American Speedway  

2011 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Harley Night
August 12, 2011
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
An interesting time for Speedway in SoCal as the days shorten and the pit area falls into the shadows before race time. Eddie Castro wore one of Tyson Talkington's shirts in order to get in a few words with one of his fans. It was Quaid Harley Night at IMS. More than once, the marvelous machines rumbled through the pit area and onto the track. It was waaay cool!
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
The Pee Wees battled all night long for the checkered, but in the end it was #14 Sara Cords (inside) over #27 "Lightning" Luke Whitcomb - on the outside in turn two. 200cc First Div action: Seconds from a race-halting encounter with Mr. Plywood is #45 Braydan Galvin, on the outside between #222 Dalton Leedy and #0 Hayley Perrault. Braydan walked slowly back to the pits but was done for the evening. Sidecar action: The Harley fans were yelling for their favorite Harley-powered Sidecar, #25 Rod Requejo/Gene Stone - on the outside just behind #5150 Dylan Beard/Trever Desherlia and challenger #13 Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers in green.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Youth 200cc Second Division action: #214 Michael Wells leads #18 Jason Palmese into turn one as #23 Shea Bendykowski cranks it on the outside. Third Div. action: #157 Tony DeAlmeida (on the pole) leads #311"Rip" Fife and #316 Kip McClain down the back straight. Second Div. action: #313 Joey St. Louis leads a cluster into turn one.
  IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)  
Sidecars: Defending National Champ #1 Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen tear around the track like scalded hogs in a hailstorm.  

Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback and "Fast" Eddie Castro took advantage of Inland Motorcycle Speedway's best prepared speedway track of the season and both racers took home main event victories on Quaid Harley Davidson Night.

Fishback overcame a fall in his semi to transfer to the Scratch Main Event via the Last Chance Race. He drew gate two and left the starting line side-by-side with "Flyin" Mike Faria. The two battled through the first corner evenly, but Fishback pulled ahead on the back straight. Faria continued his outside effort but Fishback still led at the end of lap one while Faria had to battle the rest of the field to maintain second. Castro was the first rider past and he set his sights on Fishback, but his hopes would never come to fruition. Fishback was smooth and steady at the front and was first to the checkered flag. Castro finished second, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell was third, Russell Green finished fourth, and Faria drifted back to fifth.

Rick "The Rage" Valdez led the eight-rider Handicap Main Event field through the first lap but former Youth National Champion Jason Ramirez used the ample outside cushion go around him for the lead. Ramirez was cruising out front, but "Fast" Eddie Castro, who assumed second place on the second lap, slowly chipped away at his lead. Castro was on the leader's back tire at the end of lap five and applied heavy pressure. Ramirez succumbed to the heat when Castro slipped by on the inside as they entered turn three. Castro raced a comfortable final two laps to collect the win. Ramirez held on for second, Fishback finished third, McConnell was fourth, and Steve Russell finished fifth, and Valdez was sixth.

Seventeen year old Joey St. Louis put together five smooth laps despite constant pressure from Mitch Pierson and was victorious in the Second Division Main Event. Pierson finished second, Rohn Zellner was third, Chris Jones was fourth, and Ed Lynch was credited with fifth.

Steve "Beach Ball" Brown quickly took the lead in the Third Division Main Event, but was chased by Tony DeAlmeida. His time at the front lasted just one lap as DeAlmeida took the lead. DeAlmeida never looked back from there and led the rest of the way for the victory. Kevin Fife finished second, Kip McClain was third, Brown finished fourth, and Rick Huspek was fifth.

Dalton Leedy and Hayley Perrault battled side-by-side through the first corner of the Youth 200cc First Division Main Event. Perrault pulled down in front of Leedy as they entered turn three to take control. Leedy didn't give up, however, and tried to make the outside work well enough to get around her. His valiant effort would go unrewarded, though, as Perrault held him off for the win.

Michael Wells led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event. Shea Bendykowski finished second and Sebastian Palmese was third.

Sara Cords fought off a late charge by Luke Whitcomb and held on to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Mikey Ortega finished third.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen made a great start and cruised to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Dan Jones and Brandi McElroy charged through the field for a hard-fought second, Dylan Beard and Trever DeSherlia finished third, and Rod Requejo and Gene Stone were fourth.

Former First Division speedway racer Wayne Leutz was victorious over a jam-packed eight-rider field in the street-legal Harley Davidson Main.

The next event at IMS is the annual Denny Pyeatt Memorial. The event honors the American racer who was tragically killed from injuries suffered while competing for the Reading Racers at Hackney, England on July 16, 1982. Pyeatt was the inspiration for the USA team that captured our first World Team Cup Championship at White City, England that same year. The Denny Pyeatt Memorial was created by former World Under 21 Champion Ron Preston in 1983 at an event he promoted in El Centro, California. The event was held there throughout the 1980s. The event has been held at IMS the past two seasons with Faria winning in 2009 and Buck Blair winning last year.


Sidecar Consolation
44 – Jeff Medberry/Josh Bennett
13 – Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
23 – Shawn Driggers/Missy Driggers

Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
2 - Dan Jones/Brandi McElroy
5150 - Dylan Beard/Trever DeSherlia
25 - Rod Requejo/Gene Stone

Pee Wee Main Event
14 - Sara Cords
27 - Luke Whitcomb
000 - Mikey Ortega

Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event
214 - Michael Wells
23 - Shea Bendykowski
18 - Sebastian Palmese

Youth 200cc First Division Main Event
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy
45 - Braydan Galvin (non starter)

Third Division Main Event (restarted)
157 - Tony DeAlmeida 20
311 - Kevin Fife 30(penalty line)
316 - Kip McClain 30
211 - Steve Brown 10
226 - Rick Huspek 0

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
313 - Joey St. Louis 0
192 - Mitch Pierson 10
163 - Rohn Zellner 20
116 - Chris Jones 30(fell)
354 - Ed Lynch 30(fell)

Handicap Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro 40
66 - Jason Ramirez 20
25 - Jimmy Fishback 50
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
23 - Steve Russell 20
293 - Rick Valdez 10
48 - Tyson Talkington 20
9 - Mike Faria 40(retired)

First Division Last Chance
25 - Jimmy Fishback
66 - Jason Ramirez
23 - Steve Russell
11 - Bobby Schwartz

Scratch Main Event
25 - Jimmy Fishback
14 - Eddie Castro
6 - Shawn McConnell
321 - Russell Green
9 - Mike Faria (retired)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.