American Speedway  

2003 Orange Show Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2003 California Results Page

Orange Show Speedway
San Bernardino, California

Father's Day Kids Night
June 13, 2003 - Orange Show
By: Ryan Evans

2003 Scott Brant

Scott Brant made it three for three in 2003 with another Scratch Main victory at Orange Show Speedway in San Bernardino Friday night.

Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz, lined up on the pole, and Brant gated evenly and entered turn one together. Schwartz stuck to the pole while Brant chose a mid-track line. Brant found more grip in turn two and surged into the lead on the back straight. Brant established a comfortable lead which came in handy because he hit a hole in turn four that straightened him out and cost him some ground. Brant was able to compose himself and he led all the way to the checkered flag. Eddie Castro pressured Schwartz the last two laps and it paid off when he shot underneath on the final corner to snatch second place. Schwartz was third and Bobby Krips finished fourth. Dukie Ermolenko was fifth, but not after a wild ride in which he lifted coming out of two and was completely vertical. He managed to get the wheel down, but was headed for the berm on the back straight. He hit the berm, rode it out, and received a loud ovation from the crowd.

Billy Lyons started at the tapes in the Handicap Main was the leader after the first lap. Krips went by on the inside on the second lap, but Castro was not far behind. Castro went under Krips to take the lead at the end of the fourth lap. Castro then pulled away to take the win and make it a sweep for the Kelly Dunagan Racing Team. Krips held on to second, Brant finished third, Shaun Harmatiuk was fourth, and Ermolenko finished fifth.

In the Support Main, Neil Facchini jumped into the lead and was making a bid for his second consecutive victory. His hopes were dashed in turn four of the first lap when he fell. Rudy Laurer assumed the lead at that point and cruised to his first victory of 2003. An excellent battle for second ended with Keith Mullally barely holding off Scott Tidwell. Facchini was credited with fourth.

DeWayne Stark led the Support B Main Event into the first corner. His lead was short-lived, though, as Steve Dziadus went ahead on the back straight. Dziadus was able to hold off Stark's challenges until they took the white flag and Stark went into the lead. Dziadus didn't go away quietly as the two riders battled throughout the last lap with Stark narrowly defeating Dziadus for a hard-earned victory. Mike Boyle finished third, Fred Schmitthammer was fourth, Nathan Smelser finished fifth, and newcomer Robert Avels was sixth.

Skyler Greyson jumped into the lead at the start of the Youth Main Event. He led after one lap, but Jason Ramirez went by him in turn two. Greyson retired after the second lap and left Ramirez with a giant lead and an easy victory. Tamara Krips finished second, Dylan Stark was third, Greyson finished fourth, and Dario Galvin was fifth.


Support B Consolation
194 - Tony Bracy        	20
105 - Michael Hernandez   10
136 - Kim Stevens        10
227 - Mark Robertson     20
111 - Joe Schultz       10	(penalty line)
209 - Greg Vandermore   10   	(retired)

Support B Main Event
244 - DeWayne Stark        10
212 - Steve Dziadus         20
198 - Mike Boyle            20
223 - Fred Schmitthammer    20
188 - Nathan Smelser        20   	(fell)
203 - Robert Avels         10  	(fell)

Support Consolation
100 - Phil Harmatiuk
228 - Shane Kump    	(fell, remounted)
264 - Louis Hunt
117 - Billy Braden  	(fell)

Support Consolation
338 - Dave Delbridge
165 - Randy Kreps
339 - Sam Stavros
174 - Tomasz Hampel     (non starter)

Support Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer                  
185 - Keith Mullally
118 - Scott Tidwell
201 - Neil Facchini    (fell)

Youth Main Event     (restarted)
 66 - Jason Ramirez
223 - Tamara Krips
 19 - Dylan Stark
  2 - Skyler Greyson 	(retired)
145 - Dario Galvin     	(fell)

Handicap Main Event
 14 - Eddie Castro         50
 24 - Bobby Krips          30
 10 - Scott Brant          50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk   	 20
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko      40
  3 - Gary Hicks           50
197 - Justin Boyle          30
321 - Billy Lyons           0

Last Chance
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
  3 - Gary Hicks
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
321 - Billy Lyons	(retired)

Scratch Main Event
 10 - Scott Brant
 14 - Eddie Castro
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 24 - Bobby Krips
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.