American Speedway  

2015 Fast Fridays Speedway
Race Results

Fast Fridays Speedway

All Speedway Race Results

2015 California Results

Fast Fridays Speedway
Gold Country Fairgrounds
Auburn, California

Challenge Series Round 5
Fast Friday's Motorcycle Speedway, Gold Country Fairgrounds
Janniro and Nicol Win Main Events
By Michael Kirby (Story & Photos)

YouTube Video - by Anthony Bernardi

Billy Janniro once again proved his prowess on a speedway bike with another impressive Division I scratch main event win at the Fast Fridays Motorcycle Speedway in Auburn at the Gold Country Fairgrounds. His win Friday night makes his magic number seven. Seven scratch main event wins for the season at Fast Fridays so far this season, more than any other rider. On two nights during the season Janniro won both the scratch main event and the handicap main event. In the final event Friday night Janniro drew lane four and faced Charlie Venegas, Tommy Hedden and Broc Nicol. After two restarts, one in which Nicol was excluded for an early start; Janniro had a real go with Venegas. In lap three Janniro took advantage of an opening to come inside with a daring move on the leading Venegas to take the lead, which he held for the checkered flag. Venegas was a close second, and Hedden took third.

In the handicap main event it was a little different story. Seventeen-year old Broc Nicol is riding with the maturity of a much older rider and was able to stay ahead of Janniro to take the win. Though Nicol rides off the 40 yard line and Janniro starts on the 60 yard line, Nicol seemed to have eyes in the back of his head to keep Janniro from passing him. It was not that Janniro didn’t try everything in his bag of tricks to get around the teenager; he was just out caged by Nicol in this race. Nicol took the checkered flag, Janniro was second and Tyler Warren was third. Next week Nicol will move closer to Janniro as he adds 10 yards to his handicap with the win and will start on the 50 yard line.

Tyler Warren showed flashes of brilliance in the fifth round of the Challenge Elimination Series, grabbing the final spot in the Challenge Elimination Series championship which will be staged at Fast Fridays September 28. Warren pulled off three straight one lap scratch race wins and a two round final race against Ryan Bast to earn the final berth. “The track was phenomenal tonight, that helped a lot, there was two lines and if you drifted out there was still dirt out there to keep you going,” Warren said. “I was doing everything I normally do it just came together tonight, and riding in the North vs. South race last week helped riding against all those fast riders,” he said. Warren joins other round winner Billy Janniro, Tommy Hedden, Charlie Venegas and Bryce Starks in the Challenge Elimination Series championship final.

Auburn’s Louie Mersaroli, stroked another Division II main event win. Mersaroli was perfect with a win in his heat race to advance to the main event. Mersaroli started off the 40 yard line, worked through traffic to overtake Charles Haines and keep ahead of Michael Achilles to seal the deal. Achilles was second and Haines was third in a great main event race. The Division III main event was won by John Peters, his first of the season. A consistent top three finisher in Division III, Peters survived a main event that included several spectacular rider mishaps and two restarts to prevail for the win. Harlan Bast pulled off a great move to around a fallen rider to take second, and Peter Pecorilla was third.

The Youth riders were competitive as ever in all divisions. Colton Hicks again won the Youth A 250cc main event, making up yards of extra track for the win. Hicks starts half way around the track and still somehow finds a way to find the finish line first. Chase Guerrero was second and Kyle Cunningham was third. Grass Valley’s Anthony Dion celebrated his birthday in grand style with a win in the Youth B 250cc main event. The new thirteen year old took Sammy Tetrault and Rich Vandermeeden in the main event. Crowd favorite Enzo Sorani won the Youth A 150cc main event and Glen Moore won the Youth B 150cc main event. Garrett Willis won the Run What U Brung main event.

Results for July 31, 2015

Division I Scratch Main Event
1-Billy Janniro, 2-Charlie Venegas, 3-Tommy Hedden, 4-Broc Nicol (excluded)

Division I Handicap Main Event
1-Broc Nicol, 2-Billy Janniro, 3-Tyler Warren

Division II Main Event
1-Louie Mersaroli, 2-Michael Achilles, 3-Charles Haines

Division III Main Event
1-John Peters, 2-Harlan Bast, 3-Peter Pecorilla

Youth A 250cc Main Event
1-Colton Hicks, 2-Chase Guerrero, 3-Kyle Cunningham

Youth B 250cc Main Event
1-Anthony Dion, 2-Sammy Tetrault, 3-Richie VanderMeeden

Youth A 150cc Main Event
1- Enzo Sorani, 2-Cameron Krezman, 3-Alex Martin

Youth B 150cc Main Event
1- Gregory Moore, 2-Timmy Dion, 3-Colton Nelson

Trophy Dash
1-Nick Dion

Run What U Brung
1-Garrett Willis

Photos By Michael Kirby

2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Billy Janniro picked up his seventh Division I scratch main event win of the Fast Friday’s season.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Birthday boy Anthony Dion celebrated his thirteenth birthday in grand style with a win in the Youth B 250cc main event. Dion accepted his trophy and kisses on the cheek from the Fast Fridays trophy girls on the winner’s podium.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Auburn’s Colton Hicks continues to win in the Youth A 250cc division. Hicks picked up another main event win Friday night.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Broc Nicol (right) and Bob Hicks (left) race in an early heat race. Nicol went on to win the Division I handicap main event.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Elimination Challenge Series riders (left-right) Bob Hicks, Tyler Warren and Thomas Reich race in one of the one lap races in round five. Warren won the round and will be in the Challenge Elimination Series championship.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway John Peters (front) survived a wild Division III main event to win his first main event of the season. Pictured here Peters lines up in one of two restarts.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway Auburn’s Louie Mersaroli won the Division II main event.
2015 Fast Fridays Speedway The start of the Division I scratch main event. Riders (left-right) Billy Janniro, Broc Nicol, Charlie Venegas and Tommy Hedden line up for the start. Janniro won the main event and Nicol was disqualified for an early start.
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.