American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Fan Appreciation Night Results
June 1, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Riders Meeting. When Flanders says,"Light that puppy," should I be concerned? A perfect Friday evening, followed by mucho methanol madness.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
A National Champion many times over, #43 Charlie Venegas gets to work. Racing pals Adam Herkner (left) and Dryden LeoGrande (right) wait for the parade to start. (Or, is there another reason for Speedway?) Sara Cords is the gal to beat in the Pee Wee ranks.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
It's our racing pals again, Herkner and LeoGrande digging out. 3rd Division: #145 Davey Shaw waves another victory flag. 2nd Division action: #116 Chris Jones leads a right-echelon tactical formation around turn one.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
1st Division Action: Fishback leads Heat 11 toward the first turn. 1st Division veteran #23 Steve Russell, wide open. #26 Tyson Burmeister (inside) battles #43 Charlie Venegas (outside).
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
1st Division Last Chance: Russell gets the foul; Aaron Fox advances Sidecar Main Event. 1st Division Main Event. Venegas is on the pole, headed for a win.
2012 IMS Speedway    
When the Champ is on his game, he usually wins!  

Hometown rider Charlie "The Edge" Venegas took home the main event victory for the second time this season on Fan Appreciation Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Venegas started in gate one in the main event, made the best start, and led the field into turn one. Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback, who started in gate four, led the competitors chasing after the leader. Venegas used the think outside line to maintain his lead while Fishback followed suit to try to make up ground. The former National Champion kept a comfortable lead and was never threatened en route to victory. Fishback finished second, Tyson Burmeister was third, Aaron Fox finished fourth, and Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell was fifth.

Venegas opened the heats with a win over Neil Facchini. Fishback beat McConnell in the second heat. Burmeister ended the first round by beating Steve Russell.

Venegas started the second round by defeating Fishback. Burmeister led the next heat before "Fast" Eddie Castro, with a 22" rear tire mounted on his bike, blasted through for the lead and the win. McConnell, who also mounted a 22" rear tire, beat Tyson Talkington to finish round two.

The final round began with Russell being awarded the victory when Talkington brought out the red flag after he went over backward in turn two and halted the race. Fishback beat Fox for his second win. Burmeister and Venegas had a fantastic battle in the final heat race with Burmeister holding off the ICE Champion to remain perfect on the evening.

Venegas won the first semi with McConnell following him into the main. Burmeister and Fishback finished one-two in the second semi and transferred to the main. Fox won the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main event field.

Tim McGrath led the Second Division Main Event for two laps before Chris Jones went to the front at the start of lap three. Jones's lead was short-lived, however, because J.D. Myerscough, who has impressive in his short time in speedway, went around him for the lead in the next corner. Myerscough quickly pulled away and went on to the win. Mike Fuson finished second, McGrath was third, Jones finished fourth, Ron Davis was fifth, and Kip McClain was sixth.

Phill Santolucito was the initial leader in the Third Division Main Event but fell and handed the lead to Davey Shaw. Shaw, who was celebrating his birthday, gave himself a present by leading the rest of the way for the victory. Steve "Beachball" Brown finished second, Jake Hansen was third, Tom Bryant finished fourth, and Santolucito was fifth.

Adam Herkner led the Youth 200cc Main Event before Braydan Galvin, who started on the 60 yard line, went past him for the lead at the end of the second lap. Galvin cruised the rest of the way for the win. Sebastian Palmese finished second, Herkner was third, and Dryden LeoGrande finished fourth.

Sara Cords continued her domination of the Pee Wee Division with another main event win. Nick Dunn finished second, Jonas LeoGrande was third, Julia Pierson finished fourth, and Sean Tannerberg was fifth.

Dylan Beard and Jimmy Olsen led the Sidecar Main Event through turns one and two but Joe Jones and Johnny Glover built up their momentum and roared around the outside as they entered turn three. Beard and Olsen tried to retake the lead on the front straight but Jones and Glover cut to the inside as they entered turn one the second time. Jones and Glover were mistake-free the rest of the way and went home victorious. Beard and Olsen finished second, Dual Anderson and Josh Bennett were third, and Jeff Rowe and Johnny Bach finished fourth.

The next event at IMS is Benny Mears Appreciation Night. Mears is a staff member who puts in countless hours at the track not only on the day of the race, but throughout the week and the winter as well.


Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Danny Glover
5150 - Dylan Beard/Jimmy Olsen
007 - Dual Anderson/Josh Bennett
1965 - Jeff Rowe/Johnny Bach

Pee Wee Main Event
14 - Sara Cords
76 - Nick Dunn
185 - Jonas LeoGrande
19 - Julia Pierson
4 - Sean Tannerberg

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin 60
18 - Sebastian Palmese 10
28 - Adam Herkner 0
185 - Dryden LeoGrande 0

Third Division Main Event
145 - Davey Shaw 10
211 - Steve Brown 0
123 - Josh Hansen 10
220 - Tom Bryant 0
200 - Phill Santolucito 0(fell, remounted)
244 - Lewis Hughes 20(non starter)

Second Division Main Event
155 - J.D. Myerscough 10
245 - Mike Fuson 10
186 - Tim McGrath 0
116 - Chris Jones 10
163 - Ron Davis 0
316 - Kip McClain 0(fell)

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2327
11 – Bobby Schwartz 0112
14 – Eddie Castro 0314
23 – Steve Russell 2136
25 – Jimmy Fishback 3238
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3137
28 – Joey Holt 1R - 1
43 – Charlie Venegas 3328
46 – Aaron Fox 1225
48 – Tyson Talkington 12Fx3
86 – Neil Facchini 20E2
114 – Troy McConnell 0011
208 – Geoff Herkner (R)0- - 0

Race Results
1: Venegas, Facchini, Holt, Castro (tape penalty) (fell, remounted)
2: Fishback, S. McConnell, Fox, T. McConnell
3: Burmeister, Russell, Talkington, Schwartz
11: Venegas, Fishback, Russell, T. McConnell (fell)
12: Castro, Fox, Burmeister, Holt (retired)
13: McConnell, Talkington, Schwartz, Facchini (fell, remounted)
21: (restarted) (awarded) Russell, S. McConnell, Castro, Talkington (fell, excluded)
22: Fishback, Fox, Schwartz, Facchini (engine failure)
23: Burmeister, Venegas, T. McConnell, Herkner
Semi #1: Venegas, McConnell, Fox, Castro (fell, remounted)
Semi #2: Burmeister, Fishback, Russell, Talkington

First Division Last Chance
46 - Aaron Fox
23 - Steve Russell (tape penalty)
14 - Eddie Castro (fell, remounted)
48 - Tyson Talkington (fell)

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
25 - Jimmy Fishback
26 - Tyson Burmeister
46 - Aaron Fox
6 - Shawn McConnell (fell)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.