American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Harley Night
September 28, 2012 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway - San Bernardino
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
It was Harley Night at IMS, and the big boys came to ride! After a 200cc race, Jason Palmese runs a hot exhaust pipe back to the pits. Dryden Gayle tests the tapes on an early 200cc heat race.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Pee Wee Main Event, with Whitcomb and Cords on the 40.... Sara Cords used her three-speed tranny to beat Lightning Luke. 200cc Main Event; the camera sleeping...
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Courtney Crone beat the boys fair and square Friday night. 250cc Main Event. Overcoming a nasty loop in an earlier heat, Kurtis Hamill wins the big one
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Support Main Event. Geoff Herkner shows his winning form. Runoff: Talkington vs LeoGrande.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Last Chance. Troy McConnell would advance to the Main. Harley Main Event. Wayne Lutz wins again. Must be the Nikes?
2012 IMS Speedway


2012 IMS Speedway

First Division, Main Event. Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell shook off a wicked tumble and went on to win it.  

Harley Night - San Bernardino, CA, USA - September 28

Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell got off the deck and won his fourth straight main event on Harley Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Shawn McConnell started from gate two in the main event with former Youth National Champion Jason Ramirez in gate one, Steve Russell in gate three, Tyson Burmeister in gate four, and Troy McConnell in gate five. Burmeister got a good start while Shawn McConnell got a slightly better start than Ramirez. Burmeister went to the outside while Shawn McConnell tried to pull down to the inside as they entered turn one. Shawn McConnell wasn't clear of Ramirez when he clamped down and they made contact and went straight. Both riders collected Burmeister and all three riders went down hard. Shawn McConnell and Burmeister were both down for several minutes and both had bent machines nearby. The two competitors were able to get up but only Shawn McConnell had a spare machine to participate in the restart.

The second time the tapes went up Shawn McConnell was first off the starting line and beat everyone to turn one. Ramirez chased after the leader and first tried to force a mistake on the inside. When that didn't work after a lap he tried the outside line to get around Shawn McConnell. All of his efforts were to no avail and Shawn McConnell was first to the checkered flag. Ramirez had to settle for second, Russell finished third, and Troy McConnell was fourth.

The first time the tapes went up in the Support Main Event a crash in turn one brought that try to a halt. On the restart Geoff Herkner led all four laps and was first to the finish line. Davey Shaw was second, Tim McGrath finished third, and Ed Lynch was credited with fourth.

Kurtis Hamill led the Youth 250 Main Event from start to finish en route to victory. Hayley Perrault finished second and Dalton Leedy was third.

Courtney Crone turned in five smooth laps and was victorious in the Youth 200 Main Event. Dryden LeoGrande finished second, Michael Wells was third, Sebastian Palmese finished fourth, Dylan Smith was fifth, and Dryden Gayle finished sixth.

Sara Cords held off the hard-charging Luke Whitcomb to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Jake Troutt finished third, Jonas LeoGrande was fourth, and Nick Dunn finished fifth.


Pee Wee Main Event
14 - Sara Cords 40
27 - Luke Whitcomb 40
326 - Jake Troutt 0
185 - Jonas LeoGrande 0
76 - Nick Dunn 0

Youth 200cc Main Event
4 - Courtney Crone 0
185 - Dryden LeoGrande 0
214 - Michael Wells 20
18 - Sebastian Palmese 20
13 - Dylan Smith 0
192 - Dryden Gayle 0

Youth 250cc Main Event
104 - Kurtis Hamill
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy

Support Main Event (restarted)
208 - Geoff Herkner
145 - Davey Shaw
186 - Tim McGrath
354 - Ed Lynch (non starter - restart)

First Division Last Chance (restarted twice)
114 - Troy McConnell
86 - Neil Facchini (penalty line)
37 - Joe Donaldson
48 - Tyson Talkington (penalty line)

First Division Main Event (restarted)
6 - Shawn McConnell
66 - Jason Ramirez
23 - Steve Russell
114 - Troy McConnell
26 - Tyson Burmeister (non starter - restart)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.