American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Classic Car Night
July 7, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

One week after having his winning streak stopped, Charlie “The Edge” Venegas found himself back on top of the podium on Classic Car Night at Industry Speedway.

“Flyin” Mike Faria and Venegas left the starting line shoulder-to-shoulder and remained that way in a fantastic inside-outside battle throughout the first lap. Faria surged ahead the second time on the back straight and Venegas wisely slotted in behind him and appeared to be destined for a second-place finish. Faria, however, made a rare mistake when his drifted off the groove exiting turn two and Venegas pounced on the opportunity by blasting underneath and taking the lead. The former National Champion led the rest of the way and was first to the checkered flag. Faria settled for second, Tyson Burmeister was third, “Battling” Buck Blair finished fourth, and Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell was fifth.

Blair kicked off the heats with a win over McConnell. Faria defeated Burmeister in the second heat. “Fast” Eddie Castro held off Bobby “Boogaloo” Schwartz to win the third heat. Venegas ended round one with a win over Tyson Talkington.

Venegas trapped from the outside and beat Austin Novratil to start round two. McConnell beat Michael Raines in the next heat. Faria defeated Blair for his second win of the night. Burmeister defeated Talkington to finish the second round.

Blair defeated Brad Pappalardo to begin the last round. Burmeister won his second straight race over Novratil. Castro beat McConnell in the penultimate heat. Faria remained undefeated by winning the final heat.

Burmeister and Blair finished one-two in the first semi to transfer to the main. Faria won the second semi with McConnell capitalizing on a Venegas mistake to join Faria in the main. Venegas won the Last Chance race to book the final spot in the main.

Chris Jones led the Second Division Main before Aaron Fox went to the outside and passed him in turn four to take the lead. Fox stretched his lead with each lap and scored a dominant victory. Tim McGrath finished second, Jones was third, and Bubba Vazzana finished fourth.

Kevin Wybenga made the best start in the Third Division Main Event but had Joey Donaldson chasing after him. Donaldson closed ground but his bid ended when he fell on the second lap. Wybenga cruised the rest of the way to go home victorious. Kevin Johnson was second, Mike Salyer finished third, and Donaldson was credited with fourth.

Dillon Ruml made best start in the Youth Second Division Main Event but an engine failure handed the lead to Michael Wells. Wells led until Kurtis Hamill went by at the end of the second lap. Hamill held on to the finish to claim the victory. Broc Nicol was second, Wells finished third, and Ruml was credited with fourth.

Alyssa Smith led the first three laps of the Pee Wee Main Event and led a tight quartet of riders into the final corner, but bobbled on the exit and Dominic Laney stole the victory at the finish line. Dylan Smith also got past Alyssa Smith to get third with Tristan Britt finishing fourth.

Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie led all four laps en route to victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers finished second, Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy were third, and Gerard Jackson and Dave German were fourth.

Classic Car Night included a display of automobiles for spectators to view. It also included an appearance by nationally syndicated and motor sports aficionado “Uncle” Joe Benson.

This Wednesday’s event will have a special match race between sprint car racer Wally Pankratz and two-time World Speedway Champion Bruce Penhall in Ford Focus midgets.


Sidecar Main Event 
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie
 13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
  2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German 
Pee Wee Main Event 
 19 - Dominic Laney 
 13 - Dylan Smith 
 31 - Alyssa Smith 
 11 - Tristan Britt

Youth Second Division Main Event 
104 - Kurtis Hamill 
146 - Broc Nicol 
214 - Michael Wells 
111 - Dillon Ruml 		(engine failure) 

Youth First Division Main Event 
308 - Max Ruml 

Third Division Main Event 
191 - Kevin Wybenga 
122 - Kevin Johnson 
333 - Mike Salyer
112 - Joey Donaldson 		(fell) 

Second Division Main Event (restarted) 
146 - Aaron Fox 
186 - Tim McGrath 		(penalty line) 
116 - Chris Jones 
274 _ Bubba Vazzana 

First Division Heat Scoring	1	2	3	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell		2	3	2	7
  9 – Mike Faria		3	3	3	9
 11 – Bobby Schwartz		2	1	1	4
 13 – Nate Perkins		0	1	0	1
 14 – Eddie Castro		3	0	3	6
 26 – Tyson Burmeister		2	3	3	8
 39 – Buck Blair		3	2	3	8
 41 – John Marquez		1	0	2	3
 43 – Charlie Venegas		3	3	1	7
141 – Josh Abbott		1	1	0	2
145 – Brad Pappalardo		1	1	2	4
151 – Brandon Leedy		0	0	0	0
178 – Eloy Medellin		0	0	1	1
181 – Austin Novratil		R	2	2	4
220 – Tyson Talkington		2	2	1	5
259 – Michael Raines		1	2	0	3

Race Results
 1: Blair, McConnell, Marquez, Perkins (fell, remounted)
 2: Faria, Burmeister, Raines, Novratil (retired)
 3: Castro, Schwartz, Pappalardo, Leedy
 4: Venegas, Talkington, Abbott, Medellin
 9: Venegas, Novratil, Perkins, Castro (tape penalty)
10: McConnell, Raines, Pappalardo, Medellin (fell, remounted)
11: Faria, Blair, Abbott, Leedy
12: Burmeister, Talkington, Schwartz (tape penalty), Marquez
17: Blair, Pappalardo, Schwartz, Raines (tape penalty)
18: Burmeister, Novratil, Venegas, Perkins
19: Castro, McConnell, Talkington, Abbott
20: Faria, Marquez, Medellin, Leedy
Semi #1: (restarted) Burmeister, Blair, Castro, Talkington, Novratil (retired)
Semi #2: Faria, McConnell, Schwartz, Venegas, Pappalardo

First Division Last Chance 
 43 - Charlie Venegas 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 
220 - Tyson Talkington 
 14 - Eddie Castro 		(tape penalty) 

First Division Main Event 
 43 - Charlie Venegas 
  9 - Mike Faria 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 
 39 - Buck Blair 		(tape penalty) 
  6 - Shawn McConnell
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.