American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

2010 Opening Night
June 2, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion Billy “The Kid” Janniro raised the curtain on Industry Speedway’s seventh season with a victory in the Opening Night Main Event.

Janniro started in gate one and launched himself into the lead when the tapes went up. Charlie “The Edge” Venegas tried to cutback underneath Janniro in the first corner but was unable to get into the lead. It would prove to be his only shot to get in front of the pack. Janniro increased his lead with every lap and was first to the checkered flag. Venegas finished second, Buck Blair was third, Tommy Hedden finished fourth, and Mike Faria was fifth.

Janniro kicked off the heats with a blistering victory over Hedden. Venegas defeated Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz in the second heat. Blair beat Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell in the third heat. Faria ended round one with a win over Jimmy Fishback.

Faria started round two by beating McConnell for his second straight win. Blair scored an impressive win over a very persistent Janniro in the next heat. “Fast” Eddie Castro beat Schwartz in event 13. Venegas beat Hedden to end the second round.

The final round of heats began with Doug “The Destroyer” Nicol leading before Fishback took the lead and the win. Faria and Castro raced side-by-side for two laps in event 18 before Faria surged ahead for his third straight win. Janniro defeated Venegas for his second win in the next heat. Schwartz held off Blair to win the final heat.

Blair made the best start in the first semi but Janniro was relentless and went very deep into the corners and finally found enough traction to make an outside pas that electrified the crowd. Janniro took the win with Blair following him into the main. In the second semi Venegas and Castro were side-by-side before the former National Champion took control. Faria went under Castro on the second lap and cruised behind Venegas and joined him in the main. Hedden made a brilliant outside pass of Schwartz in the Last Chance to take the win and book the final spot in the main event.

Tyson Talkington led the first lap of the Second Division Main Event with Eloy Medellin in hot pursuit. Medellin’s bid ended when he slid off on the second lap and Talkington cruised uncontested the rest of the way. Bruce Marteney was second, Brandon Leedy finished third, and Medellin was fourth.

Kevin Wybenga put together four smooth laps to win the Third Division Main Event. Tony DeAlmeida was second, DeWayne Stark finished third, and Yogi Isgro was credited with fourth.

Rocco Scopellite led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth First Division Main Event. Samuel Ramirez finished second, Max Ruml was third, and Nicky Reimer finished fourth.

Dillon Ruml won both his heats and captured the Youth Second Division Main Event. Michael Wells finished second and Maverick Molloy was third.

Tristan Britt led from start to finish and claimed victory over Alyssa Smith in the Pee Wee Main Event.

Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy led the Sidecar Main Event before Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen pushed their way past on the third lap to take the lead. Jones and Olsen led the rest of the way for the victory. Gerard Jackson and Dave German were second, Motis and McElroy were third, and Kevin Brown and Krystal Laurie were credited with fourth.

The evening marked the beginning of Industry Speedway’s seventh season and the third under current promoter Jeffrey Immediato. The season will run every Wednesday night at the Industry Hills Expo Center through September 1. The next event is La Puente Little League Night.


Sidecar Main Event (restarted) 1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German 2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy 16 - Kevin Brown/Krystal Laurie (fell)
Pee Wee Main Event 11 - Tristan Britt 31 - Alyssa Smith
Youth Second Division Main Event 111 - Dillon Ruml 214 - Michael Wells 34 - Maverick Molloy
Youth First Division Main Event 9 - Rocco Scopellite 22 - Samuel Ramirez 308 - Max Ruml 41 - Nicky Reimer
Third Division Main Event (restarted) 191 - Kevin Wybenga 157 - Tony DeAlmeida 268 - DeWayne Stark 236 - Yogi Isgro (non starter - restart)
Second Division Main Event 220 - Tyson Talkington 242 - Bruce Marteney 151 - Brandon Leedy 178 - Eloy Medellin (fell)
First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T 3 – Gary Hicks 2 N N 2 6 – Shawn McConnell 3 3 2 8 9 – Mike Faria 4 4 4 12 11 – Bobby Schwartz 3 3 4 10 14 – Eddie Castro 1 4 3 8 14n – Billy Janniro 4 3 4 11 25 – Jimmy Fishback 3 2 4 9 26 – Tyson Burmeister 0 1 2 3 39 – Buck Blair 4 4 3 11 40 – Tommy Hedden 3 3 0 6 41 – John Marquez 0 1 2 3 43 – Charlie Venegas 4 4 3 11 86 – Neil Facchini 1 2 1 4 98 – Doug Nicol 2 2 3 7 145 – Brad Pappalardo 2 2 0 4 181 – Austin Novratil 2 E 1 3 220 – Tyson Talkington 1 0 1 2 244 – Joey Holt 0 1 1 2 259 – Michael Raines 1 1 2 4
Race Results 1: Janniro, Hedden, Pappalardo, Castro, Holt 2: Venegas, Schwartz, Novratil, Talkington 3: Blair, McConnell, Hicks, Facchini, Burmeister 4: Faria, Fishback, Nicol, Raines, Marquez 11: Faria, McConnell, Pappalardo, Raines, Talkington 12: Blair, Janniro, Fishback, Holt 13: Castro, Schwartz, Nicol, Burmeister, Novratil (engine failure) 14: Venegas, Hedden, Facchini, Marquez, Hicks (non starter) 17: Fishback, Nicol, Marquez, Novratil, Hicks (non starter) 18: Faria, Castro, Burmeister, Holt, Hedden (fell, remounted) 19: Janniro, Venegas, Raines, Talkington (fell) 20: Schwartz, Blair, McConnell, Facchini, Pappalardo
Semi #1: Janniro, Blair, McConnell, Hedden (tape penalty), Fishback Semi #2: Venegas, Faria, Castro, Schwartz, Nicol
First Division Last Chance 40 - Tommy Hedden 6 - Shawn McConnell 11 - Bobby Schwartz 14 - Eddie Castro
First Division Main Event 14n - Billy Janniro 43 - Charlie Venegas 39 - Buck Blair 40 - Tommy Hedden 9 - Mike Faria
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.