American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Speedway Billy Night
September 10, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans
Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

“Fast” Eddie Castro turned in a brilliant performance to win the Speedway Billy Memorial at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

“Little Animal” Jimmy Fishback entered the main event perfect and selected gate one. Castro used his second choice on gate two and it paid off when he beat Fishback into turn one. “Battling” Buck Blair found traction on the outside of turn two and threatened Castro from the outside. The leader drifted up to slow Blair while Fishback then tried to charge up the inside. Castro deftly protected his position as they entered turn three but Blair looked tried an outside assault on the front straight. Castro deftly protected his lead as they entered turn one. Blair never threatened again and drifted back throughout the race. Castro was first to the checkered flag, Fishback finished second, Tyson Burmeister was third, Blair finished fourth, and “Flyin” Mike Faria was fifth.

The heats kicked off with Neil Facchini leading before falling on the third lap which handed the lead and victory to Jason Ramirez, who was making his 2010 IMS debut. Burmeister blistered to victory in the second heat. Fishback beat Michael Raines in event three for his first victory. Blair ended round one by handing Castro his only defeat of the evening.

Dale Facchini started round two by leading before a strange-looking fall on lap two gave Faria an easy victory. Blair beat “Mad Dog” Shawn McConnell for his second win. Castro defeated Burmeister in event 11 for his first win. Fishback beat Tyson Talkington to end the second round.

Burmeister opened the final round of heats with a defeat of Neil Facchini. Castro beat Faria for his second straight win. Fishback remained perfect with a win over Ramirez. Blair ended the heats by beating Dale Facchini to keep his perfect score.

In the first semi Castro paid Blair back for his earlier defeat by stopping Blair’s winning streak. Fishback and Faria finished one-two in the second semi to join Castro and Blair in the main. Burmeister won the Last Chance to complete the main-event field.

Eloy Medellin put together four perfect laps to win the Second Division Main Event. Mike Fuson finished second, Rohn Zellner was third, Jake Myers finished fourth, and Chris Jones was fifth.

Gabe Price, who finished third in the Youth National Championship last month, made a very auspicious debut in Third Division with a victory in the main event. C.J. Sanborn finished second, “Beach Ball” Steve Brown was third, and Kris Harlow from Houston, Texas finished fourth.

Sebastian Palmese withstood a spirited challenge from Chase Sanborn to win the Youth/Pee Wee Main Event. Chase Sanborn settled for second and Luke Whitcomb finished third.

The Speedway Billy Memorial honored “Speedway Billy” Huspek a long-time dedicated speedway fan who was a fixture at Southern California speedway events and had become very popular with the competitors. Huspek passed away last year and has been honored at IMS as well as Victorville.


Youth/Pee Wee Main Event
795 - Sebastian Palmese
108 - Chase Sanborn
27 - Luke Whitcomb

Third Division Consolation
316 – Kip McClain
188 – Rick Howard

Third Division Main Event
113 - Gabe Price
393 - C.J. Sanborn
211 - Steve Brown
355 - Kris Harlow

Second Division Main Event
178 - Eloy Medellin
245 - Mike Fuson
163 - Rohn Zellner
175 - Jake Myers
116 - Chris Jones

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 0213
9 – Mike Faria 2327
11 – Bobby Schwartz 1012
14 – Eddie Castro 2338
19 – Dale Facchini 2125
25 – Jimmy Fishback 3339
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3238
28 – Joey Holt 0202
39 – Buck Blair 3339
48 – Tyson Talkington 0213
63 – Michael Raines 2013
66 – Jason Ramirez 3126
86 – Neil Facchini 1124
145 – Brad Pappalardo 1102
208 – Geoff Herkner 1F01
293 – Rick Valdez 0101

Race Results
1: Ramirez, Faria, N. Facchini (fell, remounted), Valdez
2: Burmeister, D. Facchini, Herkner, McConnell
3: Fishback, Raines, Schwartz, Holt
4: Blair, Castro, Pappalardo, Talkington
9: Faria, Holt, Pappalardo, D. Facchini (fell)
10: Blair, McConnell, N. Facchini, Raines (fell, remounted)
11: Castro, Burmeister, Ramirez, Schwartz
12: Fishback, Talkington, Valdez, Herkner (fell)
17: Burmeister, N. Facchini, Talkington, Holt
18: Castro, Faria, Raines, Herkner
19: Fishback, Ramirez, McConnell, Pappalardo
20: Blair, D. Facchini, Schwartz, Valdez
Runoff: McConnell, Raines, Talkington
Semi #1: Castro, Blair, Ramirez, D. Facchini, Raines
Semi #2: Fishback, Faria, Burmeister, McConnell, N. Facchini

First Division Last Chance
26 - Tyson Burmeister
6 - Shawn McConnell
66 - Jason Ramirez
19 - Dale Facchini

Speedway Billy Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro
25 - Jimmy Fishback
26 - Tyson Burmeister
39 - Buck Blair
9 - Mike Faria

Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

  It was Speedway Billy night at IMS; large photos of Billy [pictured here with Fast Eddie Castro] adorned the perimeter of the track.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

Neil Facchini hooks it inside of Mike Faria in turn one as Joey Holt cuts inside.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway Sebastian Palmese [L] powers around Chase Sanborn to win the Pee Wee Main event.
Inland Motorcycle Speedway Leroy Medellin proves once again that two-wheelers can't make it around the track quite as fast as a Speedway rider!
Inland Motorcycle Speedway Buck Blair #39 takes this heat against rivals Bobby Schwartz [L] Dale Facchini and Rick "The Rage" Valdez [far right].
Inland Motorcycle Speedway

"Faria on the Outside!" screams IMS Announcer Larry Huffman, using up one of only three lines.

"Faria on the inside!" would be the second,

And the 3rd? "He's as tough as a two dollar steak!"

Meanwhile, Neil "the Loose Wheel" Facchini hides "Mad Dog" Shawn McConnell and "Son of Wonder Boy" Tyson Burmeister trails expectant father "The Little Animal" Jimmy Fishback into turn two.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

Tyson Burmeister flies into Two, And Ramirez has no gripes,
Mad Dog's in deep dirt on the left; Facchini wears stars and stripes.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

In this Scratch Semi-Final race, "Fast" Eddie Castro blasts into turn Two with sufficient momentum to outpace "Battling" Buck Blair on the right. Behind Castro is Jason Ramirez.

On the left, Michael Raines leads Dale Facchini around the outside line.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

The tapes are up:
Faria against the Wall
Tyson in Four
Blair in Three
Castro in Two and
Jimmy Fishback III in One.

[How's this for an even start?]

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

At the end of Lap One and the beginning of Lap Two, Blair tries the cushion along the wall in a desperate attempt to drive around Fast Eddie Castro, who is two laps from Victory!

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.