American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Speedway Racer Remembrance Night
June 15, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Gary Hicks, Sr. conducts a "sweep" of the pit area. Youth riders Braydan Galvin (left) and Broc Nicol. High Desert Speedway Announcer Chris Ackerman and kids enjoy the races.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
With a name like Revin Easley, he's just got to race! Sebastian Palmese (left) and Braydan Galvin kept the crowd on their feet. Galvin goes down on the final lap, Sebastian gets the win.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
#200 Phill Santolucito (left) holds off #211 Steve Brown for the 3rd Division win. 250cc Main Event. Broc is definitely back in form.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
2nd Division action: Mike Salyer (outside) battles Mike Fuson 1st Division - Last Chance Sidecar #16 vs Sidecar #5150 as in no brakes, neither!
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Sidecar #66 vs Sidecar #16: Brace for Impact. Sidecar No. 1: You don't wanna get behind Joe and Johnny - no way! 1st Division Main Event: Uh-oh. Venegas has the pole....
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway  
Fishback has an amazing gate, Charlie is making him earn the win. Started off with a zero, but Fish III put on a clinic afterward. Well done, Jimmy!  

Speedway Racer Remembrance Night - June 15

2011 Southern California Points Champion Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback thrilled his fans by winning his first main event victory of the season in Southern California on Speedway Racer Remembrance Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas entered the main event unbeaten, had first choice of starting position, and picked gate one. Tim Gomez was next and he chose gate two. Fishback selected gate four. "Fast" Eddie Castro took gate three which left Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz, who made the main by winning the Last Chance, with gate five. In a brilliant show of sportsmanship, Schwartz spent his time during the rider introductions advising Fishback on the technique of starting on the blue groove. Fishback was soaking in the former World Best Pairs Champion's instructions.

Fishback's listening skills paid off when the tapes went up because he got huge jump on his competitors as they entered turn one. Venegas got a run up the inside of Fishback on the back straight and tried to force his way into the lead as they entered turn three. Fishback isn't intimidated by anyone on the race track and he thwarted Venegas's attempt. The defending ICE Champion didn't go away quietly and the next time they entered turn three he tried the same thing. It would prove to be his last chance to snatch the lead because Fishback steadily pulled away on the final two laps and was first to the checkered flag much to the delight of his many fans in the Inland Empire. Venegas had to settle for second, Castro was third, Gomez finished fourth, and Schwartz was fifth.

Kip McClain led the Second Division Main Event but Mike Fuson took the lead away from him. Fuson opened up some breathing room on the field and was never challenged on his way to the win. "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen finished second after starting 30 yards back, Ron Davis finished third, Davey Shaw was fourth, and Mike Salyer was fifth.

Phill Santolucito led every lap en route to victory in the Third Division Main Event. Steve "Beach Ball" Brown finished second and Rick Howard was third.

Gumball Rally Champion Broc Nicol won every heat and was victorious in the Youth 250cc Main Event as well. Hayley Perrault was second and Dalton Leedy finished third.

Sebastian Palmese led Youth 200cc Main Event but had Braydan Galvin, who started on the 60 yard line, closing fast. Palmese didn't fold under the pressure and kept Galvin at bay for three laps. Galvin went to the outside in turn four but slid off. Palmese cruised the final lap to get the victory. Dylan Smith finished second in his first youth main event, and Galvin was credited with third.

Revin Easley led the entire way to take home the win in the Pee Wee Main Event. Luke Whitcomb finished second, Talin Easley was third, Nick Dunn finished fourth, and Josie Shaw was fifth.

Joe Jones and Johnny Glover made the best start and led the Sidecar Main Event through lap one. Dylan Beard and Jimmy Olsen tried to stake their claim for the lead the second time on the back straight and pushed Jones and Glover through turns three and four. The pressure didn't faze the leaders and it was their only chance to be in front. Jones and Glover tightened their grip on the lead and went unchallenged the rest of the way. Beard and Olsen were second, Jeff Medberry and Josh Bennett finished third, and Kevin Brown and Nick Hertrick were fourth.

The Last of the Mohicans Last Team Out Sidecar Challenge saw Jeff Rowe and Johnny Bach eliminated first with Gerard Jackson and Dave German eliminated second. That left Jones and Glover against Brown and Hertrick in the final, two-lap challenge. Jones and Olsen led from the start to take the win.

Speedway Racer Remembrance Night honors racers who lost their lives during motorcycle competitions. The program cover included Ernie Roccio, Ken Berry, Randy Evans, and Nick Varner. It also included a picture of the late popular fan Speedway Billy with the legendary Kelly Moran.

The next event at IMS will be Bobby Schwartz Night. It will honor the man who has spent nearly 40 years racing speedway and has won many championships both domestically and internationally. He has also had a positive impact on the careers of many racers throughout that time by sharing his experience and knowledge with many riders as was evidenced before the main event.


Last of the Mohicans Last Team Out Challenge
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
16 - Kevin Brown/Nick Hertrick
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
1965 - Jeff Rowe/Johnny Bach

Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
5150 - Dylan Beard/Jimmy Olsen
44 - Jeff Medberry/Josh Bennett
16 - Kevin Brown/Nick Hertrick

Pee Wee Main Event
2 - Revin Easley
27 - Luke Whitcomb
22 - Talin Easley
76 - Nick Dunn
5 - Josie Shaw

Youth 200cc Main Event (restarted)
18 - Sebastian Palmese 10
13 - Dylan Smith 20
45 - Braydan Galvin 60(fell)

Youth 250cc Main Event
98 - Broc Nicol
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy

Third Division Main Event
200 - Phill Santolucito
211 - Steve Brown
188 - Rick Howard

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
245 - Mike Fuson 10
177 - Steve Bowen 30
163 - Ron Davis 10
145 - Davey Shaw 0(penalty line)
333 - Mike Salyer 0(fell)
316 - Kip McClain 0(fell)
144 - Michael Hernandez20(non starter - restart)

First Division Main Event
25 - Jimmy Fishback
43 - Charlie Venegas
14 - Eddie Castro
30 - Tim Gomez
11 - Bobby Schwartz

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.