for one lap before Fishback went down and brought out the red flag. Pappalardo led the restart but Steve Russell went by on the inside as they exited turn four. Russell, who returned to speedway earlier this year after nearly two decades away, maintained a comfortable lead before the final lap. Castro gained ground but the race appeared to be Russell’s as they entered the final corner. Disaster struck, however, as Russell suffered a flat tire which slowed him dramatically and Castro was close enough to win the drag race to the finish. Gomez finished third, Shawn McConnell was fourth, Blair finished fifth, Faria was sixth, Pappalardo was seventh, and Fishback was credited with eighth.

Rohn Zellner led the Second Division Main Event for three laps but “Rattlesnake” Steve Bowen’s constant pressure paid off when he went underneath Zellner the last time down the back straight. Bowen held Zellner off in the final corner to take the win. Tim McGrath finished third and Mike Wiley was fourth.

Kevin Wybenga backed up his victory two nights earlier with another victory in the Third Division Main Event. Mike Salyer finished second, Jim Gardner was third, and Kevin Johnson finished fourth.

Max Ruml overcame a half-lap handicap to patiently pass his competitors and win the Youth Main Event. Nick Varner finished second and Maverick Molloy was third.

Shawn Driggers and Dave German made the best start in the Sidecar Main and took the early lead. National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen were mired in third, but made their way into second. Jones and Olsen chased the leaders and their persistence paid off when they went underneath for the lead on the last lap. They held on the rest of the way to get the victory. Driggers and German had to settle for second, Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy were third, and Joe Petraglovic and Mike Moreno finished fourth.

Speedway Racers Remembrance Night honored Ernie Roccio, Ken Berry, and Randy Evans. All three were killed while racing speedway and the evening was to pay tribute to them for paying the ultimate sacrifice while competing in the sport they loved. The next event is the Ken Maely Shoe Championship to honor the legendary man who not only made the metal skidshoes worn by hundreds of riders, but also provided a practice track and was dedicated to the sport of speedway.


Sidecar Main Event 1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen 23 - Shawn Driggers/Dave German 2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy 00 - Joe Petraglovic/Mike Moreno
Pee Wee Main Event 275 - Jimmy Fishback IV 4 - Chase Sanborn
Youth Main Event 308 - Max Ruml 333 - Nick Varner 34 - Maverick Molloy
Third Division Main Event (restarted) 191 - Kevin Wybenga 333 - Mike Salyer 134 - Jim Gardner 122 - Kevin Johnson (penalty line)
Second Division Main Event 177 - Steve Bowen 163 - Rohn Zellner 186 - Tim McGrath 101 - Mike Wiley
Handicap Main Event (restarted) 14 - Eddie Castro 40 23 - Steve Russell 20 30 - Tim Gomez 30 6 - Shawn McConnell 40 39 - Buck Blair 40 9 - Mike Faria 40 145 - Brad Pappalardo 10 (retired) 25 - Jimmy Fishback 40 (non starter - restart)
First Division Last Chance 25 - Jimmy Fishback 86 - Neil Facchini 41 - John Marquez 6 - Shawn McConnell (retired)
Scratch Main Event 26 - Tyson Burmeister 30 - Tim Gomez 14 - Eddie Castro 9 - Mike Faria 25 - Jimmy Fishback (fell)


www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.