American Speedway  

2010 Victorville Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Victorville Speedway
San Bernardino County Fairgrounds
Victorville, California

Sidecar Nationals Round 2 Plus Desert Team Cup – Victorville Vikings vs Ridgecrest Aces
September 4, 2010 - Victorville
By: Ryan Evans

The Victorville Vikings scored a dominant 47-25 victory over the Ridgecrest Aces, but Ridgecrest rider “Battling” Buck Blair had the best individual evening by winning all his races, including the main event at Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville.

Victorville Track Champion “Fast” Eddie Castro made the best start in the main event and led the field into the first turn. Castro, who is well-known for his daring outside passes fell victim to his typical strategy when Blair squeezed between the diminutive rider and the wall on the back straight. Blair held a slight lead entering turn three but found enough momentum on the high-banked turns to complete the pass on the front straight. Castro chased the Colorado native the rest of the way but was unsuccessful. Blair crossed the finish line first, Castro settled for second, Jason Ramirez finished third, and Robbie Sauer was fourth.

The team event opened with Blair and Brad Sauer combining to give the Aces a 4-2 lead. Tony DeAlmeida won a drawn heat two. Ramirez and Robbie Sauer teamed for a 5-1 to give Victorville a lead it would never relinquish. Castro and John Marquez scored a 4-2 that was followed by DeAlmeida and Mikey Sullivan earning their first 5-1 of the evening. Blair won a drawn heat to bring the score to 22-19 in favor of the Vikings halfway through the match.

Castro and Marquez blistered to a 5-1 which was backed up by DeAlmeida and Sullivan’s second consecutive 5-1. Blair’s third win was another drawn heat. DeAlmeida and Sullivan continued their dominance with their third 5-1 which was followed by Castro and Ramirez teaming for a 4-2. Blair won the final team heat and the final score was 47-25 for Victorville.

Ramirez was eliminated first followed by Marquez in the Ministry Clothing Last Man Out Challenge. This left Castro and Blair for the final two-lap challenge. Castro made the best start, but much like he would do later in the evening, Blair went around the outside for the lead and went on to victory.

DeAlmeida maintained his perfect evening by winning the Support Main Event. Sullivan was second, Paul Thornton finished third, and Steve Brown was fourth.

Nicky Reimer defeated Nicholas Varner in the Youth Main Event.

Brandon Rhea led from start to finish and claimed the Pee Wee/Powder Puff Main Event. Julie Morrison finished second and Dakota Shockley was third.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen led all four laps en route to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie were second, Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished third, and Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers were fourth.

The next speedway event at Wheel2Wheel Raceway will be the Clubman National Championships on Saturday, October 9.


Sidecar Last Chance
66 – Gerard Jackson/Dave German
5150 – Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie
2 – Bryan Motis/Brandi McElroy
16 – Kevin Brown/Trevor DeSherila

Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers

Pee Wee/Powder Puff Main Event
9 - Brandon Rhea
11 - Julie Morrison
34 - Dakota Shockley

Youth Main Event
41 - Nicky Reimer
333 - Nicholas Varner

Support Main Event (restarted)
157 - Tony DeAlmeida
140 - Mikey Sullivan
124 - Paul Thornton
211 - Steve Brown (non starter - rerstart)

Ministry Clothing Last Man Out Challenge
39 - Buck Blair
14 - Eddie Castro
41 - John Marquez
66 - Jason Ramirez

Victorville Vikings1234T
1 – Eddie Castro E3339
2 – John Marquez 212’ 1’ 6+2
3 – Jason Ramirez 321’ 17+1
5 – Robbie Sauer 2’ 1227+1
6 – Mikey Sullivan02’ 2’ 2’ 6+3
7 – Tony DeAlmeida 333312

Ridgecrest Aces1234T
1 – Buck Blair 333312
2 – Brad Sauer 10023
4 – Josh Abbott 12104
5 – Drew Coats 0F000
7 – Paul Thornton 21003
8 – Steve Brown 1’ 0113+1

Race Results
6: Blair, Marquez, B.Sauer, Castro (engine failure) (2-4) (2-4)
7: DeAlmeida, Thornton, Brown, Sullivan (3-3) (5-7)
9: Ramirez, R.Sauer, Abbott, Coats (5-1) (10-8)
14: Castro, Abbott, Marquez, B.Sauer (4-2) (14-10)
16: DeAlmeida, Sullivan, Thornton, Brown (5-1) (19-11)
17: Blair, Ramirez, R.Sauer, Coats (fell) (3-3) (22-14)
23: Castro, Marquez, Abbott, Coats (5-1) (27-15)
24: DeAlmeida, Sullivan, Brown, Thornton (5-1) (32-16)
26: Blair, R.Sauer, Ramirez, B.Sauer (3-3) (35-19)
31: DeAlmeida, Sullivan, Brown, Thornton (5-1) (40-20)
33: Castro, B.Sauer, Ramirez, Coats (4-2) (44-22)
34: Blair, R.Sauer, Marquez, Abbott (fell, remounted) (3-3) (47-25)

First Division Consolation
41 - John Marquez
21 - Brad Sauer
195 - Drew Coats
141 - Josh Abbott (fell)

First Division Main Event
39 - Buck Blair
14 - Eddie Castro
66 - Jason Ramirez
17 - Robbie Sauer (fell, remounted)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.