American Speedway  

2008 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

40th Season Opener
May 17, 2008 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Tim Gomez scored the biggest win of his career by capturing the Scratch Main Event in front of a large crowed as the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway officially opened its 40th season.

Former National Champions “Flyin” Mike Faria and Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz were lined up in gates one and two, respectively. Most speedway pundits would have bet that one of those two were going to win or perhaps Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell or “Battlin” Buck Blair who were lined up in gates four and five, respectively. All four riders have won scratch mains, while Gomez, lined up in the middle, was in a Scratch Main at Costa Mesa for the very first time.

When the tapes went up Gomez leaped off the line and clamped down to the inside line in turn one. Faria found a lot of grip in turn two and tried to charge up the inside of the nineteen year old on the back straight. Gomez held his ground and pulled back to the inside to secure the lead through lap one. Faria showed the leader his front wheel in both corners on lap two, but Gomez showed enough poise to maintain the lead. Faria made a hard challenge entering turn one the third time, but Gomez didn’t budge and Faria parked just enough to let Gomez extend his lead. Gomez was smooth throughout the final lap and was first to the checkered flag amidst a large ovation from the fans and congratulatory reception from fellow riders and their crews. Faria settled for second, Schwartz finished third, McConnell was fourth, and Blair finished fifth.

Gomez began the evening with a victory over McConnell. Jimmy Fishback won the second heat over Russell Green. Blair held off Schwartz to win the third heat. Faria ended round one with a win ahead of J.T. Mabry.

Round two started with McConnell beating John Marquez. Neil Facchini won the next race. Schwartz was awarded his first victory after Fishback’s bike caught fire and brought a premature end to race 11. Blair closed the second round by holding off Faria for his second win.

Gomez beat McConnell for his second win to start the final round of heats. Blair had his third win in the bag but suffered an engine failure which handed the win to Mike “Spiderman” Bloom. Schwartz defeated Dale Facchini for his second win. Faria brought the heats to a close with a win over Neil Facchini.

A five-rider runoff was required to fill the final three spots in the semis. Dale Facchini, Marquez, and Green made it through while Doug Greyson and Mabry were through for the evening.

Schwartz got the best start and led a hard-charging Gomez to the checkered flag and into the main. Faria won the second semi with McConnell following him into the main. Blair, borrowing a bike from Greg Ayers, won the Last Chance to fill the final spot in the main.

John Stunkard led all four laps to claim victory in the Support Main Event. Donnie Robinson was second, Billy Braden finished third, Jim Painter was fourth, and Allen Doss finished fifth.

Brad Moreau was victorious in the Support B Main Event. Scott York finished second, Jeff Remington was third, and Matt Davis finished fourth.

One of the highlights of the Support B action occurred in a Consolation when 76 year old Hugh Randolph went to the outside to pass a competitor and excited the crowd.

The grand marshal of the Season Opener was Chris Slade, former drummer of the rock group AC/DC. Slade was in the announcer’s lounge signing autographs and posing for pictures throughout the evening. He gave the “start your engines” command to kick off the evening and came out onto the track to greet the Scratch Main Event competitors.

There will not be racing at Costa Mesa this Saturday because of the Memorial Day holiday. Racing returns to the Orange County Fairgrounds on Saturday, May 31 for the Orange County Harley Davidson Blow Out.


Support B Consolation
312 – Charlie Ousley
399 – Jeff Shaffer
308 – Hugh Randolph 
303 – Bill Carr
226 – Rick Huspek 

Support B Consolation 
288 – Rick Fritch 
266 – Jonni Jade
124 – Paul Thornton
292 – Mike Schultz		(fell) 

Support B Last Chance
301 – Matt Davis
102 – Jim Lavender 
169 – Dan Wensloff 
198 – Mike Boyle 

Support B Main Event 
153 – Brad Moreau
155 – Scott York 
252 – Jeff Remington 
301 – Matt Davis
213 – Mark Sincavage (non starter) 

Support Last Chance 
117 – Billy Braden 
178 – Eloy Medellin 
212 – Steve Dziadus
 77 - Bryan Buffington (fell, remounted) 

Support Main Event 
249 – John Stunkard 
388 – Donnie Robinson 
117 – Billy Braden 
172 – Jim Painter 
232 – Allen Doss (fell, remounted) 

First Division Scoring	1	2	3	T 
6 – Shawn McConnell 3	4	3	10
  9 – Mike Faria 4	3	4	11
 11 – Bobby Schwartz 3	4	4	11
 19 – Dale Facchini 2	1	3	6
 22 – Mike Bloom 2	2	4	8
 25 – Jimmy Fishback 4	1	N	5
 30 – Tim Gomez 4	3	4	11
 32 – Billy Lyons 1	1	2	4
 39 – Buck Blair 4	4	1	9
 41 – John Marquez 1	3	2	6
 55 – Travis Henderson 2	N	1	3
 86 – Neil Facchini 2	4	3	9
 93 – J.T. Mabry 3	R	3	6
 99 – Greg Ayers 1	2	2	5
120 – Doug Greyson 1	3	2	6
182 – Rudy Laurer 0	1	1	2
249 – John Stunkard 2	-	-	2
321 – Russell Green 3	2	1	6 

Race Results 1: (awarded) Gomez, McConnell, Henderson, Greyson (fell)
 2: Fishback, Green, Bloom, Marquez
 3: Blair, Schwartz, D.Facchini, Lyons, Laurer (tape penalty)
 4: Faria, Mabry, N.Facchini, Ayers
 9: (restarted) McConnell, Marquez, Ayers, D.Facchini, Mabry (penalty line, retired)
10: N.Facchini, Greyson, Stunkard (fell), Lyons (fell)
11: (awarded) Schwartz, Gomez, Green, Fishback (retired)
12: (restarted) Blair, Faria, Bloom, Laurer, Henderson (non starter)
17: Gomez, McConnell, Lyons, Laurer
18: (restarted twice) Bloom, Mabry, Ayers (penalty line), Blair (engine failure)
19: Schwartz, D.Facchini, Greyson, Henderson
20: Faria, N.Facchini, Marquez, Green (fell, remounted), Fishback (non starter) 

Runoff: (restarted) N.Facchini, Marquez, Green, Greyson (penalty line), Mabry 
Semi #1: Schwartz, Gomez, Bloom, Green, N.Facchini (fell, remounted) 
Semi #2: Faria, McConnell, Blair, D.Facchini, Marquez 

Last Chance (restarted)
39 – Buck Blair 
22 – Mike Bloom 
19 – Dale Facchini 
321 – Russell Green 

Scratch Main Event 
30 – Tim Gomez 
9 – Mike Faria 
11 – Bobby Schwartz 
6 – Shawn McConnell 
39 – Buck Blair
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.