American Speedway  

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

June 15 YouTube Video
Mark Williams
Xtreme Speedway Action

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

2013 Speedway
June 15, 2013 - Costa Mesa
Results By: Ryan Evans

Costa Mesa Speedway, CA, USA - June 15

Billy "The Bullet" Hamill didn't let his last absence from last week's United States National Championship Qualifier stop him from continuing his run of perfection as he turned in another unbeaten performance at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Hamill and Josh Larsen both entered the main event undefeated and had to draw for the first choice. Hamill won the draw and chose gate one and Larsen quickly picked gate two. Aaron Fox selected gate give with the third choice, former Under 21 National Champion Austin Novratil picked gate four which left "Battling" Buck Blair with gate three.

Hamill launched from the starting line and had a clear advantage through the first turn while Larsen emerged on the back straight in front of the other contenders. Larsen wanted to chase down the leader but had Novratil all over his rear tire trying to get by. The former World Champion stretched his lead with each lap and won handily. Larsen held on to second, Novratil was third, Fox finished fourth, and Blair was fifth.

Fox kicked off the heats with a win over Blair. Hamill defeated Under 21 National Champion Gino Manzares in the next heat. Former Junior National Champion Jason Ramirez was victorious over Novratil. Tyson Talkington led for a lap before Larsen used the outside cushion to take the lead and his first win. Former World Pairs Champion Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz finished round one with a win.

Blair opened round two with a victory ahead of Talkington. Fox held off Manzares for his second win. Hamill defeated Max Ruml for his second win in a row. Larsen made it two straight victories with a defeat of Novratil. Schwartz and Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell had a great side-by-side battle for the lead before Schwartz's outside line proved better and gave him his second win.

McConnell began the final round of heats with a win over Max Ruml. Fox remained perfect by holding off Ramirez. Hamill defeated Manzares for his third straight win. Larsen matched the perfect scores of Fox and Hamill by winning the penultimate heat. Novratil found plenty of traction on the outside to make a great pass around Blair to take the lead and the win in the final heat.

Larsen led the first attempt to run the first semi but Manzares dismounted in spectacular style in turn four and brought out the red flag. Manzares limped off the track after being down for several minutes and did not participate in the restart. Larsen won the restart with Fox getting second to join him in the main. Hamill blazed to victory in the second semi and Novratil followed him into the main event.

Talkington got the jump on the field in the Last Chance but the track still had plenty of traction on the outside and Blair used it to go around him for the lead and the win. McConnell made a last-second inside move to steal second from Talkington at the finish line and Ramirez finished fourth.

Randy Skinner won both of his heats and his semi and completed his perfect evening by winning the Support Main Event. Rohn Zellner finished second, Carl Gazafy was third, and Geoff Herkner finished fourth.

Chris Wiggins led from start to finish and collected the win in the Support B Main Event. Dave Troutt finished second, Tom Bryant was third, and Mike Boyle finished fourth.

Dillon Ruml led all four laps en route to victory in the Junior 250 Main Event. Junior National Champion Broc Nicol finished second, Luke Becker won all three of the heats but came home third in the main, Hayley Perrault was fourth, and River McDougall finished fifth.

Two restarts were required to complete the Mini 150 First Division Main Event and it was Sebastian Palmese who emerged victorious on the third attempt. Michael Wells finished second, Courtney Crone was third, and Maverick Molloy finished fourth.

A big pileup in turn four that collected all five riders in Mini 150 Second Division Main Event had everyone concerned but the only rider who was unable to restart was Jake Isaac and he was able to walk off the track without assistance. Slater Lightcap led the restart but had Sterling Martin of Northern California in hot pursuit. Martin went to the outside on the second lap and got next to Lightcap but couldn't find enough speed the next two laps to get by. Sterling Martin remained wide the final time through turns one and two and mustered the speed to get past Lightcap on the back straight. He pulled it down entering turn three but his momentum opened up the inside to Lightcap as they exited the final turn. The two drag raced to the finish line and it was Sterling Martin getting to the finish line first. Lightcap had to settle for second, Tristan Britt was third, and Alex Martin finished fourth.

The next event at Costa Mesa Speedway will be this Saturday, June 22 and will include the Freestyle Motocross Jumpers.


Mini 150cc Second Division Main Event (restarted)
31n - Sterling Martin
28 - Slater Lightcap
11 - Tristan Britt
30n - Alex Martin
16 - Jake Isaac (non starter - restart)

Mini 150cc First Division Main Event (restarted twice)
18 - Sebastian Palmese
214 - Michael Wells (penalty line)
4 - Courtney Crone (penalty line)
34 - Maverick Molloy

Junior 250cc Main Event
111 - Dillon Ruml
1 - Broc Nicol
12n - Luke Becker
0 - Hayley Perrault
5 - River McDougall (fell)

Support B Main Event
239 - Chris Wiggins
210 - Dave Troutt
220 - Tom Bryant
198 - Mike Boyle

Support Main Event
383 - Randy Skinner
118 - Rohn Zellner
176 - Carl Gazafy
208 - Geoff Herkner (fell)

First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T
2 – Josh Larsen 3 3 3 9
6 – Shawn McConnell E 2 3 5
7 – Michael Raines E - - 0
11 – Bobby Schwartz 3 3 1 7
21 – Brad Sauer 0 1 0 1
24 – Gino Manzares 2 2 2 6
27 – Austin Novratil 2 2 3 7
37 – Joe Donaldson 1 0 1 2
38 – Ryan Tovatt 0 1 2 3
39 – Buck Blair 2 3 2 7
46 – Aaron Fox 3 3 3 9
48 – Tyson Talkington 2 2 1 5
66 – Jason Ramirez 3 0 2 5
178 – Eloy Medellin 1 0 1 2
182 – Rudy Laurer 2 1 0 3
185 – Kayle LeoGrande 1 F F 1
290 – Harold Hartke 1 1 0 2
308 – Max Ruml E 2 2 4
321 – Russell Green 1 1 1 3

Race Results
2: (restarted) Fox, Blair (penalty line), Medellin, Ruml (engine failure)
3: Hamill, Manzares, Green, Sauer (fell, remounted)
4: Ramirez, Novratil, LeoGrande, Tovatt
5: Larsen, Talkington, Donaldson, McConnell (engine failure)
6: Schwartz, Laurer, Hartke, Raines (engine failure)
13: Blair, Talkington, Tovatt
14: Fox, Manzares, Laurer, Donaldson
15: Hamill, Ruml, Hartke, LeoGrande (fell)
17: Larsen, Novratil, Green (tape penalty), Medellin
18: Schwartz, McConnell, Sauer, Ramirez (fell, remounted)
22: McConnell, Ruml, Green, Laurer
23: Fox, Ramirez, Medellin
24: Hamill, Manzares, Talkington, Sauer
26: Larsen, Tovatt, Donaldson, LeoGrande (fell)
27: Novratil, Blair, Schwartz, Hartke
Semi #1: (restarted) Larsen, Fox, Ramirez, Blair, Manzares (non starter – restart)
Semi #2: Hamill, Novratil, Talkington, McConnell, Schwartz

First Division Last Chance
39 - Buck Blair
6 - Shawn McConnell
48 - Tyson Talkington
66 - Jason Ramirez

First Division Main Event
104 - Billy Hamill
2 - Josh Larsen
27 - Austin Novratil
46 - Aaron Fox
39 - Buck Blair

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.