American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Western States Championship
October 2, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback took home the Western States Championship after winning a dramatic runoff at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Four rounds of heats and the Final weren't enough to provide an overall winner as Fishback, who won the Final, and former National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria were tied with 18 points. When the tapes went up Faria jumped in front and held the lead through the first corner. Fishback went to the outside and found enough traction from the ample cushion to propel himself past Faria on the back straight. Faria tried to dive back underneath as they entered turn three, but the former Youth National Champion wasn't about to hand the lead back. Fishback thwarted that attempt and Faria never got close again. Fishback was first to the checkered flag and claimed the title while Faria had to settle for second.

Tyson Talkington kicked off the heats with a win over Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz. Michael Raines won a strange second heat that saw Jason Ramirez experience engine problems and Josh Larsen lose his right foot peg. Fishback started his evening with a victory ahead of Steve Russell. Northern California's Tommy Hedden defeated Neil Facchini in the fourth heat. Faria ended round one with a win over Dale Facchini.

Ramirez started round two by blazing to victory over Fishback. Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell defeated Brad Pappalardo in the event 12. Hedden scored his second straight victory by using the outside to beat Dale Facchini. "Battling" Buck Blair beat New York's Adam Mittl for his first win in the next heat. Faria finished the second round by beating Larsen for his second win in a row

Fishback began the third round with his second win. Blair won his second straight by beating Hedden. Ramirez made it two victories in a row with a defeat of Dale Facchini. Faria beat Talkington to remain the only undefeated rider. Larsen beat Mittl for his first victory to end the third round.

Blair opened the final round by beating Fishback for his third straight win. Larsen defeated Josh Abbott to make it two wins in a row. Hedden handed Faria his first loss in event 30 and earned himself gate choice in the Final. Ramirez beat Russell for his third consecutive victory. McConnell ended the heats by beating Rick Valdez.

Larsen blitzed the field in the B Main to book the final spot in the Final. McConnell finished second, Ramirez was third, Blair finished fourth, and Talkington was fifth.

Faria made the best start in the Final but had Fishback hounding him right away. Faria stuck to the inside line while Fishback attacked from the outside. Fishback was unsuccessful for two laps but found enough grip exiting turn two the third time and went around Faria for the lead. Fishback never looked back and took the victory to force the climactic runoff. Hedden finished third and claimed third overall while Larsen finished fourth.

Rohn Zellner led the Second Division Main Event for three laps and appeared destined for victory before Eloy Medellin went underneath of him entering the final corner to steal the lead and the win. John Pavia finished third and Johnny Lupo was fourth.

Gabe Price led all four laps en route to victory in the Third Division Main Event. Matt Paine was second, Jim Robinson finished third, and Mike Fuson was fourth.

Sebastian Palmese was victorious in the Pee Wee Main Event. Kylie Ayers finished second, Chase Sanborn was third, and Luke Whitcomb finished fourth.

The Western States Championship marked the end of the 2010 IMS season. However, the promoters are tentatively planning to have monthly race meetings on Sunday afternoons before beginning the 2011 in April or May.


Powder Puff Main Event (restarted twice)
222 - Margo King
153 - Pam Bennett
11x - Julie Shockley
22 - Debbie Cullen
11 - Robynn McConnell

Pee Wee Main Event
795 - Sebastian Palmese
99 - Kylie Ayers
108 - Chase Sanborn
27 - Luke Whitcomb

Third Division Main Event
113 - Gabe Price
170 - Matt Paine
152 - Jim Robinson (fell, remounted)
245 - Mike Fuson

Second Division Main Event
178 - Eloy Medellin
163 - Rohn Zellner
355 - John Pavia
125 - Johnny Lupo

Western States Championship Overall
25 - Jimmy Fishback 18 (1st in runoff)
9 - Mike Faria 18 (2nd in runoff)
40 - Tommy Hedden 17
2 - Josh Larsen 16
6 - Shawn McConnell 14
66 - Jason Ramirez 12

Time for some photos of those who support speedway.
Inland Motorcycle Speedway

#222 Margo King is on the gas as #153 Pam "Pinky" Bennett cranks a bucket of dirt Debbie Cullen's way. That's #11 Robyn McConnell charging from the back of the pack. These girls know how to race!

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

The Powder Puffs take the track
And something don't look quite right, somehow?

Inland Motorcycle Speedway

And there's this strange "whooshing" sound that comes with it!

[This may be Joe Jones girlfriend...]

Inland Motorcycle Speedway Katie Holt
Took a jolt
And Joe came along
To console her.
Joey fell too,
His butt is now blue
It was a bounce-and-roll-'er.
Inland Motorcycle Speedway Margo King
Can pour the gas
Into some fast
Toys of hers!
Inland Motorcycle Speedway Pretty Robyn McConnell celebrates after a wild ride with No. 1 Side Car pilot Joe Jones.
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.