American Speedway  

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Warren Russell Cup
May 12, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by L.L.G. Photography

YouTube - Talking about Warren Russell during the 2012 Warren Russell Cup - Mark Williams - Xtreme Speedway Action

YouTube - Warren Russell Cup Main Event - Mark Williams - Xtreme Speedway Action

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway >2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Dillon Ruml, Kurtis Hamill, Broc Nicol, Max Ruml, Tristan Britt, and others. Neil Facchini Jimmy Fishback
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Bobby Boogaloo Schwarz, Lynnae Claeys, Neil Facchini, Rob Hassay, Michael Raines and Jimmy Fishback Tyson Talkington and Shawn McConnell Gino Manzares
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Mike Faria Billy Hamill Hayley Perrault

2012 Warren Russell Cup - Costa Mesa, CA, USA - June 2

Former World Champion Billy "The Bullet" Hamill added another title to his overflowing trophy case by winning the Warren Russell Cup with a perfect performance at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Hamill led the field into turn one but Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback started to go down and clipped Gino Manzares. The contact sent Manzares toward the turn two wall. The 18 year old was able to dismount before his bike impacted the wall at a high rate of speed. A full restart was ordered and Manzares would return with a spare bike. Hamill made the best start again with Fishback and "Flyin" Mike Faria chasing him. Hamill left little doubt to the outcome and steadily stretched his lead with each lap. Hamill cruised to the victory, Fishback settled for second, Faria was third, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell finished fourth, and Manzares was fifth.

Fishback kicked off the heats with a win over Neil Facchini. Manzares beat McConnell in the second heat. Hamill began his evening with a defeat of Faria. Charlie "The Edge" Venegas beat Tyson Burmeister to end the first round.

Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz started the second round by beating Charles "Dukie" Ermolenko. Hamill defeated Fishback for his second straight win. Manzares made it two wins in a row with a win over Faria. Venegas matched Hamill and Venegas by defeating Tyson Talkington to finish round two.

Michael Raines opened round three by beating Schwartz. Hamill defeated Ermolenko to remain unbeaten. Faria beat Fishback for his first win. Burmeister beat previously undefeated Manzares and Venegas to end the heats.

McConnell beat Facchini in a runoff for the final spot in the semis.

Faria and McConnell finished one-two in the first semi to book their places in the main event. Hamill won the second semi with Fishback following him into the main event.

Schwartz led the Last Chance for a lap and seemed to be on his way to the main event but a mechanical problem caused him to coast to a stop. Manzares gladly accepted the lead and his win placed him in the main event.

Archie Perez, making his first appearance of 2012, led from start to finish and won the Support Main Event. Eloy Medellin finished second, J.D. Myerscough was third, Carl Gazafy finished fourth, and Rudy Laurer was credited with fifth.

Ron Davis and Davey Shaw had a great wheel-to-wheel battle in the Support B Main before Shaw surged ahead to control the lead. Shaw held the lead until the white flag when he slowed, apparently thinking the race was over, and allowed several riders to go by. Davis benefitted the most since he led the final lap for the victory. Paul Thornton finished second, Kip McClain was third, a disappointed Shaw finished fourth, and Phill Santolucito was fifth.

Max Ruml won both his heats and continued his perfection with a convincing win in the Youth 250cc Main Event. Gumball Rally Champion Broc Nicol finished second, Dillon Ruml was third, Hayley Perrault finished fourth, Braden Sauer was fifth, and Dalton Leedy finished sixth.

Braydan Galvin was unbeaten all evening, including a dominant victory in the Youth 200cc Main Event. Gino Scopellite was second, Sebastian Palmese finished third, and Maverick Molloy was fourth.

The next event at Costa Mesa Speedway will include a performance by Freestyle Motocross jumpers. There will certainly be another large crowd in attendance to witness exciting speedway racing and the jumpers.


