American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

2012 IMS Speedway

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

IMS Speedway
June 29, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by Speed Trap Photography

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway

Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas was victorious in all five of his races and took home top honors for the fourth time at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

The main event came to a halt in turn one when "Battling" Buck Blair and Neil Facchini locked together and went down. Facchini was up quickly, but it took Blair several minutes before he was on his feet. All five riders were allowed to restart. The second time the tapes went up the red light came on almost immediately. Two riders were issued a warning for an unsatisfactory start. The third attempt saw Venegas launch into the lead from gate one with Facchini trying to go around the outside of everyone. Venegas control the lead on the back straight while Facchini settled into second after a brilliant first corner. Venegas led after lap one while Facchini was fighting off John Marquez while Blair was trying to make the outside work. Venegas and Facchini secured first and second, respectively, while Marquez had his hands full with Blair and the battled wheel-to-wheel throughout the race. Venegas was first to the checkered flag, Facchini was second, Blair made the outside work just enough to narrowly get third ahead of Marquez. Aaron Fox finished fifth.

The evening began with a thud when Tyson Talkington was injured in the first race and didn't take part in the rest of the evening. Fox won the restart for his first victory. Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell beat Tim Gomez in the second heat. Venegas ended round one by beating Blair.

Round two started with McConnell sliding off while leading and suffering aggravating an ankle injury that didn't prevent him from restarting, but prevented him from racing the rest of the night. Blair won the restart ahead of former Under 21 National Champion Justin Boyle.

Venegas beat Fox for his second straight win. Facchini and Gomez traded the lead before Facchini took the win to end the second round.

Marquez opened the final round by beating Fox. Blair defeated Gomez for his second straight win. Venegas remained perfect with a victory over Facchini in the final heat.

Fox won the first semi with Blair getting second to follow him into the main event. Venegas and Facchini finished one-two in the second semi to transfer to the main event. Marquez won the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main-event field.

Ron Davis led the Second Division Main Event for two laps before Joey St. Louis went by. St. Louis stayed in front while Rudy Laurer worked through traffic to get himself into second. Laurer chased down the leader but came up just short at the finish line as St. Louis was first to the finish line. Kenny Hansen finished third, Mike Fuson was fourth, Ron Davis finished fifth, and Kayle LeoGrande was sixth.

Stephen Simrak started the Third Division Main Event on the 10 yard line but blitzed the riders in front of him and took the lead on the back straight. He pulled away to a comfortable lead and was uncontested on his way to victory. Phill Santolucito finished second, J.C. Masters was third, Rick Howard finished fourth, Steve "Beach Ball" Brown was fifth, and Dave Troutt finished sixth.

Broc Nicol won both of his heats, but got into the tapes on the Youth 250cc Main Event and was penalized. When the tapes finally went up Hayley Perrault put together four smooth laps and held off Dalton Leedy and Nicol for the victory.

Courtney Crone led the Youth 200cc Main Event for a lap before Michael Wells took over. His lead only lasted one lap before Braydan Galvin charged from the back and went past him. Galvin never looked back and raced away with the victory. Wells held on to second, Crone finished third, and Dylan Smith was fourth.

Luke Whitcomb started at the back of the field but made short work of his competitors to take the lead and the victory. Jake Troutt finished second, Sean Tannerberg was third, and Josie Shaw finished fourth.

Six of the regular sidecar competitors were joined by three teams from Australia to form the largest sidecar field of the season. With the exception of one heat, when the passenger fell off while leading, the teams from Down Under dominated the heats and thrilled the crowd by running a wide and very fast line around the IMS oval.

The Australian team of Shane Hudson and Eli Wright led from start to finish but were closely pursued by fellow Aussies Mark Griffiths and Lionel Cornwell who finished second. Dylan Beard and Jimmy Olsen were third with Joe Jones and Johnny Glover coming in fourth.

The next event at IMS is Quaid Harley Davidson Night with all divisions of speedway and will also include the very popular street-legal Harley Davidson races.


Sidecar Main Event
71A - Shane Hudson/Eli Wright
44A - Mark Griffiths/Lionel Cornwell
5150 - Dylan Beard/Jimmy Olsen
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover

Pee Wee Main Event
27 - Luke Whitcomb
326 - Jake Troutt
4 - Sean Tannerberg
5 - Josie Shaw

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin 60
214 - Michael Wells 10
4 - Courtney Crone 0
13 - Dylan Smith 20

Youth 250cc Main Event
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy
98 - Broc Nicol (tape penalty)

Third Division Main Event
318 - Stephen Simrak 10
200 - Phill Santolucito 10
202 - J.C. Masters 20
188 - Rick Howard 0
211 - Steve Brown 10
210 - Dave Troutt 0

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
313 - Joey St. Louis10
182 - Rudy Laurer 30
171 - Kenny Hansen 20
245 - Mike Fuson 20(penalty line)
163 - Ron Davis 0
185 - Kayle LeoGrande 30(fell)

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 41- 5
11 – Bobby Schwartz 0123
14 – Eddie Castro 2013
18 – Justin Boyle 1326
23 – Steve Russell 1124
30 – Tim Gomez 3238
37 – Joe Donaldson 1012
39 – Buck Blair 34411
41 – John Marquez 0347
43 – Charlie Venegas 44412
46 – Aaron Fox 43310
48 – Tyson Talkington Nr- - 0
86 – Neil Facchini 2439
114 – Troy McConnell 2215
321 – Russell Green 3205

Race Results
1: (restarted) Fox, Green, Castro, Donaldson, Talkington (non starter – restarted)
2: S. McConnell, Gomez, Facchini, Boyle, Schwartz
3: Venegas, Blair, T. McConnell, Russell, Marquez
12; (restarted) Blair, Boyle, T. McConnell, S. McConnell (penalty line)
13: Venegas, Fox, Green, Schwartz, Donaldson
14: Facchini, Marquez, Gomez, Russell, Castro
23: Marquez, Fox, Russell, T. McConnell
24: Blair, Gomez, Schwartz, Donaldson
25: Venegas, Facchini, Boyle, Castro (tape penalty), Green
Semi #1: Fox, Blair, Boyle, Marquez
Semi #2: Venegas, Facchini, Gomez, Green

First Division Last Chance
41 - John Marquez
30 - Tim Gomez
18 - Justin Boyle
321 - Russell Green

First Division Main Event (restarted)
43 - Charlie Venegas
86 - Neil Facchini
39 - Buck Blair
41 - John Marquez
46 - Aaron Fox

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.