American Speedway  

2011 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

July 22, 2011
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
We gathered to race and to remember Nick Varner at IMS Friday evening. Our flags were at half staff. It was #27 "Lightning" Luke's time to take the Pee Wee Main Event Trophy followed by #275 Jimmy Fishback IV and #14 Sara Cords. Look at this line-up! Youth 200cc Main: #23 Shea Bendykowski came from last to first, taking the win ahead of #0 Hayley Perrault and third place finisher, #222 Dalton Leedy.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Third Div. Main Event: #316 Kip McClain is on the pole. #311 Kevin Fife gates from two, and #211 Steve Brown takes off along the wall. That was also the finishing order! Second Div. Main Event: #151 Brandon Leedy is on the pole, #313 Joey St. Louis is in two. #113 Gabe Price takes off from three, and #116 Chris Jones is along the wall. Gabe won it, Brandon was second, and Chris was third. Handicap Main Event: Although they finished third and fourth respectively, #14 Fast Eddie Castro and #25 Jimmie Fishback III's battle around the dirt oval was epic.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Handicap Main Event: Winner Aaron Fox celebrates with the checkered flag. Sidecar Main Event: #2 Dan Jones/Brandi McElroy gate from the pole as #1 Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen take off from two. #5150 Dylan Beard/Trever DeSherlia are in three and #13 Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers are next to the wall. Finishing order: #2; #5150; #1. First Div. Last Chance: #9 Mike Faria takes off from the pole as #25 Jimmy Fishback III tears out from two.#41 John Marquez is in three and #48 Tyson Talkington is along the wall. Mike Faria advanced to the Scratch Main.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
First Div. Scratch Main Event: #28 Joey Bolt is in one. #6 Shawn McConnell is in two. #46 Aaron Fox is in the sandwich. #25 Jimmy Fishback III comes from lane four, and #14 Eddie Castro departs along the wall. Aaron lead the rabble for three laps, and then pulled into the infield, giving the win to #333 Nick Varner. It was a big night for #46 Fox and Team, winning the top two First Division trophies. What I'll remember from this evening is little Nick Varner, his racing pals, and how everyone came together for his Family.

Aaron Fox had undoubtedly the best evening of his speedway career by winning both main events as the riders continued to soldier on despite the loss of a fellow competitor on FST Sand and Gravel Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

The evening began with a pall in the air as the Southern California speedway community was still mourning the loss of youth speedway racer Nicholas Varner two days earlier. Varner passed away from head injuries suffered in a motocross crash the previous weekend. A moment of silence was observed prior to the races and money was collected from the spectators in attendance. IMS reported via Facebook that over $2900 was collected and an anonymous person pledged to match that total. Varner's parents, showing incredible fortitude, were in attendance and the outpouring of support toward them was tremendous. Many racers were displaying tributes to Varner, most by displaying his number 333, on their bikes and race suits.

Fox led the Scratch Main Event through the first corner with Joey "The Bolt" Holt and Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback chasing him down the back straight. Holt used the inside line while Fishback was trying to make the outside work. Neither line proved to be useful in making up ground and Fox opened a little breathing room. As he was approaching the white flag Holt fell behind him with "Fast" Eddie Castro laying his machine down. The remaining riders throttled down and coasted into the infield as a tribute to Varner. Fox was credited with the win, but announcer Bruce Flanders enhanced the tribute by announcing Varner as the winner.

Drew Coats led the Handicap Main Event until Fox passed him on the back straight. Fox led through lap four when the red flag came out after a crash. Fox began the restart at the tapes with Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell just 10 yards behind him. When the tapes went off Fox took off and McConnell was unable to cut into his lead the entire way. Fox completed his double main event evening,McConnell finished second, Castro was third, Fishback finished fourth, and Tyson Talkington was fifth.

Brandon Leedy and Gabe Price left the starting line together in the Second Division Main Event and raced handlebar-to-handlebar through out the first lap. Price made a bold outside move as they exited turn four and dropped down in front of Brandon Leedy as they entered turn one the second time. Brandon Leedy remained within striking distance the final three laps but Price never afforded him a shot at the lead. Price was victorious for the second straight week, Brandon Leedy had to settle for second, Chris Jones finished third, and Joey St. Louis was credited with fourth.

Kip McClain led from start to finish and claimed victory in the Third Division Main Event. Kevin Fife finished second and Steve Brown was third.

Sebastian Palmese led the Youth 200cc Main Event for a lap, but Shea Bendykowski passed him on the back straight of the second lap. Bendykowski raced off into the sunset after that and took home the main event victory. Hayley Perrault finished second, Dalton Leedy was third, Michael Wells finished fourth, and Sebastian Palmese was credited with fifth.

Jimmy Fishback IV led the Pee Wee Main Event throughout the first lap, but Luke Whitcomb went by him at the end of lap one. Whitcomb never looked back from there and went on to victory. Fishback finished second, Sara Cords was third, Jack Jones finished fourth, Luke Jones was fifth, and Mikey Ortega finished sixth.

Dan Jones and Brandi McElroy led all four laps en route to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Dylan Beard and Trever DeSherlia were second, Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen finished third, and Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers were fourth.

The next event at IMS is the first Flyin Mike Faria Night. The evening will honor the three-time National Champion for his many years dedicated to racing speedway. Former World Champion Billy "The Bullet" Hamill will lead a 20-racer First Division field of racers trying to claim the title.


Sidecar Main Event
2 - Dan Jones/Brandi McElroy
5150 - Dylan Beard/Trever DeSherlia
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers

Pee Wee Main Event
27 - Luke Whitcomb
275 - Jimmy Fishback IV
14 - Sara Cords
5 - Jack Jones
7 - Luke Jones
000 - Mikey Ortega

Youth 200cc Main Event
23 - Shea Bendykowski
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy
214 - Michael Wells
18 -Sebastian Palmese (fell)

Third Division Main Event
316 - Kip McClain
311 - Kevin Fife
211 - Steve Brown

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
113 - Gabe Price
151 - Brandon Leedy
116 - Chris Jones
313 - Joey St. Louis (non starter - restart)

Handicap Main Event (restarted)
46 - Aaron Fox 20
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
14 - Eddie Castro 40
25 - Jimmy Fishback 50
48 - Tyson Talkington 20
195 - Drew Coats 10 (retired)
141 - Josh Abbott 20 (non starter - restart)
28 - Joey Holt 20 (non starter)

First Division Last Chance
25 - Jimmy Fishback
9 - Mike Faria
48 - Tyson Talkington
41 - John Marquez (fell)

Scratch Main Event
46 - Aaron Fox
25 - Jimmy Fishback
6 - Shawn McConnell
14 - Eddie Castro
28 - Joey Holt (fell,excluded)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.