American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Last of the Mohicans Round 1
June 25, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

“Fast” Eddie Castro and Tyson Burmeister both went home with main event victories from Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Colorado native Buck Blair made the best start in the Scratch Main Event and led until he lifted exiting turn four. Blair recovered but not before Burmeister and Castro went past. Burmeister led the second lap but Castro blasted underneath on the front straight. Burmeister remained within striking distance over the final two laps but the leader never wavered. Castro was first to the checkered flag, Burmeister held on to second, Blair was third, Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell finished fourth, and “Flyin” Mike Faria was fifth.

Former Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo led the eight-rider Handicap Main Event for a lap before lifting in turn four and allowing Tyson Talkington and Burmeister to get by. Talkington and Burmeister had a sensational battle for two laps until Burmeister secured the lead. Talkington was passed by Castro and Dale Facchini and then ran up the back of Dale Facchini’s back wheel and tumbled down the back straight. Talkington was unable to restart due to soreness in his hip. Burmeister led the restart but Dale Facchini lifted on the back straight and went down which brought out the red flag again. Burmeister started at the head of the field for the third attempt and had Castro immediately behind him and hoping for a double main event evening. Burmeister held Castro at bay for the remaining three laps and collected his third main event victory at IMS this season. McConnell finished third, Blair was fourth,

Dale Facchini finished fifth, and Philip Harmatiuk was sixth.

The first round of the Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge got off to a rocky start when Blair ended up in a heap in turn one. A full restart was ordered and it appeared as though Neil Facchini was eliminated. However, a problem with the tapes meant another complete restart. When the start was finally official, Pappalardo was the first one to be eliminated. Neil Facchini was the next one eliminated which left Blair and John Marquez. Blair made the best start and sped off to victory.

Tim McGrath made the best start in the Second Division Main Event but Rohn Zellner, the main event winner the previous two weeks, stalking him in hopes of making it three consecutive wins. Zellner made a valiant chase the entire race but McGrath was equal to the challenge and held on for the victory. Bruce Marteney finished third and Mike Wiley was fourth.

Jim Robinson led all four laps and was victorious in the Third Division Main Event for the second week in a row. Chris Jones finished second, Todd Silicato was third, and Jake Myers finished fourth.

Maverick Molloy defeated Chase Sanborn to win the Youth Main Event.

Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers led all four laps en route to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished second, Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy finished third, Dylan Beard and Edwin Soto were fourth, and Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen were credited with fifth.

Next week’s event is the Firecracker Derby which was won by Faria last year.


Sidecar Main Event 
 13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers 
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German 
  2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy 
5150 - Dylan Beard/Edwin Soto 		(retired) 
  1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen 		(non starters) 

Pee Wee Main Event 
 11 - David Ballard 

Youth Main Event 
 34 - Maverick Molloy 
104 - Chase Sanborn 

Third Division Consolation
131 – Rod Requejo
211 – Steve Brown
122 – Kevin Johnson
268 – DeWayne Stark

Third Division Main Event 
152 - Jim Robinson 
116 - Chris Jones 
282 - Todd Silicato 
175 - Jake Myers 

Second Division Consolation
355 – John Pavia
274 – Bubba Vazzana
178 – Eloy Medellin		(non starter)
151 – Brandon Leedy		(non starter)

Second Division Main Event 
186 - Tim McGrath 
163 - Rohn Zellner 
242 - Bruce Marteney 
101 - Mike Wiley 

Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge 
 39 - Buck Blair 
 41 - John Marquez 
 86 - Neil Facchini 
145 - Brad Pappalardo 

Handicap Main Event (restarted twice) 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 		30 
 14 - Eddie Castro 		40 
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		40 
 39 - Buck Blair 		40 
 19 - Dale Facchini 		30	(penalty line) 
149 - Philip Harmatiuk 		10 
145 - Brad Pappalardo 		10 
220 - Tyson Talkington 		20 	(non starter - restarted) 

First Division Last Chance
  6 – Shawn McConnell
145 – Brad Pappalardo
220 – Tyson Talkington
 41 – John Marquez

Scratch Main Event 
 14 - Eddie Castro 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 
 39 - Buck Blair 
  6 - Shawn McConnell 
  9 - Mike Faria 		(retired)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.