American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Sidecar Night
August 24, 2012 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway - San Bernardino
By: Ryan Evans

Photos from Howie Zechner Facebook Photo Album

Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell and "Fast" Eddie Castro, long-time fixtures on the Southern California speedway scene, both collected main-event victories at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Shawn McConnell made the best start in the Scratch Main Event and led the field throughout the first lap. Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback, racing for the first time since suffering an injury in June, charged into second and set his sights on the leader. Fishback kept the heat on Shawn McConnell the rest of the way but couldn't force his way by. Shawn McConnell was first to the checkered flag, Fishback had to settle for second, Aaron Fox was third, Castro finished fourth, and "Battling" Buck Blair was fifth.

Troy McConnell started at the front of the Handicap Main Event and led the field through lap one. Castro overhauled the leader as they exited turn two the second time. Before he could establish pull away, though, Castro was under pressure from Shawn McConnell who was seeking a double main event evening. Castro wasn't interested in helping to fulfill Shawn McConnell's hopes, though, and he kept him at bay over the remaining laps for the victory. Fishback finished third, Fox was fourth, Troy McConnell finished fifth, and Blair was sixth.

Steve "Beach Ball" Brown was the initial leader of the Support Main Event but his lead would be short-lived as Ed Lynch took over as they entered turn three. Lynch never looked back from there and raced away with the win. Mike Fuson finished second, Tim McGrath was third, Ron Davis finished fourth, Brown was fifth, and Kevin Fife finished sixth.

Courtney Crone and Michael Wells battled at the front of the Youth 200cc Main Event but had Braydan Galvin charging hard from the back. The victory would be just a two-rider battle after Galvin went down behind them. Crone showed her mettle by fending off every challenge Wells could muster for five laps and collected a very popular victory.

Jonas LeoGrande held off a very persistent Jake Troutt to win the Pee Wee Main Event with Gavin Kearney finishing in third.

Dylan Beard and Wally Stratton led the Sidecar Main Event into turn one but Joe Jones and Johnny Glover charged up the inside as they exited turn two and took the lead. Beard and Stratton tried to counter as they entered turn three but Jones and Glover were equal to the task. Beard and Stratton succumbed to the pressure of Jeff Medberry and Josh Bennett and relinquished second to them. Jones and Glover cruised to the victory, Medberry and Bennett held on to second, Beard and Stratton were third, and Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith finished fourth.

IMS will not be hosting racing on Friday, August 31 due to the Labor Day holiday weekend. Racing returns on Friday, August 7 and will include all divisions of speedway.


Last of the Mohicans Last Team Out
007 - Dual Anderson/Ethan Smith
1965 - Jeff Rowe/Johnny Bach
44 - Jeff Medberry/Josh Bennett
5150 - Dylan Beard/Wally Stratton

Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
44 - Jeff Medberry/Josh Bennett
5150 - Dylan Beard/Wally Stratton
007 - Dual Anderson/Ethan Smith

Pee Wee Main Event
185 - Jonas LeoGrande
326 - Jake Troutt
49 - Gavin Kearney

Youth 200cc Main Event
4 - Courtney Crone 0
214 - Michael Wells 0
45 - Braydan Galvin 70 (fell, remounted)
185 - Dryden LeoGrande 0 (non starter)

Support Main Event
354 - Ed Lynch 10
245 - Mike Fuson 30
186 - Tim McGrath 10
163 - Ron Davis 20
211 - Steve Brown 0
311 - Kevin Fife 10

Handicap Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro 30
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
25 - Jimmy Fishback 40
46 - Aaron Fox 30
114 - Troy McConnell 10 (fell, remounted)
39 - Buck Blair 40 (retired)

First Division Main Event
6 - Shawn McConnell
25 - Jimmy Fishback
46 - Aaron Fox
14 - Eddie Castro
39 - Buck Blair

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.