American Speedway  

2004 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

2004 Industry
September 1, 2004 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

2002 Bryan Yarrow

Bryan Yarrow made a midweek trip to Southern California and capped a perfect night with a victory in the Scratch Main at Industry Hills Speedway on Wednesday.

Yarrow's perfect score gave him first choice of starting position and he selected the pole. Denny Scopellite then selected gate two. Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas picked gate three, which left Justin Boyle with the outside.

Venegas was first into turn one, but Yarrow found more traction exiting turn two and pulled alongside Venegas on the back straight. The former Youth National Champion completed the inside pass entering turn three. Venegas tried to make the outside work, but Yarrow pulled away and Boyle went by as well. Yarrow was never contested and he won easily. Boyle held on for second, Venegas was third, and Scopellite finished fourth.

The first round of heats began with Scopellite jumping into the lead and holding off Venegas for a couple laps before finally succumbing to the pressure and allowing him past. Venegas held on for the win. Dario Galvin scored an impressive win in the next race. Yarrow scored a win over Bobby Krips in his first race at the track. Dukie Ermolenko was victorious over Northern California's Matt Browne in the final race of round one.

Nate Perkins opened round two with a solid win over Ermolenko. Brad Sauer overcame a sputtering bike to win the next race. Galvin made it two for two with an upset win over Venegas in race 19. Yarrow was an easy winner over Scopellite in race 20. Krips closed the second round by beating Shaun Harmatiuk.

Bobby Schwartz starting the final round with a win over Robbie Sauer. Harmatiuk beat Ermolenko to win race 27. Scopellite and Krips battled throughout the four-lap race with Scopellite coming out on top and earning his first win. Boyle defeated Browne in race 29. Venegas and Yarrow engaged in an exciting inside-outside battle throughout the final heat race with Yarrow scoring a narrow win and preserving his perfect score.

Harmatiuk, Browne, Schwartz, and Perkins competed in a runoff for the final spot in the semis with Harmatiuk coming out the victor. In the first semi, Yarrow's fourth straight win earned him a place in the main along with Venegas, who finished second. Scopellite won the second semi with Boyle finishing second and each rider earned a spot in the main.

Carl Gazafy took the lead at the start of the Second Division Main, but 16 year old Skyler Greyson was right on his back tire. Greyson stalked Gazafy and his pressure paid off in turn three of the second lap when he slid by on the inside. Greyson never looked back and scored his first win since recently moving up from the Youth Division. Gazafy was second, Brian Starr finished third, and Tony Bracy was fourth.

Tom Hamilton turned in four smooth laps and claimed victory in the Third Division Main. Michael Novratil was second, Mike Boyle was third, and Keith Mullally finished fourth.

After starting with a 60-yard handicap, Ricky Wells patiently weaved through the field and passed Nathan Galvin for the win in the Youth Main Event. Wells was given the handicap because he was the only Youth First Division rider. Galvin's second overall still earned him the Youth Second Division trophy. Dane Adams finished third, Gino Manzares was fourth, Austin Novratil finished fifth, and Eddie Conner was sixth.

Next Wednesday is Harley Night and marks the final event of the Industry Hills schedule for this season. Although there will not be Harley races, there should still be a good-sized crowd as Harley enthusiasts tend to turn out in large numbers on the designated Harley Nights. Racing will begin at 7:00 and First Division beginning at 7:30.

Youth Main Event
142 - Ricky Wells	60	(First Division)
134 - Nathan Galvin
5150 - Dane Adams
 21 - Gino Manzares
  8 - Austin Novratil
135 - Eddie Conner

Third Division Main Event
144 - Tom Hamilton
181 - Michael Novratil
198 - Mike Boyle
185 - Keith Mullally         	(fell)

Second Division Main Event
120 - Skyler Greyson
176 - Carl Gazafy
248 - Brian Starr
194 - Tony Bracy

Scoring                   	1    2    3           T
  8n - Bryan Yarrow             3    3    3           9
 11 - Bobby Schwartz            1    1    3           5
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko           3    2    2           7
 17 - Robbie Sauer              1    1    2           4
 18 - Justin Boyle              1    2    3           6
 21 - Brad Sauer                E    3    1           4
 24 - Bobby Krips               2    3    2           7
 29n - Matt Browne              2    1    2           5
 37 - Denny Scopellite          2    2    3           7
 43 - Charlie Venegas           3    2    2           7
110 - John Stasiefski           0    1    1           2
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk           0    2    3           5
145 - Dario Galvin              3    3    1           7
214 - Steve Murray              1    1    1           3
301 - Dale Facchini             0    0    1           1
389 - Nate Perkins              2    3    0           5

Race Results
10: Venegas, Scopellite, Boyle, Facchini
11: Galvin, Perkins, Schwartz, Harmatiuk
12: Yarrow, Krips, Murray, B.Sauer (engine failure)
13: Ermolenko, Browne, R.Sauer, Stasiefski
17: Perkins, Ermolenko, Murray
18: B.Sauer, Boyle, Schwartz (retired)
19: (restarted) Galvin, Venegas, Stasiefski
20: Yarrow, Scopellite, R.Sauer
21: Krips, Harmatiuk, Browne, Facchini
26: Schwartz, R.Sauer, Facchini
27: Harmatiuk, Ermolenko, B.Sauer
28: Scopellite, Krips, Stasiefski
29: Boyle, Browne, Murray
30: Yarrow, Venegas, Galvin (tape penalty), Perkins (fell, remounted)
Runoff: Harmatiuk, Browne, Schwartz, Perkins (engine failure)
Semi #1: Yarrow, Venegas, Harmatiuk, Krips (tape penalty)
Semi #2: Scopellite, Boyle, Galvin, Ermolenko (engine failure)

Scratch Consolation
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk
145 - Dario Galvin      	(fell)
 24 - Bobby Krips           	(engine failure)

Scratch Main Event
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 18 - Justin Boyle
 43 - Charlie Venegas
 37 - Denny Scopellite
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.