American Speedway  

2011 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

IMS - Scotts Headers and Mufflers Night
August 26, 2011
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

YouTube Handicap Main Event - RAZ Video

YouTube Scratch Main Event - RAZ Video

IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Famous Speedway announcer Larry Huffman seeks shade in the 103 degree heat of day and gives "Stella" some lovin'. Aaron Fox is among the walking injured First Division riders. Heal that knee, Aaron, you're missed. Ditto Second Division rider Joey St. Louis, injured in practice last Sunday, his right collarbone. Bummer!
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Event 2 - #28 Joey Holt got vectored into the wall coming out of turn four. He hit hard and his bike bent badly. Holt was laughing it off within an hour. [Whew!] It was Scott's Headers and Mufflers Night at IMS. Scott Read promoted a best 2-out-of-3 match race between #6 Shawn McConnell and #25 Jimmy Fishback. They battled magnificently and were tied at two. In the end it was Jimmy edging Shawn in the third race. In their cool-down lap, the IMS crowd shows their appreciation.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
The Pee Wees just get faster and faster. #31 Alyssa Smith beats #275 Jimmy Fishback IV to take the checkered. Youth 200cc Main Event: #222 Dalton Leedy had to get on the gas to beat feisty contenders #18 Sebastian Palmese (on the pole) and #34 Maverick Molloy (center). Another Second Division victory for #114 Troy McConnell, son of First Div. star, Shawn.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
Sidecar Main: #1 Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen had to do battle to beat #5150 Dylan Beard/Trever DeSherlia on their new cherry-red Suzuki-powered three-wheeler. Scratch Main Event: #9 "Flying" Mike Faria came from the wall to win the four-lap race, pleasing his many fans. Handicap Main Event. #14 "Fast" Eddie Castro came from the 50 yard line to nip "Mad Dog" McConnell for the win.

Scotts Headers and Mufflers Night - San Bernardino, CA, USA - August 26

"Flyin" Mike Faria and "Fast" Eddie Castro both collected main event victories on Scott's Headers and Mufflers Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Faria started the Scratch Main Event from gate give but being next to the wall did not deter the former National Champion. When the tapes went up he launched into the lead ahead of Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback. The wily veteran found plenty of traction on the outside and maintained his advantage throughout the first lap. Fishback searched for a way to catch the leader but no avenue provided a path. Faria was first to the checkered flag, Fishback settled for second, Castro was third, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell finished fourth, and Steve Russell was fifth.

The eight-rider Handicap Main Event began with Drew Coats at the front of the field but Russell used the outside to take the lead at the end of the first lap. Shawn McConnell, Fishback, and Castro emerged as the main challengers to Russell's lead at the end of the second lap, but Fishback's bid ended with an engine failure. Shawn McConnell snapped at Russell's heels until the sixth lap when he finally made his way by as they exited turn two. McConnell couldn't relax, though, because Castro was right on his tail. The diminutive Ojai native went to the ample cushion and was able to propel himself around the leader the final time down the back straight. Castro led through the final turn and crossed the finish line first. Shawn McConnell finished second, John Marquez was third, Russell finished fourth, Tyson Talkington was fifth, and Coats finished sixth.

John "Racer X" Pavia led the Second Division Main Event through the first corner but Troy McConnell went around him and into the lead on the back straight. McConnell never looked back from there and went on to victory. Mitch Pierson finished second and Pavia was third.

Steve Howard led the Third Division Main Event for half a lap before Steve "Beach Ball" Brown went past him. Kevin Fife got past Howard and set his sights on the leader. Fife patiently stalked Brown and finally seized his opportunity as they took the white flag. Fife led the final lap and claimed the victory. Brown held on to for second and Howard ended up third.

Dalton Leedy led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth 200cc Main Event. Sebastian "Big Daddy" Palmese finished second and Maverick Molloy was third.

The Sidecar Main Event was one of the best sidecar races of the season. Dylan Beard and Trever DeSherlia led for two laps before National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen went by on the back straight. Beard and DeSherlia fought back and took the lead at the end of the third lap. Jones and Olsen were relentless in their pursuit and went by on the inside as they entered the final corner. Jones and Olsen kept Beard and DeSherlia at bay to the finish. Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers were third and Rod Requejo and Gene Stone finished fourth.

IMS is dark this Friday night due to the Labor Day Holiday Weekend.

The next event at IMS is Speedway Billy Night on Friday, September 9.


Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
5150 - Dylan Beard/Trever DeSherlia
13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
25 - Rod Requejo/Gene Stone

Pee Wee Main Event
31 - Alyssa Smith
275 - Jimmy Fishback IV
27 - Luke Whitcomb
000 - Mikey Ortega
57 - Mason Loy

Youth 200cc Main Event
222 - Dalton Leedy
18 - Sebastian Palmese
34 - Maverick Molloy

Third Division Main Event
311 - Kevin Fife 30
211 - Steve Brown 10
221 - Steve Howard 0
188 - Rick Howard 0(non starter)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
114 - Troy McConnell
192 - Mitch Pierson
355 - John Pavia
177 - Steve Bowen (non starter - restart)

Handicap Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro 50
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
41 - John Marquez 20
23 - Steve Russell 20
48 - Tyson Talkington 20
195 - Drew Coats 10
9 - Mike Faria 40(retired)
25 - Jimmy Fishback 50(engine failure)

Scratch Main Event
9 - Mike Faria
25 - Jimmy Fishback
14 - Eddie Castro
6 - Shawn McConnell
23 - Steve Russell

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.