American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Bobby Schwartz Night
June 22, 2012
By: Ryan Evans

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
It was Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz Night at IMS. Here's a Champion, many times over! Bobby's first light-off stalls: carburetor gremlins. Walking wounded: 1st Division contender Michael Raines. "I'll be back," he says.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
#22 Talin Easley has Sara for company in turn two! #2 Revin Easley wins the Pee Wee Main. Lap two: Galvin sails by Michael Wells.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Braydan Galvin: gone with the wind! With no 250cc riders, the bikes with brakes [Davey Shaw] raced in earnest. 3rd Division Main Event.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
#318 Stephen Simrak won the 3rd Division Main Event. #185 Kayle LeoGrande won the 2nd Division purse in style 1st Division Last Chance: Venegas has the edge.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
1st Division Main Event. Charlie is in the lead! Lap three: Venegas (left) and Billy Hamill hash it out. Venegas celebrates his amazing win.

2012 Bobby Schwartz Night - San Bernardino, CA, USA - June 22

Hometown rider Charlie "The Edge" Venegas won his third main event of the season in stunning fashion on Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Former World Champion Billy "The Bullet" Hamill came into the main event undefeated and used his first choice of starting position to pick gate one. Aaron Fox picked gate five with second choice, Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback then selected gate two, and Tim Gomez took gate three. That left gate four to Venegas, who made the main only after winning the Last Chance.

Gate four provided the best main-event start for the second straight week as Venegas left everyone at the line and entered turn one with the lead. Hamill was second but had to contend with Fishback breathing down his neck. Venegas and Hamill were in a similar position two nights before at Industry Racing and Hamill went around the former National Champion for the win. This time his attack would come from down low. Venegas remained glued to the pole for two laps but missed his line by a fraction and afforded Hamill an opportunity as they took the white flag. Hamill tried to charge up the inside but Venegas beat him to turn one and kept him at bay on the final lap to clinch the win. Fishback finished third, Gomez was fourth, and Fox finished fifth.

Hamill kicked off the evening with a blistering victory over Tyson Talkington. Venegas beat Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell for his first win in event two. Fishback finished the first round with a defeat of Fox.

The second round started with Fox trapping from the outside and taking the win ahead of Gomez. McConnell held off Fishback to win event nine. Hamill cruised to his second straight win to end round two.

Fox began round three with his second win in a row. McConnell beat Neil Facchini for his second consecutive win. Hamill finished the heats by beating Fishback to remain unbeaten.

Fox won the first semi but McConnell suffered an engine failure while running second on the final lap and Gomez snatched the other transfer to the main. Hamill narrowly beat Fishback in the second semi with both riders moving into the main event. With his back against the wall, Venegas won the Last Chance to get himself into the main event.

Kip McClain led the Second Division Main Event before Davey Shaw moved to the front at the end of the first lap. Shaw had to contend with Kayle LeoGrande who had followed him past McClain. LeoGrande waited patiently behind Shawn for two laps. Shaw went wide at the end of lap three and LeoGrande stormed up the inside for the lead. Rudy Laurer, who started from the 30 yard line, took second near the end of the fourth lap, but it was too late to catch LeoGrande who was first to the checkered flag. "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen finished third, Shaw was fourth, Ron Davis finished fifth, and McClain was sixth.

Stephen Simrak led all five laps and won the Third Division Main Event for the first time. J.C. Masters finished second, Rick Howard was third, Phill Santolucito finished fourth, Rick Huspek came in fifth, and Dave Trout was sixth.

Michael Wells led the first two laps of the Youth 200cc Main Event before Braydan Galvin swept around the outside of him at the end of the second lap. Galvin ran off into the horizon from there and took the win. Wells finished second and Adam Herkner was third.

Revin Easley claimed victory in the Pee Wee Main Event for the second week in a row while his brother, Talin Easley was runner-up for the second straight week as well. Sara Cords finished third, Luke Whitcomb was fourth, Jimmy Fishback IV finished fifth, and Jake Trout was sixth.

The evening served as a tribute to Schwartz, a legend not only in American speedway, but worldwide as well. Currently competing in his 39th season of speedway, Schwartz has won titles all over the world including two World Best Pairs Championships, the World Team Cup, and two National Championships. In addition to his on-track exploits, he has also helped many racers over the years with help and advice regarding racing as well as guidance on their careers.

Next week's event at IMS will have all divisions of speedway and will also include the sidecars.


Pee Wee Main Event
2 - Revin Easley 40
22 - Talin Easley 40
14 - Sara Cords 40
27 - Luke Whitcomb 20
275 - Jimmy Fishback IV10
326 - Jake Troutt 0
49 - Gavin Kearney0
5 - Josie Shaw 0
76 - Nick Dunn 0

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin 60
214 - Michael Wells 0
28 - Adam Herkner 0

Third Division Main Event
318 - Stephen Simrak 0
202 - J.C. Masters 20
188 - Rick Howard 0
200 - Phill Santolucito 10(fell, remounted)
226 - Rick Huspek 0
406 - Dave Troutt 0(fell)
369 - Andy Schwarm10(non starter)

Second Division Main Event
185 - Kayle LeoGrande 20
182 - Rudy Laurer 30
177 - Steve Bowen 30
145 - Davey Shaw 10
163 - Ron Davis 10
316 - Kip McClain 0
101 - Mike Wiley 20(retired)

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2338
11 – Bobby Schwartz N 112
14 – Eddie Castro 1001
25 – Jimmy Fishback 3227
30 – Tim Gomez 1225
43 – Charlie Venegas 3216
45 – Brad Pappalardo 0101
46 – Aaron Fox 2338
48 – Tyson Talkington 2F13
86 – Neil Facchini 1124
104 – Billy Hamill 3339
208 – Geoff Herkner 0000

Race Results
1: Hamill, Talkington, Facchini, Schwartz (non starter)
2: Venegas, McConnell, Gomez, Pappalardo
3: Fishback, Fox, Castro, Herkner
8: Fox, Gomez, Facchini, Castro
9: McConnell, Fishback, Schwartz, Talkington (fell)
10: Hamill, Venegas (tape penalty), Pappalardo, Herkner
15: Fox, Gomez, Schwartz, Herkner
16: McConnell, Facchini, Venegas, Castro (tape penalty)
Semi #1: Fox, Gomez, McConnell (engine failure), Facchini (fell, remounted)
Semi #2: Hamill, Fishback, Venegas, Talkington

First Division Last Chance
43 - Charlie Venegas
6 - Shawn McConnell
48 - Tyson Talkington
86 - Neil Facchini

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
104 - Billy Hamill
25 - Jimmy Fishback
30 - Tim Gomez
46 - Aaron Fox

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.