American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

2010 Bobby Schwartz Night
August 6, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Jimmy “Little Animal” Fishback was victorious on Bobby Schwartz Night for the second consecutive year at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Fishback was only beaten once in the heats and used his first choice of starting position to select gate one. It proved to be the wise choice as he launched into the lead when the tapes went up. “Flyin” Mike Faria, who had successfully used the outside line all night, stuck to the same plan and the two were side-by-side on the back straight. Fishback took a slight lead in turn three and Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell joined the battle by attacking from the inside with “Battling” Buck Blair not far behind. Fishback maintained the lead but couldn’t afford a mistake with the trio behind him within striking distance. The former Youth National Champion led at the white flag while McConnell secured second in front of Faria and tried in vain to catch the leader. Fishback was first to the checkered flag, McConnell finished second, Faria was third, Blair finished fourth, and Neil Facchini was fifth.

Neil Facchini opened the heats with a win while Blair tumbled behind him at the finish line. Faria beat “Fast” Eddie Castro in the second heat. Fishback defeated McConnell in the third heat. Schwartz trapped from gate four and used then rode the outside line to end round one with a victory.

Blair started round two with a win over Fishback and Faria. Tyson Talkington defeated Michael Raines for his first win. McConnell defeated Neil Facchini in the next heat. Josh Abbott ended the second round by holding off Joey Holt for a win.

McConnell began the third round by defeating Blair for his second straight win. Faria used the outside line to beat Dale Facchini for his second win. Fishback held off Neil Facchini and Castro for his second win. Talkington beat former Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo to finish round three with his second straight win.

Blair started the final round of heats by beating Abbott for his second win. McConnell beat Castro for his third straight win in event 32. Faria used the outside line again to beat Talkington for his third win. Fishback concluded the heats with a win over Dale Facchini for his third win of the night.

Neil Facchini trapped from gate five to take the lead and the win in the Last Chance. Blair finished second and also transferred into the main event.

The first attempt to run the Second Division Main Event ended in a heap when Chris Jones and Jim Robinson locked horns in turn one and went down. On the restart, Brandon Leedy made the best start and never looked back en route to victory. Eloy Medellin finished second, Robinson was third, and Chris Jones finished fourth.

Jake Myers led from start to finish and won the Third Division Main Event for the second week in a row. Jim Gardner finished second, Kip McClain was third, and C.J. Sanborn finished fourth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen returned to action after several weeks away and were victorious in the Sidecar Main Event. Kevin Brown and Dave German finished second, Dylan Beard and Edwin Soto were third, and Bryan Motis and Brandi McElroy finished fourth.

The second annual Bobby Schwartz Night honored the legendary rider who has won many titles both domestically and throughout the world. The man known as “Boogaloo” as well as “Captain America” has been influential to many riders not only by his ability he has shown in his 37 years of racing speedway but by also providing advice and equipment to many riders as well. Schwartz will celebrate his 54th birthday on August 10.


Sidecar Consolation
 13 – Shawn Driggers/Casey Driggers
 66 – Gerard Jackson/Dave German
 00 – Joe Petraglovic/Mike Moreno

Sidecar Main Event
  1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
 16 - Kevin Brown/Dave German
5150 - Dylan Beard/Edwin Soto
  2 - Bryan Motis/Brandi McElroy

Pee Wee Main Event
 27 - Luke Whitcomb

Youth Main Event
 13 - Gabe Price
108 - Chase Sanborn

Third Division Consolation
333 – Mike Salyer
247 – Pat Smith
211 – Steve Brown
355 – John Pavia

Third Division Main Event
175 - Jake Myers
134 - Jim Gardner
316 - Kip McClain
393 - C.J. Sanborn 		(fell, remounted)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
151 - Brandon Leedy
178 - Eloy Medellin
152 - Jim Robinson
116 - Chris Jones

First Division Heat Scoring	1	2	3	4	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell		2	3	3	3	11
  9 – Mike Faria		3	1	3	3	10
 11 – Bobby Schwartz		3	0	1	0	4
 14 – Eddie Castro		2	0	1	2	5
 19 – Dale Facchini		2	1	2	2	7
 25 – Jimmy Fishback		3	2	3	3	11
 39 – Buck Blair		F	3	2	3	8
 48 – Tyson Talkington		1	3	3	2	9
 63 – Michael Raines		2	2	1	1	6
 86 – Neil Facchini		3	2	2	1	8
141 – Josh Abbott		0	3	0	2	5
145 – Brad Pappalardo		0	0	2	0	2
146 – Aaron Fox			1	1	0	1	3
149 – Philip Harmatiuk		1	R	1	N	2
208 – Geoff Herkner		1	1	F	1	3
244 – Joey Holt			0	2	F	0	2

Race Results
 1: N. Facchini, Raines, Herkner, Blair (fell)
 2: Faria, Castro, Harmatiuk, Pappalardo
 3: Fishback, McConnell, Talkington, Abbott
 4: Schwartz, D. Facchini, Fox, Holt
13: Blair, Fishback, Faria, Schwartz
14: (restarted) Talkington, Raines, Fox (penalty line), Harmatiuk (retired)
15: McConnell, N. Facchini, D. Facchini, Pappalardo
16: Abbott, Holt, Herkner, Castro (fell, remounted)
24: McConnell, Blair (tape penalty), Harmatiuk, Holt (fell)
25: Faria, D. Facchini, Raines, Abbott
26: Fishback, N. Facchini, Castro, Fox
27: (restarted) Talkington, Pappalardo, Schwartz, Herkner (fell)
31: Blair, Abbott, Fox, Pappalardo
32: McConnell, Castro, Raines (tape penalty), Schwartz
33: Faria, Talkington, N. Facchini, Holt
34: Fishback, D. Facchini, Herkner, Harmatiuk (non starter)

First Division Last Chance
 86 - Neil Facchini
 39 - Buck Blair
 19 - Dale Facchini
 48 - Tyson Talkington
 63 - Michael Raines

First Division Main Event
 25 - Jimmy Fishback
  6 - Shawn McConnell
  9 - Mike Faria
 39 - Buck Blair
 86 - Neil Facchini 		(fell)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.