American Speedway  

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Motorcycle Demolition Derby
August 25, 2012 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Paul Flanders

Facebook Photos - Mark Williams - Xtreme Speedway Action

YouTube Video Scratch Main - Mark Williams - Xtreme Speedway Action (Editors Note: Lots and Lots of Smiles for that win!)

Playlist from YouTube - Mark Williams - Xtreme Speedway Action

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
The winners, front row: Broc Nicol (250), Bobby Schwartz Jr.; back row: Lewis Hughes (support B), Bobby Schwartz (1st division), Gino Scopellite (200), and Rick Farron (support). He’s back, back, back, Jimmy Fishback, after a few weeks off recovering from injuries, just in time for the season ending championship events. It was a “Total B.S. Night”, totally Bobby Schwartz, with the 56 year old winning the main event.
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Youth 200cc winner Braydan Galvin stands proudly with Bobby Schwartz and Bobby Jr. Sliding back on the scene was 60 year old Rick Farron to show those young whipper snappers the fast way around in the support class. It was a rare night that Dave Ruml’s boys went home without a trophy. Meanwhile, Lewis Hughes took home the support B main trophy.
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Newcomer Kris Keller took second in the support B main. It would be a dull night at Costa Mesa if you didn’t get a grin from Damon Barry. With help from dad, Dylan Smith has been at most of the races this summer on their new Hagon junior bike.

Costa Mesa, CA, USA - August 25

World-renown speedway icon Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz thrilled the crowd as well as his contemporaries by scoring a very popular main-event victory at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Schwartz, who turned 56 on August 10, made the best start and led the field into turn one. Fittingly for the moment and as a testament to Schwartz's longevity, it was Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback, whose father competed against Schwartz, planted on his back tire. Fishback applied the heat on the man also known as "Captain America" but couldn't make an impression. Fishback's pursuit ended when he fell in turn two and left an insurmountable gap for the leader to defend. With the people in the crowd and in the pits urging him on, Schwartz fulfilled their wish by getting to the checkered flag first and received a rousing ovation. Long-time rival "Flyin" Mike Faria finished second, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell was third, "Battling" Buck Blair finished fourth, and Fishback was fifth. Fellow competitors spilled on to the track to congratulate Schwartz during his victory lap and then he received the bumps on the front straight.

The heats kicked off with Fishback passing Schwartz to win the first heat. "Fast" Eddie Castro passed former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas to win event two. Blair held off McConnell to win the third heat. Faria ended the first round with a win over Aaron Fox.

Schwartz beat Fox to begin the second round. Fishback beat Venegas for his second straight win. Former Under 21 National Champion Austin Novratil won the third heat. Faria defeated Blair to end round two with his second win in a row.

Schwartz beat Venegas to begin round three with his second win. Former Youth National Champion Jason Ramirez beat McConnell in event 15. Fishback held off Fox to remain perfect. Under 21 National Champion Gino Manzares trapped from gate four and kept Novratil at bay to win the final heat.

Blair and Schwartz finished one-two in the first semi and transferred to the main event. Faria handed Fishback his first defeat in the second semi but both riders moved up the program and into the main. McConnell won the Last Chance and filled the final spot in the main event.

Rick Farron dominated his heat and semi then ran away with the victory in the Support Main Event. Stephen Simrak was second, "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen finished third, and Ron Davis was fourth.

Tom Bryant led the Support B Main Event for nearly a lap but went wide in turn four and allowed Lewis Hughes to get by. Hughes never looked back and went on to victory. Kris Keller finished second, Bryant was third, and Chris Wiggins finished fourth.

Broc Nicol led from start to finish en route to victory in the Youth 250cc Main Event. Dillon Ruml finished second, Hayley Perrault was third, and Max Ruml finished fourth.

Braydan Galvin scored a convincing win in the Youth 200cc First Division Main Event with Michael Wells finishing second and Sebastian Palmese getting third.

Gino Scopellite passed Courtney Crone on the final lap to snag the victory in the Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event. Dylan Smith finished third.

Joe Jones and Johnny Glover completed a perfect evening by winning the Sidecar Main Event. Stuart Glass and Jack Straw finished second, Bob Brayton and Dwayne King were third, and Jeff Medberry and Josh Bennett finished fourth.

There won't be racing at Costa Mesa Speedway on Saturday, September 1 due to the Labor Day holiday weekend. The next event will be Harley Night on Saturday, September 8 with speedway, sidecars, and the ever-popular street-legal Harley races.


Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
911 - Stuart Glass/Jack Straw
V2 - Bob Brayton/Dwayne King
44 - Jeff Medberry/Josh Bennett

Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event
7 - Gino Scopellite
4 - Courtney Crone
13 - Dylan Smith

Youth 200cc First Division Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin
214 - Michael Wells
18 - Sebastian Palmese

Youth 250cc Main Event
98 - Broc Nicol
111 - Dillon Ruml
0 - Hayley Perrault
308 - Max Ruml

Support B Main Event
244 - Lewis Hughes
306 - Kris Keller
220 - Tom Bryant
282 - Chris Wiggins

Support Main Event
147 - Rick Farron
318 - Stephen Simrak
177 - Steve Bowen (tape penalty)
163 - Ron Davis

First Division Semi-Final #1
39 – Buck Blair
11 – Bobby Schwartz
27 – Austin Novratil
14 – Eddie Castro
46 – Aaron Fox

First Division Semi-Final #2
9 – Mike Faria
25 – Jimmy Fishback
43 – Charlie Venegas
6 – Shawn McConnell
24 – Gino Manzares

First Division Last Chance
6 - Shawn McConnell
43 - Charlie Venegas
14 - Eddie Castro
27 - Austin Novratil

First Division Main Event
11 - Bobby Schwartz
9 - Mike Faria
6 - Shawn McConnell
39 - Buck Blair
25 - Jimmy Fishback (fell)

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.