American Speedway  

2002 Costa Mesa Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, CA

5th Fair Derby Championship
Costa Mesa Speedway
July 12, 2002
By: Ryan Evans

2001 Mike Faria

"Flyin" Mike Faria made history by winning his fifth Fair Derby Championship at Costa Mesa Friday night.

Faria's road to the championship wasn't easy, however, because just as he was pulling up to the tapes for the main event, he lost a chain. Faria's crew quickly rushed out a backup bike and he saddled up and pulled to the line. When the tapes went up, it was Faria who jumped into the lead followed by National Champion Chris Manchester. Faria held the lead after one lap, but Manchester was challenged for second by Defending Fair Derby Champion Josh Larsen, who suffered from a bad start which left him last entering the first turn. Larsen blasted under Manchester on the back straight and took over second entering turn three. Larsen closed some ground on Faria, but couldn't get close enough to pose a serious threat. Faria become the first five-time winner, Larsen was second, Manchester was third, "Fast" Eddie Castro was fourth, and four-time Fair Derby Champion Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz was fifth.

Kitt Nay, who won the Handicap Main at the Fair Derby last year, was the front marker on the 30 yard line. Nay's chances of duplicating last year's success evaporated early as Randy DiFrancesco passed him for the lead. Castro also went by Nay and set his sights on DiFrancesco. Larsen moved through the pack and took over third on the fourth lap. DiFrancesco withstood Castro's constant pressure, while Castro had his hands full with Larsen. With two laps to go Larsen switched strategy and tried the outside, but found no grip out there. DiFrancesco rode flawlessly to take the win, Castro settled for second, Larsen was third, Andy Northrup finished fourth, and former National Champion Brad Oxley, making his first appearance of 2002, finished fifth.

Jeff Blaydes and David Lynch were first out of the gate at the start of the Support Main Event, but Blaydes took control of the lead on the back straight and Rod Lenz passed Lynch for second. Blaydes appeared to be on his way to victory when Lenz fell in turn one and forced Lynch to lay his bike down. The incident brought out the red flag. On the restart, it was all Blaydes as he opened up a big lead. The race ended prematurely when Scott Tidwell parked in turn one, leaving Lynch with nowhere to go except into Tidwell. The race was declared finished because half the laps were completed. Blaydes was declared the winner, Lynch was second, Rudy Laurer was third, Tidwell was credited with fourth, and Lenz, who didn't compete in the restart, was credited with fifth.

There will not be any racing at Costa Mesa Speedway until Saturday, August 10 when the Freestyle Motocross Jumpers return to the world famous bullring oval. Two things are guaranteed when the jumpers perform: it will be standing room only and the crowd will be thoroughly entertained.


Support Consolation
296 - Tom Rossano
181 - Michael Novratil
133 - Craig Collier
161 - Hector Quevedo

Support Last Chance
182 - Rudy Laurer
165 - Randy Kreps
178 - Eloy Medellin
125 - Johnny Lupo

Support Main Event  (restarted)
173 - Jeff Blaydes
131 - David Lynch
182 - Rudy Laurer
118 - Scott Tidwell    (fell)
196 - Rod Lenz         (fell, excluded)

Handicap Main Event
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco		40
 14 - Eddie Castro              40
  2 - Josh Larsen               50
166 - Andy Northrup             40
  5 - Brad Oxley                60
  1 - Chris Manchester          50
  9 - Mike Faria                50
 13 - Kitt Nay                  30   (fell)

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
  2 - Josh Larsen
  1 - Chris Manchester
 14 - Eddie Castro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.