American Speedway  

2010 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

California Speedway
June 9, 2010 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion Charlie “The Edge” Venegas used savvy gate selection and a great start to position himself toward victory in the main event at Industry Speedway.

After Buck Blair and Jimmy Fishback picked gates one and two, respectively, Venegas defied conventional wisdom and chose gate four instead of gate three to start from. His choice of starting position paid off when, after entering turn one even with Blair, Venegas was on his preferred outside line and found enough traction to propel himself around Blair and into the lead on the back straight. Blair chased the leader the entire race but couldn’t gain any ground. Venegas was cruised to the victory, Blair settled for second, Neil Facchini finished third, Mike Faria was fourth, and Jimmy Fishback finished fifth.

Venegas kicked of the heats with a convincing win over Tyson Burmeister and Gary Hicks. “Fast” Eddie Castro defeated Faria in the second heat. Blair ended round one with a win over Fishback.

Castro beat Blair to start round two. Hicks was leading the next heat but suffered an engine failure which gave the lead and victory to Fishback. Venegas brought an end to the second round by using the outside to pass and defeat Faria.

The final round began with Faria taking the lead only to have Blair use the outside to pass him and pick up his second win. Burmeister beat Venegas to win event 16. Castro closed out the heats with a win to remain the only undefeated rider.

Blair and Venegas finished one-two in the first semi to transfer to the main. In the second semi, Castro’s undefeated streak came to a skidding halt when he fell in the first corner. Fishback won to transfer to the main while Facchini used a great cutback move to get second and join Fishback in the main. Faria won the Last Chance to book the final spot in the main.

Tyson Talkington proved that he no longer belongs in Second Division with runaway victories in all his heats and the Second Division Main Event. Eloy Medellin was second, Tim McGrath finished third, and Bubba Vazzana was fourth.

Kevin Wybenga led the Third Division Main before falling in turn four. Yogi Isgro plowed into the prone rider and went down hard on his shoulder. Isgro was physically unable to restart and Wybenga would restart from the penalty line. Norman Graham took advantage of the second chance by leading all four laps of the restart to capture the victory. Wybenga finished second, Kevin Johnson was third, and Isgro was credited with fourth.

Samuel Ramirez passed Dillon Ruml on the second lap and never looked back en route to victory in the Youth Main Event. Max Ruml finished second, Dillon Ruml was third, and Michael Wells finished fourth.

Matthew Duffy won the Pee Wee Main Event with Tristan Britt getting second and Alyssa Smith finishing third.

Gerard Jackson and Dave German were leading the Sidecar Main Event but Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy suffered a mechanical failure which left them stranded on the race track and brought out the red flag. On the restart, National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen trapped from the outside to get the lead. Jones and Olsen were never threatened and took home the win. Jackson and German were second, Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers finished third, and Motis and McElroy were credited with fourth.

The next event at Industry Speedway will include a Quad Racing Exhibition in addition to speedway and sidecar racing.

Sidecar Main Event (restarted) 1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German 13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers 2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy (non starter - restart)
Pee Wee Main Event 116 - Matthew Duffy 11 - Tristan Britt 31 - Alyssa Smith
Youth Main Event 22 - Samuel Ramirez 40 308 - Max Ruml 40 111 - Dillon Ruml 0 214 - Michael Wells 0
Third Division Main Event (restarted) 129 - Norman Graham 191 - Kevin Wybenga (penalty line) 122 - Kevin Johnson 236 - Yogi Isgro (non starter - restart)
Second Division Main Event (restarted) 220 - Tyson Talkington 178 - Eloy Medellin 186 - Tim McGrath 274 - Bubba Vazzana (tape penalty)
First Division Heat Scoring 1 2 3 T 3 – Gary Hicks 1 E N 1 9 – Mike Faria 2 2 1 5 11 – Bobby Schwartz 0 0 0 0 14 – Eddie Castro 3 3 3 9 25 – Jimmy Fishback 2 3 2 7 26 – Tyson Burmeister 2 2 3 7 39 – Buck Blair 3 2 3 8 43 – Charlie Venegas 3 3 2 8 86 – Neil Facchini 1 0 1 2 145 – Brad Pappalardo 0 1 1 2 259 – Michael Raines 0 1 1 2 321 – Russell Green 1 1 1 3
Race Results 1: Venegas, Burmeister, Hicks, Pappalardo 2: Castro, Faria, Facchini, Raines 3: Blair, Fishback, Green, Schwartz 8: Castro, Blair, Raines, Schwartz 9: Fishback, Burmeister, Green, Hicks (engine failure) 10: Venegas, Faria, Pappalardo, Facchini 15: Blair, Fishback, Faria, Green 16: Burmeister, Venegas, Pappalardo, Schwartz 17: Castro, Raines, Facchini, Hicks (non starter)
Semi #1: Blair, Venegas, Faria, Green, Raines Semi #2: Fishback, Facchini, Burmeister, Pappalardo, Castro (fell, remounted)
First Division Last Chance 9 - Mike Faria 26 - Tyson Burmeister 145 - Brad Pappalardo 321 - Russell Green (fell, remounted)
First Division Main Event 43 - Charlie Venegas 39 - Buck Blair 86 - Neil Facchini 9 - Mike Faria 25 - Jimmy Fishback
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.