American Speedway  

2011 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Costa Mesa FMX Night
June 4, 2011
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas completed a perfect night by winning the main event in front of a large crowd at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Venegas had first gate choice for the main event and chose gate two which left "Flyin" Mike Faria with gate one. In the same situation at the Spring Classic last month, Faria made Billy Janniro pay for leaving him with gate one. The result would be different this time. Venegas and Faria left the starting line together but Venegas beat the three-time National Champion to turn one. Faria chased the leader down the back straight, but he was unfazed and led after lap one. Faria valiantly tried to force a mistake, but his effort would prove fruitless as Venegas extended his lead with each lap and was first to the checkered flag. Faria settled for second, Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback was third,"Fast" Eddie Castro finished fourth, and "Nasty" Nate Perkins was fifth.

Fishback opened the heats with a win over Doug "The Destroyer" Nicol. Dale Facchini was victorious in the second heat over Michael Raines. Faria defeated Neil Facchini in the third heat. Castro chased John Marquez throughout the fourth heat and narrowly defeated him at the finish line. Venegas ended the first round with a win over Steve Russell.

Dukie Ermolenko started the second round by beating Marquez for his first win. Fishback beat Austin Novratil for his second straight win. Nicol scored an impressive win over Faria in event 12. Perkins defeated Raines in the next heat. Venegas finished round two by beating Jason Ramirez for his second straight win.

Raines began the final round with a win over Castro. Ermolenko made it two straight wins by defeating Josh Abbott. Faria beat Fishback for his second win. Novratil defeated Perkins in the penultimate heat. Venegas remained perfect by beating Nicol in the final heat.

Six riders were tied for the final two spots in the semi, so two runoffs were staged to determine who would fill those places. Novratil defeated Abbott and Marquez to make the first semi and Neil Facchini beat Ramirez and Dale Facchini to complete the second semi.

Faria led the first semi from start to finish and was followed into the main event by Fishback. Nicol led the second semi but went wide on the second lap and Venegas exploited the opening for the lead. As Venegas was marching on to victory, Nicol held second for another lap before sliding off in turn one and handing second place, and the transfer, to Castro. Perkins won the Last Chance to fill the final spot in the main event field.

Rohn Zellner led from start to finish en route to victory in the Support Main Event. Ryan Tovatt finished second, Harold Hartke was third, and Damon Barry finished fourth.
Mike Salyer put together four smooth laps and was victorious in the Support B Main Event. Tim McGrath finished second, Mike Boyle was third, and Brad Moreau finished fourth.

The next event at Costa Mesa Speedway is the Warren Russell Cup. Faria is the defending champion of the event. The second Amateur Afternoon will be held during the day as well. Racers with speedway bikes, youth speedway bikes, pee wee bikes, or any type of bike can participate.


Support B Semi-Final
186 – Tim McGrath
153 – Brad Moreau
143 – Chris Wolfs
231 – Gene Stone (fell)

Support B Semi-Final
333 – Mike Salyer
198 – Mike Boyle
199 – Craig Sprecher
164 – Dillon Osborne (fell)

Support B Main Event
333 - Mike Salyer
186 - Tim McGrath
198 - Mike Boyle
153 - Brad Moreau

Support Semi-Final
150 – Damon Barry
290 – Harold Hartke
101 – Mike Wiley (fell, remounted)
151 – Brandon Leedy (fell)

Support Semi-Final
163 – Rohn Zellner
389 – Ryan Tovatt
208 – Geoff Herkner (fell)
182 – Rudy Laurer (fell)

Support Main Event
163 - Rohn Zellner
389 - Ryan Tovatt
290 - Harold Hartke
150 - Damon Barry

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 2215
9 – Mike Faria 43411
13 – Nate Perkins 2439
14 – Eddie Castro 4138
15 – Dukie Ermolenko 1449
19 – Dale Facchini 4217
22 – Mike Bloom 1001
23 – Steve Russell 3126
25 – Jimmy Fishback 44311
27 – Austin Novratil F347
41 – John Marquez 3317
43 – Charlie Venegas 44412
45 – Brad Pappalardo 1113
46 – Aaron Fox 2215
48 – Tyson Talkington 1124
63 – Michael Raines 33410
66 – Jason Ramirez 2327
86 – Neil Facchini 3227
98 – Doug Nicol34310
141 – Josh Abbott 2237
201 – Dylan Black 1124

Race Results
1: Fishback, Nicol, Perkins, Bloom
2: D.Facchini, Raines, McConnell (engine failure), Black (fell)
3: (restarted) Faria, N.Facchini, Ramirez, Talkingon (penalty line)
4: Castro, Marquez, Fox, Pappalardo
5: Venegas, Russell, Abbott, Ermolenko, Novratil (fell)
10: Ermolenko, Marquez, Abbott, Talkington
11: (restarted) Fishback, Novratil, McConnell (penalty line), Pappalardo
12: Nicol, Faria, D.Facchini, Russell
13: Perkins, Raines, N.Facchini, Black, Bloom
14: Venegas, Ramirez, Fox, Castro
19: Raines, Castro, Russell, Fox
20: Ermolenko, Abbott, Ramirez, McConnell, Bloom
21: Faria, Fishback, Black, Marquez
22: Novratil, Perkins, Talkington, D.Facchini
23: Venegas, Nicol, N.Facchini, Pappalardo
Runoff #1: Novratil, Abbott, Marquez
Runoff #2: (restarted) N.Facchini, Ramirez, D.Facchini (engine failure)
Semi #1: Faria, Fishback, Perkins, Ermolenko, Novratil (fell)
Semi #2: (restarted) Venegas, Castro, Raines, N.Facchini, Nicol (fell)

First Division Last Chance
13 - Nate Perkins
86 - Neil Facchini
63 - Michael Raines
15 - Dukie Ermolenko

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
9 - Mike Faria
25 - Jimmy Fishback
14 - Eddie Castro
13 - Nate Perkins (engine failure)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.