American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

2012 IMS Speedway
Howie Photo

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Sidecar Night
August 10, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

Photos from Howie Zechner Facebook Photo Album

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway

"The sun so hot
I froze to death,
Sussannah don't you cry!"

Pee Wee Main Event "Lightning" Luke Whitcomb (right) passes Jonas LeoGrande.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
#326 Jake Troutt wins again!  Braydan Galvin (left) passes Dryden LeoGrande in turn three. Galvin streaks toward the checkered flag.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Support Main Event. #177 "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen battles #155 J.D. Myerscough in the Main Event. Joey St.Louis holds on for the Support Main win.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
1st Division Last Chance. Steve Russell is against the wall. Steve Russell, a ride to the Main Event. Sidecar Main Event
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
In their day jobs, Sidecar riders paint eyelashes on porcelain dolls?
       Probably not.
Sidecar #5150 Dylan and Crystal Beard nail the Main Event win. 1st Division Scratch Main Event
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Shawn McConnell (right) tries in vain to catch "Fast" Eddie Castro. Castro celebrates the Scratch Main victory. Steve Russell wins the Handicap Main Event from the 20-yard line.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway - San Bernardino, CA, USA - August 10

"Fast" Eddie Castro and Steve Russell both went home with main-event victories from Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell made the best start in the Scratch Main Event but Castro, who had started in gate five, went to the outside through the first corner and mustered enough momentum to pull alongside McConnell on the back straight. The two combatants were wheel-to-wheel through turns three and four but Castro's outside line provided more traction and he led at the end of the first lap. The diminutive leader stuck with the wide line while McConnell remained on the inside. Castro opened up a comfortable lead that McConnell couldn't shrink. Castro was first to the checkered flag, McConnell held on to second, Aaron Fox was third, Steve Russell finished fourth, and Austin Novratil was fifth.

Geoff Herkner led the Handicap Main Event field into turn one but had Russell right behind him. Russell went to the outside and went by Herkner for the lead as they entered turn three. Novratil was hoping to make the same move but Herkner drifted wide and took away his momentum. Russell had a comfortable lead at the end of lap one but Aaron Fox steadily made up ground on him. Fox remained within striking distance throughout the race but Russell never faltered and held on for the victory. Fox had to settle for second, McConnell finished third, Castro was fourth, Herkner finished fifth, and Novratil was sixth.

Joey St. Louis put together four smooth laps and won the Support Main Event. Steve Bowen finished second, J.D. Myerscough was third, Stephen Simrak finished fourth, Ron Davis was fifth, and Jake Hansen finished sixth.

Braydan Galvin continued his dominance with another victory in the Youth 200cc Main Event. Sebastian Palmese finished second and Dryden LeoGrande was third.

Jake Troutt was victorious in the Pee Wee Main Event after a crash brought a premature end to the race. Jonas LeoGrande was second, Nick Dunn was third, Patrick Barbetta finished fourth, Gavin Kearney was fifth, and Luke Whitcomb was sixth.

Husband and wife tandem Dylan Beard and Crystal Beard took home the hardware from the Sidecar Main Event. Chris Jones and Johnny Glover finished second, Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith were third, and Kevin Brown and Nick Hertrick finished fourth.


Sidecar Main Event
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Beard
1 - Chris Jones/Johnny Glover
007 - Dual Anderson/Ethan Smith
16 - Kevin Brown/Nick Hertrick

Pee Wee Main Event (awarded)
326 - Jake Troutt 0
185 - Jonas LeoGrande 0
76 - Nick Dunn 0
7 - Patrick Barbetta 0
49 - Gavin Kearney0
27 - Luke Whitcomb 30(fell)

Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin 70
18 - Sebastian Palmese 20
185 - Dryden LeoGrande 10

Support Main Event
313 - Joey St. Louis 0
177 - Steve Bowen 20
155 - J.D. Myerscough 0
318 - Stephen Simrak 0
163 - Ron Davis 0
123 - Jake Hansen 20

Handicap Main Event
23 - Steve Russell 20
46 - Aaron Fox 30
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
14 - Eddie Castro 40
208 - Geoff Herkner 10
27 - Austin Novratil 30(retired)

Scratch Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro
6 - Shawn McConnell
46 - Aaron Fox
23 - Steve Russell
27 - Austin Novratil

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.