Youth 200cc Consolation
214 – Michael Wells
108 – Chase Sanborn
11 – Tristan Britt

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin
7 - Gino Scopellite
18 - Sebastian Palmese
34 - Maverick Molloy

Youth 250cc Main Event
308 - Max Ruml 0
98 - Broc Nicol 0
111 - Dillon Ruml 0
0 - Hayley Perrault 20
21 - Braden Sauer 20
222 - Dalton Leedy 0(fell, remounted)

Support B Main Event
163 - Ron Davis
124 - Paul Thornton
316 - Kip McClain
145 - Davey Shaw
200 - Phill Santolucito (fell, remounted)

Support Last Chance (restarted twice)
155 – J.D. Myerscough
186 – Tim McGrath
185 – Kayle LeoGrande (penalty line)
192 – Mitch Pierson (penalty line)

Support Main Event (restarted)
34 - Archie Perez
178 - Eloy Medellin
155 - J.D. Myerscough
176 - Carl Gazafy
182 - Rudy Laurer (non starter - restart)

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 3216
7 – Michael Raines 1247
9 – Mike Faria 33410
11 – Bobby Schwartz 2439
14 – Eddie Castro F101
15 – Charles Ermolenko 2338
17 – Robbie Sauer 1102
18 – Justin Boyle 2013
21 – Brad Sauer Nr123
23 – Steve Russell 1225
24 – Gino Manzares 44311
25 – Jimmy Fishback 43310
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3E47
43 – Charlie Venegas 44210
48 – Tyson Talkington F3Nr3
66 – Jason Ramirez 2125
86 – Neil Facchini 3216
104 – Billy Hamill 44412
114 – Troy McConnell10F1

Heat Results
1: Fishback, Facchini, Schwartz, Raines, Castro (fell)
2: Manzares, S. McConnell, Boyle, R. Sauer, Talkington (fell)
3: Hamill, Faria, Ramirez, Russell, Tovatt
4: (restarted) Venegas, Burmeister, Ermolenko, T. McConnell, B. Sauer (non starter – restart)
5: Schwartz, Ermolenko, Russell, R. Sauer, T. McConnell
6: Hamill, Fishback, S. McConnell, Castro, Burmeister (engine failure)
7: Manzares, Faria, Raines, B. Sauer, Boyle
8: Venegas, Talkington, Facchini, Ramirez, Tovatt
15: Raines, Schwartz, Ramirez, Tovatt, T. McConnell
16: (restarted) Hamill, Ermolenko, B. Sauer, S. McConnell, Talkington (non starter – restart)
17: Faria, Fishback, Russell, Facchini, Castro
18: Burmeister, Manzares, Venegas, Boyle, R. Sauer
Runoff: S. McConnell, Facchini
Semi #1: Faria, McConnell, Manzares, Schwartz, Ermolenko
Semi #2: Hamill, Fishback, Venegas, Raines, Burmeister

First Division Last Chance
24 - Gino Manzares
43 - Charlie Venegas
7 - Michael Raines
11 - Bobby Schwartz

Warren Russell Cup Main Event (restarted)
104 - Billy Hamill
25 - Jimmy Fishback
6 - Shawn McConnell
9 - Mike Faria
24 - Gino Manzares (retired)

Past Warren Russell Cup Winners
1989 - Bobby Schwartz
1990 - Mike Faria
1991 - Mike Faria
1992 - Chris Manchester
1993 - Sam Ermolenko
1994 - Sam Ermolenko
1995 - Greg Hancock
1996 - Steve Lucero
1997 - Mike Faria
1998 - Bart Bast
1999 - Brad Oxley
2000 - Charlie Venegas
2001 - Josh Larsen
2002 - Josh Larsen
2003 - Scott Brant
2004 - Mike Faria
2005 - Chris Manchester
2006 - Charlie Venegas
2007 - Mike Faria
2008 - Bobby Schwartz
2009 - Buck Blair
2010 - Mike Faria
2011 - Josh Larsen

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.