American Speedway  

2010 Perris Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Perris Raceway
Perris, California

May 15, 2010 - Perris Raceway
By: Ryan Evans

Mike Wiley and John “Racer X” Pavia both claimed main event victories at the end of a great night of racing at Perris Raceway.

Joey Donaldson entered the Second Division Main Event as the high-point rider, but when the tapes went up it was Mike Wiley who left the starting line first. Donaldson found himself mired in third as Wiley opened up a sizeable lead. Donaldson patiently worked past Brandon Leedy and turned his attention toward the leader. Donaldson cut into Wiley’s advantage and was within striking distance as they took the white flag. Wiley kept his composure on the final lap, however, and was able to fend off Donaldson for the victory. Leedy finished third and Paul Hitchcock was fourth.

Derrick “The Orange Crush” Klein was handily leading the Third Division Main Event before Mike Fuson and John Pavia both went down on the second lap and brought out the red flag. The referee ordered a complete restart. Klein made the best start the second time but was unable to match his lead on the first start because Pavia was planted on his back tire. Pavia stalked Klein for two laps before slipping past him as they entered turn one the third time. Klein valiantly tried to regain the lead but saw his bid end when he fell in turn four. Pavia’s final lap went unchallenged and he was first to the checkered flag. Fuson finished second, Klein was third, and Ed Lynch was credited with fourth.

Dream Team member Austin Novratil captured the First Division Main Event with a runaway victory, but the action behind him was quite entertaining. Robbie Sauer, Tyson Talkington, and Brad Sauer all battled for second during the first lap. Steve Russell overcame a bad start to pass Talkington and Brad Sauer to get himself into third behind Robbie Sauer. Russell’s efforts to overtake Robbie Sauer for second proved fruitless and he had to settle for third. Talkington finished fourth and Brad Sauer was credited with fifth.

The First Division heats also featured the return of Keith Chrisco, who last raced speedway in Indianapolis in 2002. Chrisco showed his stylish form of years past, but withdrew after two heats from fatigue caused by the long layoff and also having participated in the practice earlier in the day.

Rocco Scopellite won both his heats and scored a dominant victory in the Youth First Division Main Event. Samuel Ramirez finished second, Gabe Price was third, and Maxwell Ruml finished fourth.

Dillon Ruml held off Major Davis to win the Youth Second Division Main Event. Hayley Perrault was third, Gino Scopellite finished fourth, and Michael Wells was fifth.

Perhaps the best race of the night was between Kylie Ayers and Amanda Ramirez in the Powderpuff Main Event. The two young ladies swapped the lead several times throughout the race before Ayers took the lead for good on the final lap and took the victory. Julie Shockley finished third.

Chase Sanborn was the beneficiary of a fall by Michael Wells and won the Pee Wee Main Event.


Pee Wee Main Event 
  4 - Chase Sanborn 
214 - Michael Wells 		(fell) 

Powderpuff Main Event 
 99 - Kylie Ayers 
 87 - Amanda Ramirez 
 11 - Julie Shockley 

Youth Second Division Main Event 
111 - Dillon Ruml 
999 - Major Davis 
  0 - Hayley Perrault 
  7 - Gino Scopellite 
214 - Michael Wells 

Youth First Division Main Event 
  9 - Rocco Scopellite 
 22 - Samuel Ramirez 
 13 - Gabe Price 		(tape penalty) 
356 - Maxwell Ruml 

First Division Main Event 
181 - Austin Novratil 
 17 - Robbie Sauer 
 23 - Steve Russell 
220 - Tyson Talkington 
 21 - Brad Sauer 		(engine failure) 

Third Division Last Chance 
355 - John Pavia 
354 - Ed Lynch 
282 - Todd Silicato 
333 - Mike Salyer 
273 - Matt Monkress 
393 - C.J. Sanborn 		(fell) 

Third Division Main Event (restarted) 
355 - John Pavia 
245 - Mike Fuson 
248 - Derrick Klein 		(fell) 
354 - Ed Lynch 			(fell) 

Second Division Main Event 
101 - Mike Wiley 
112 - Joey Donaldson 
151 - Brandon Leedy 
121 - Paul Hitchcock
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.