American Speedway  

2002 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
Orange Show Pavilion
San Bernardino, California

2002 Week Ten
Arrowhead Speedway
June 19, 2002
From Ryan Evans

Scott Brant captured his fourth Scratch Main in five weeks at Arrowhead Motor Speedway and extended his overall main event winning streak to seven consecutive weeks Wednesday night.

At the start of the Scratch Main, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell, Brant, and Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz entered turn one simultaneously. They exited turn two three abreast, but Brant found the most traction and pulled ahead on the back straight. Brant entered turn three with the lead, but there was a battle shaping up behind him for second between McConnell on the inside and Schwartz on the outside. Brant opened up a comfortable lead but second remained unsettled as the two veterans put on a spectacular effort for second. Brant took the victory, McConnell held off Schwartz for second, and "Cowboy" Bobby Krips was fourth.

Doug Benjamin started at the tapes and took the lead at the start of the Handicap Main. Benjamin put in a solid three laps, but the pack caught him and Shaun Harmatiuk assumed the lead at the end of lap three. Harmatiuk held the lead until turn one on lap five when McConnell and Brant closed in. McConnell surged under Harmatiuk and into the lead. Brant followed McConnell past Harmatiuk and didn't allow him any margin for error. Brant pressured McConnell the last lap and a half, but his effort were unsuccessful as McConnell won his first main event at Arrowhead in 2002. Harmatiuk finished third, Schwartz was fourth, Benjamin finished fifth, and Krips was sixth.

Hideaki Ota, making his first appearance in Second Division at Arrowhead, took the lead at the start of the Second Division Main Event and ran away with an easy victory. Eloy Medellin finished second, Terry McCurdy was third, Rudy Laurer finished fourth, Tom Rossano was fifth, and Winston Williams was sixth.

The Second Division B Main Event proved to be a wild and entertaining race. Rusty Hall took the lead at the start and he battled Kevin Templeton to maintain control of first. Templeton took the lead entering turn three the second time, but Geoff Herkner had the lead at the end of the lap. Herkner fell in turn two, which gave the lead back to Templeton. Templeton held on the rest of the way to take his first main event win. Hall finished second, Neil Facchini was third, Herkner was fourth, Steve Dziadus was fifth, and Rohn Zellner was sixth.


Second Division B Consolation    (restarted)
202 - Steve Nelson           10
222 - Tim Marsh               0
244 - DeWayne Stark           0
  9s - Joe Jones              0    (penalty line)

Second Division B Main Event
155 - Kevin Templeton         0
164 - Rusty Hall              0
201 - Neil Facchini          10
208 - Geoff Herkner          10
212 - Steve Dziadus           0    (fell)
163 - Rohn Zellner           10    (non starter)

Second Division Consolation
125 - Johnny Lupo            10
336 - Bill Green             10
293 - Rick Valdez            20    (non starter)

Second Division Main Event       (restarted)
240 - Hideaki Ota             0
178 - Eloy Medellin          10
158 - Terry McCurdy          30
182 - Rudy Laurer            30    (penalty line)
296 - Tom Rossano             0    (fell)
147 - Winston Williams       10    (fell)

  3 - Justin Boyle           40
 99 - Miles Calvin            0

Handicap Main Event
  6 - Shawn McConnell        40
 10 - Scott Brant            60
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk        20
 11 - Bobby Schwartz         40
128 - Doug Benjamin           0
 24 - Bobby Krips            20     (fell)

Scratch Consolation
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
 19 - Richard Jones
128 - Doug Benjamin      
 47 - Jonnie Walker        (non starter)

Scratch Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 24 - Bobby Krips
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.