American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

2012 IMS Speedway
Hayley Perrault can beat the boys at their own game.

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Quaid Harley Davidson Night
July 6, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Old Glory and the POW flag got a good airing-out on Harley Night. Keelan Venegas checks his tools like a pro. Former 1st Division rider Dave Galvin and an IMS Princess. (Cayla Weaver)
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
#326 Jake Troutt started in the middle of the Pee Wees and won the Main. Lightning Luke Whitcomb's engine problems ended his winning streak. Maverick Molloy (right) battles Sebastian P. in 200cc action.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Braydan Galvin pulls away from Palmese to take the 200cc Main Event. Dalton Leedy was flying sideways all night long in a losing effort. 3rd Division Main Event.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
188 Rick Howard takes the checkered. 2nd Division Action: seconds from big trouble in turn two. Joey St. Louis (left) leads Kayle LeoGrande to the checkered.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
1st Division Main Event. Venegas looks like a sure thing at the end of lap one. Blair works the inside line and nips Charlie at the finish line.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Harley Main Event: "Stay away from the crash walls!" YEEEE-HAWWWWW, here's your winner!  

Quaid Harley Davidson Night - San Bernardino, CA, USA - July 6

"Battling" Buck Blair won his first main event in dramatic fashion on Quaid Harley Davidson Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

After struggling with mechanical problems and injuries the past couple weeks, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell top-scored in the heat races to earn first gate choice in the main event. The track's copromoter picked gate one. Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas, seeking his third straight IMS main event victory, was next and chose gate two. Aaron Fox selected gate four which left Blair, who made the main event by winning the Last Chance, with gate three.

Venegas was off the line first when the tapes went up with Blair using the outside in turn one to get himself into second. Blair eschewed the outside and settled in behind the leader in hope of a rare mistake by the 12-time world indoor ice speedway champion. Venegas held a firm grasp on the lead for two laps but went wide exiting turn four as they approached the white flag but Blair wasn't close enough to exploit the error. Venegas clamped down to the inside through turns one and two but Blair was on his back tire on the back straight and into the final corner. Venegas drifted off the inside again and Blair charged up the inside and narrowly snatched the victory at the finish line. McConnell came in third and Fox finished fourth.

Ron Davis led the Second Division Main Event but succumbed to the pressure from Joey St. Louis. As the field entered turn one the third time "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen and J.D. Myerscough touched which sent Myercough into Davis and both riders went down hard. Myerscough suffered an injury to his arm that prevented him from restarting, but Davis came out worse. He lost the tip of his right pinky finger and doctors at the hospital were unable to reattach it. Davis was said to still be in good spirits despite his misfortune.

The devastation of the crash left just three racers for the restart and St. Louis did a masterful job of holding off Kayle LeoGrande and Bowen to win for the second straight week.

Rick Howard led the Third Division Main Event from the start but Jake Hansen immediately pressured him from the outside. Howard was still leading on the fourth lap when Dave Trout went down at the back of the field and brought out the red flag. The victory was awarded to Howard with Hansen getting second, Stephen Simrak finishing third, and Trout getting credited with fourth.

Hayley Perrault won all of her heats and held off Dalton Leedy to win the Youth 250cc Main Event for the second week in a row.

Michael Wells led the Youth 200cc Main Event before Sebastian Palmese caught and passed him as they entered turn three. Braydan Galvin, starting from the 60 yard line, also went around Wells and chased after the leader. Palmese kept him at bay until Galvin went by as they took the white flag. The third-generation racer pulled away on the final lap to take the victory. Palmese had to settle for second and Wells was third.

Jake Trout led all four laps en route to victory in the Pee Wee Main Event. Julia Pierson finished second, Nick Dunn was third, and Keelan Venegas was fourth after suffering a mechanical problem.

Former First Division racer Wayne Leutz earned a very popular victory in the Quaid street-legal Harley Davidson Main Event.

Long-time Inland Empire fan favorite and former National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria is scheduled to make his first appearance of the season at IMS this Friday.


Pee Wee Main Event
326 - Jake Troutt
19 - Julia Pierson
76 - Nick Dunn
43 - Keelan Venegas (engine failure)
27 - Luke Whitcomb (non starter)

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin 60
18 - Sebastian Palmese 20
214 - Michael Wells 10
34 - Maverick Molloy 10

Youth 250cc Main Event
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy

Third Division Main Event (awarded)
188 - Rick Howard 0
123 - Jake Hansen 10
318 - Stephen Simrak 20
210 - Mike Troutt 0 (fell)

Second Division Main Event (restarted)
313 - Joey St. Louis 20
185 - Kayle LeoGrande 30(fell, remounted)
177 - Steve Bowen 30(fell)
155 - J.D. Myerscough 20(non starter - restart)
163 - Ron Davis 0(non starter - restart)

First Division Main Event
39 - Buck Blair
43 - Charlie Venegas
6 - Shawn McConnell
46 - Aaron Fox

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.