American Speedway  

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Michael Phipps - MSD Photos

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

John Matherson Cup
August 24, 2013 - Costa Mesa
Results By: Ryan Evans Photos by Paul Flanders

2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
The Hamill's made a haul with Billy Hamill winning the First Division main and Kurtis Hamill winning the 250 cc Junior main. Kelly Inman with Support Division main winner Randy Skinner. Dave Troutt won the Support B main.
2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Johnny Glover and Joe Jones took home the Matherson Cup for sidecars, presented by Robin Matherson. Davey Shaw gets welcomed back from a tour overseas with the military. Pam Bennett and her daughter Cayla greet Bill Cody.
2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway 2013 Costa Mesa Speedway
Joe Jones helps the Matherson family greet the sidecar racers. Aaron Fox and Tyson Burmeister before the main. Pee Wee's start off in an early heat race.

John Matherson Cup - Costa Mesa, CA, USA - August 24

Billy "The Bullet" Hamill turned in another unbeaten performance and took home the Mission Motorsports John Matherson Main Event at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Billy Hamill led the main event from the pole and into turn one. Aaron Fox, who started next to Billy Hamill in gate two, was right behind him. Billy Hamill led through lap one with Fox hoping for a mistake that he could capitalize on. The former world champion wouldn't oblige as he didn't turn a wheel wrong the entire four laps and was first to the checkered flag. Fox finished second, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell was third, "Flyin" Mike Faria was fourth, and Tyson Burmeister finished fifth.

Billy Hamill kicked off the heats with a win over Burmeister. Fox defeated McConnell in the second heat. Faria beat Max Ruml in event three. Gino Manzares beat "Battling" Buck Blair to end round one.

Billy Hamill started round two by beating Tyson Talkington for his second straight win. Burmeister beat Manzares for his first win. Faria held off McConnell for his second win in a row. Max Ruml, who won the Under 21 National Championship the previous night, finished the second round by beating Fox.

Billy Hamill began the third round by defeating Max Ruml to remain perfect. Fox beat Brad Sauer for his second win. Burmeister won ahead of Talkington for his second consecutive win. McConnell finished the heats with a win over Manzares.

Fox was victorious in the first semi with Burmeister getting second to join him in the main. Billy Hamill remained undefeated by winning the second semi and McConnell finished second to transfer to the main as well. Faria trapped from the outside and won the Last Chance to complete the field for the main.

Randy Skinner led all four laps and captured the Support Main Event victory. Kyle Hicks finished second, Kayle LeoGrande was third, Bruce Marteney finished fourth, and Eloy Medellin was fifth.

Dave Troutt won the Support B Main Event with Wade Whitcomb getting second, Dan Wensloff finishing in third, and Robert Fiesler getting credited with fourth.

Kurtis Hamill joined his father on the podium with a victory in the Junior 250 Main Event. Dillon Ruml finished second, Hayley Perrault was third, and Broc Nicol finished fourth.

Sebastian Palmese led all four laps en route to victory in the Mini 150 First Division Main Event. Courtney Crone was second, Maverick Molloy finished third, and Gino Scopellite was fourth.

Slater Lightcap was victorious in the Mini 150 Second Division Main Event. Tristan Britt was second, Jake Isaac finished third, and Travis Hamilton was fourth.

The sidecars lined up for one of their most prestigious main events of the season, the John Matherson Cup. Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith, undefeated on the evening, got away first and were leading on the third lap when a crash behind them brought out the red flag. National Champions Joe Jones and Johnny Glover typically take advantage of second chances and they followed that pattern by making the start and racing away with the victory. A disappointed Anderson and Smith finished second, Casey Driggers and Riley Driggers came home third, and Chris Jones and Zolti Csanyi were credited with fourth.


Sidecar Main Event (restarted)
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
2 - Bryan Motis/Josh Bennett
13 - Casey Driggers/Riley Driggers
1019 -Chris Jones/Zolti Csanyi

Support Main Event
101 - Mike Wiley
103 - Kyle Hicks
290 - Harold Hartke
118 - Rohn Zellner
178 - Eloy Medellin

First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T
6 – Shawn McConnell 3 3 4 10
9 – Mike Faria 4 4 2 10
18 – Justin Boyle 2 1 2 5
21 – Brad Sauer 2 2 3 7
24 – Gino Manzares 4 3 3 10
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3 4 4 11
34 – Archie Perez 1 1 1 3
37 – Joe Donaldson 1 2 1 4
38 – Ryan Tovatt 1 1 1 3
39 – Buck Blair 3 2 2 7
45e – Andy Crawford 0 1 F 1
46 – Aaron Fox 4 3 4 11
48 – Tyson Talkington 2 3 3 8
104 – Billy Hamill 4 4 4 12
290 – Harold Hartke 1 0 1 2
308 – Max Ruml 3 4 3 10
321 – Russell Green 2 2 2 6

Race Results
1: Hamill, Burmeister, Green, Tovatt, Crawford
2: Fox, McConnell, Boyle, Perez
3: Faria, Ruml, Talkington, Donaldson
4: Manzares, Blair, Sauer, Hartke
9: Hamill, Talkington, Blair, Boyle, Hartke
10: Burmeister, Manzares, Green, Tovatt
11: Faria, McConnell, Sauer, Perez
12: Ruml, Fox, Donaldson, Crawford
15: Hamill, Ruml, Green, Donaldson
16: Fox, Sauer, Blair, Hartke
17: (restart) Burmeister, Talkington, Faria (penalty line), Tovatt, Crawford (fell)
18: McConnell, Manzares, Boyle, Perez (fell, remounted)
Semi #1: Fox, Burmeister, Ruml, Blair, Manzares
Semi #2: Hamill, McConnell, Sauer, Faria, Talkington (fell)

First Division Last Chance
46 - Aaron Fox
23 - Steve Russell
39 - Buck Blair
11 - Bobby Schwartz

Scratch Main Event (restarted)
104 - Billy Hamill
46 - Aaron Fox
6 - Shawn McConnell 9 - Mike Faria
26 - Tyson Burmeister

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.