American Speedway  

2011 Victorville Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Victorville Speedway
San Bernardino County Fairgrounds
Victorville, California

'Students' got revenge on the 'Professors'
August 13, 2011
Results By: Steve Evans

The 'Students' got revenge on the 'Professors' tonight at Victorville, winning the team re-match 43-36. Rider injuries and bike attrition during the week during the intensely hectic three night a week Southern California race schedule meant that the race format changed from last time. Each team had 4 'First Division' riders who raced five times each and two 'Third Division' riders who each got three heats. It was ultimately the inclusion of the third division riders that left the Professors an impossible task - a fall in team race three left ';Professors' rider Norm Graham with bike damage whilst Division Three points leader and team mate Tony DeAlmeida collected Graham's bike, causing a heavy crash. DeAlmeida was forced to withdraw from the match, with Graham only appearing for one additional heat.

The team racing gave some excellent entertainment - Castro did his trademark tape penalty in heat 6, yet he came from the penalty line to overhaul Raines and Scopellite. Raines exacted revenge in heat 12 when he defeated the powerful duo of Castro and McConnell. The 52 year old's hit back in the final team race for a 5-1, but that only made the easy win for the Students a little more respectable for the Seniors.

Team MXRC and USA Touring Team October debutantes duo Michael Raines and Rocco Scopellite both top scored for the Students with 9+1 each. Castro had 16+1 including a double point tactical, McConnell has 12+1.

It was four young riders who put on a great show in the Individual Last Chance race for the last two spots in the Main. Raines, who has won his last two team heats was a clear winner but 15 year old Scopellite rode the race of his career, narrowly holding over second over last weeks winner Gino Manzares for three laps. Manzares edged by on the last lap, Scopellite fought back but lost out on a maiden Main Event by inches.

The Main Event saw Castro win for the third time this year - a fast gate and he won easily from flag to flag. The hugely impressive Raines was second with McConnell holding off Manzares for third.

The Sidecars made a welcome return. Joe Jones & Brandi McElroy won the first two heats with the third going to Dylan Beard and Trever DeSherlia. Shawn Driggers & Missy Driggers won the Sidecar Last Chance and repeated the feat in the Main.

Joey St. Louis won all four Division Three races from Brad Russell including the Main. The first three races were 5-1 or 5-0 maximums in the team event, whilst the Main was a winner takes all deal.

Gino Scopellite won both Junior heats but a stall at the gate in the Main gave Sebastian Palmese the win.

Dakota Shockley and Sara Cords each won a Pee Wee heat with Shockley taking the Main by inches. There was also a well supported Flat Track class, won by Aaron Colton

This race wrapped up a very busy 8 weeks at the track where seven races were held. The next race is on September 3rd and is the last points race of the year. It is the 'Speedway Billy Memorial / American Touring Team Night' where the track honors popular fan Billy Huspek who passed away two years ago. The event will also raise funds for the upcoming American Touring Team trip to England in October - Huspek was named honorary captain of the Touring Team in the Spring.

Team Speedway:

Professors 36 - Eddie Castro 16+1. Shawn McConnell 12+1, Billy Lyons 4+2, Rick Fehrman 3+1, Norm Graham 1, Tony DeAlmeida 0.

Students 43- Michael Raines 9+1, Rocco Scopellite 9+1, Joey St Louis 9, Brad Russell 6+3, Russell Green 6, Gino Manzares 4+3

Last Chance
63 Michael Raines
24 Gino Manzares
126 Rocco Scopellite
321 Russell Green

14 Eddie Castro
63 Michael Raines
6 Shawn McConnell
24 Gino Manzares

Sidecar Last Chance
23 Shawn Driggers & Missy Driggers
66 Gerard Jackson / Dave German
13 Scott Driggers & Casey Driggers
44 Jeff Medberry / Aaron Fox

Sidecar Main
23 Shawn Driggers & Missy Driggers
1 Joe Jones / Brandi McElroy
5150 Dylan Beard / Trever DeSherlia
66 Gerard Jackson / Dave German

Support Main
313 Joey St Louis
317 Brad Russell
129 Norm Graham (non starter)
157 Tony DeAlmeida (non starter)

Junior Main
18 Sebastian Palmese
7 Gino Scopellite

Pee Wee Main
34 Dakota Shockley
14 Sara Cords
8 Summer Fehrman
3 Caleb Gregory
1 CJ Gregory

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.