American Speedway  

2018 California Results Page

2017 California Results Page

2016 California Results Page


Perris Raceway

1205 Burton Road
Perris, California

Team Racing Round 2
Perris Raceway February 3, 2018
By: Steve Evans dreamteamspeedway@sbcglobal.net
Photos: Clark Oden

Results from Perris and are Continued Below...

  Clark Oden Photos  
2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway
Wilbur Hancock with flag Sebastian Palmese Pee Wee
2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway
Pee Wee Rick Shafer (L) Pat Litt and (R) Kurtis Hamill
2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway
(L) Lawrence McNutt and Mike Lane Max Ruml Luke Becker
2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway
Dillon Ruml Dillon Ruml (L) Colton Hicks and (R) Russell Green
2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway 2018 Perris Speedway
(L) Russell Green and (R) Colton Hicks (L) William McCloskey and (R) Chet Kohler Brad Moreau and Mike Miller
2018 Perris Speedway   2018 Perris Speedway
Luke Becker   Brad Moreau

Becker Sends A Message To British Speedway Bosses
Aces and Eagles Triumph!

Luke Becker ended a week of heartbreak by sending a clear message that the British Speedway Management Committee got it wrong with a sensational 14+1 paid maximum at Perris Speedway on February 3rd. Simply put, in a very deep line up Becker was simply in a different zone on a night that saw the Aces and the Eagles secure victories that will set both teams up for a March title decider.

Match 1: Vikings 33 – Eagles 38
The Perris Eagles continued their dream season by defeating the Ventura Vikings to remain unbeaten after two matches. They started with a Janniro victory in heat 1 and built up to a 6 point leader with a Chet Kohler / Rick Shafer 5-1 in heat 2. Kurtis Hamill led a 4-2 for the Vikings with a comfortable win in heat 3 and after a tied heat 4 the Vikings leveled it up with a 5-1 from Aaron Fox and Dillon Ruml in heat 5. Robbie Sauer and Kohler however hit back with an Eagles maximum in heat 6. The Eagles steadily built a 5 point lead through heat 11 from this point. The Vikings had one last rally in heat 12 where William McCloskey gated and team mate Dillon Ruml slowed down the action to help keep Redmond Bohannon and Michael Wells at the back. The final four heats however saw the Eagles ease back ahead with a deserved 5 point win. Janniro led the way for the Eagles with 13 but it was the 6 and 7 riders of Kohler and Shafer with 6+2 points each that provided exceptional back up. The top power of Dillon Ruml, Kurtis Hamill and Aaron Fox topped for the Vikings but it was not enough to reel in the deep Eagles

Vikings 33: Dillon Ruml 12 (6), Kurtis Hamill 9 (4) Aaron Fox 7+3 (6), William McCloskey 4+1 (4), Harold Hartke 1 (3), Mike Miller 1 (3). R/R for Doug Nicol
Eagles 38: Billy Janniro 13 (5), Chet Kohler 6+2 (3), Rick Shafer 6+2 (3), Robbie Sauer 5 (3), Michael Wells 4 (4), Redmond Bohannon 2 (4), Pat Litt 2 (4)

Match 2: Aces 48 – Heathens 37
The Aces used their top end power to overcome the Heathens and secure a comfortable victory. Nine heat winner and only three last places was quite an impressive stat as they roared into contention to defend their title. The early part of proceedings however were quite close. After the Aces edged an early two point lead, a heat 3 5-1 for the Heathens after Aces leader Rudy Laurer fell on the last turn put the Heathens two up. The power twosome of Luke Becker and Tyson Burmeister hit back with a heat 6 5-1, but Matt King and Rohn Zellner did the same in heat 8 to once more put the Heathens ahead. A second half collapse however saw the Aces out score their rivals 25 – 13 to win by 11 clear points overall. Becker was sublime with a perfect 14+1 but team mate Burmeister supported well with three wins and 12 points. Colton Hicks scored a super impressive 8 including two wins with Mike Lane at reserve chipping in 6+1. The Heathens lacked consistency, even #1 rider Max Ruml had an up and down night by his usual high standards. Jeremy Estes was unbeaten in three rides but it was a tough night at the office for Phil Harmatiuk's team who now go to the bronze race against the Vikings.

Aces 48: Luke Becker 14+1 (5), Tyson Burmeister 12 (5), Colton Hicks 8+1 (4), Mike Lane 6+1 (3), Hayley Perrault 4 (3), Rudy Laurer 3 (3), Joey Donaldson 1+1 (3)
Heathens 37: Jeremy Estes 9 (3), Max Ruml 7 (5), Matt King 5+1 (3), Rohn Zellner 5+1 (3), Russell Green 5 (5), Chance Grove 5 (4), Lawrence McNutt 1+1 (3)

The top scorer from positions 1 and 5 on each team rode in the final team race, also dubbed the Main event. Becker got a fast gate from gate 1 and was gone and away, winning by a distance. Meantime there was furious early action with the rest with a very close first lap. Janniro made a poor start but worked his way past both Ruml's and around the outside for second. Max beat Dillon for third in a battle of the brothers.

Other Divisions:
The supporting cast of divisions served up some exceptional racing. Brad Moreau went unbeaten in the Support Class winning two heats and the Main. Mike Miller took two heat wins with Ron Davis winning the LCQ. Sebastian Palmese was undefeated in the 250 Junior Class, included a win in his second heat from a Handicap start. Wilbur Hancock produced his best performance of the season so far, winning both of his heats and the 150cc Main Event. Travis Horn and Justin Almon were also heat winners. Ryder Schultz and Dakota Black won a Pee Wee Heat each with Schultz taking the Main event. The Hooligans came back for the second event in a row, once more running Handicap style racing. Joey Robinson won the Main from Dominic Parrillo and Robert Bush.

Once again a huge crowd was on hand and with newcomers in the stands as the tracks extensive local promotion and advertising paid off. There is a break in the action until March 24th when the Team Racing finals are staged. The Eagles will race the Aces for the title whilst the Vikings and Heathens will compete for the bronze medal and wooden spoon.

Division 1 Main
22 Luke Becker
1 Billy Janniro
5 Max Ruml
3 Dillon Ruml

153 Brad Moreau
323 Mike Miller
275 Lawrence McNutt
163 Ron Davis
211 Steve Brown

163 Ron Davis
303 Dennis Osmer
103 Brent Smith
109 Don Nemarnik
292 Justin Schultz – tape penalty
3c David Pieper non starter

250 Junior
1 Sebastian Palmese
16 Jake Isaac
2 Slater Lightcap (very fast for his first 250 race)

150 Mini
117 Wilbur Hancock
25 Travis Horn
7 Justin Almon
04 Owen Williams
48 Jose Navarrete (20)
16 Cole Ayers
148 Bill Hancock (20)

Pee Wee
05 Ryder Schultz
503 Dakota Black
92 Max Rose
33 Shane Smith
714 Dayton Anderson

League Table
Eagles (2 wins)
Aces (1 win 1 tie)
Vikings (1 tie one loss)
Heathens (2 losses)