American Speedway  

2013 Pirate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

2013 Pirate Speedway

Pirate Speedway
National Orange Show
Arrowhead Ave
San Bernardino, California 92408

Fan Appreciation Night
July 19, 2013 - Pirate Speedway - San Bernardino
By: Ryan Evans - Photos by Dorcey Wingo

2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
Pee Wee Main, with Luke on the 50. "Lightning" Luke Whitcomb, on the edge. Tanner Richey makes it two Pirate wins in a row.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
150cc Main Event.  Courtney Crone, in the lead. Crone goes wide in turn four, and Sebastian Palmese (inside) hits the afterburner.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
In an early 250cc race, Dryden Gayle (in yellow) begins an impressive loop, which ended his day. 250cc Main Event, Broc Nicol makes it look easy for the win. 3rd Division action. Heavy weights!
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
#116 Chris Jones, going for the checkered flag. 2nd Division action: John Pavia, aka "Racer X." Sidecar Last Chance.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
Driggers and Driggers advance to the Main Event. 1st Division Action: Jason Ramirez gets in some hot laps. 1st Division early action: #86 Neil Facchini (left) holds off Shawn McConnell.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
1st Division Last Chance. #23 Steve Russell holds off #6, "Mad Dog" McConnell. 1st Division Main Event: #321 Russell Green, being chased by Fast Eddie.
2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway 2013 Pirate Speedway
#14 "Fast" Eddie Castro makes a great outside pass to win it! Sidecar Main Event. #1 Joe Jones and Johnny Glover take the lead over Bryan Motis and Sidecar Josh.
  2013 Pirate Speedway  
  Busted! Dual Anderson gets help to haul his sidecar off the track.  

Fan Appreciation Night - San Bernardino, CA, USA - July 19

"Fast" Eddie Castro finished his flawless performance with a fabulous come-from-behind victory in the main event to finish a fantastic evening of racing on Fan Appreciation Night at Pirate Speedway.

Castro and Russell Green both entered the Scratch Main Event undefeated and had to draw to determine who would pick their starting position first. Castro won the draw and immediately chose gate one. Green was unfazed and picked gate five. Castro was first off the line when the tapes went up and led the field as they entered turn one. Green wasn't first off the line but he had a clear path around the outside and he used the deep dirt to propel himself into the lead on the back straight. Castro was undeterred by losing the lead and hounded Green on the inside line the next two laps. Castro switched his attack to the outside and raced around Green as they took the white flag. Green tried to repay the veteran but one lap was not enough for retribution and Castro was first to the checkered flag. Green had to settle for second, former Junior National Champion Jason Ramirez finished third, Steve Russell was fourth, and Neil Facchini finished fifth.

Castro kicked off the heats with a win over Facchini. Green passed Russell to win the second heat. Ramirez defeated Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell to end round one.

Castro started the round two by beating Russell. McConnell held off Facchini to win event 10. Green beat Ramirez to complete the second round.

Green opened the final round of heats with his third straight victory. Russell beat Ramirez for his first win of the night. Castro concluded the heats by beating McConnell to match Green's perfect score.

Facchini led the first semi for a lap before Green swept around the outside in turn two and took over the lead. They remained in that order and both transferred to the main event. Ramirez used the outside to get to the front of the second semi but Castro used the ample cushion to get the lead and the win with Ramirez following him into the main.

Russell and McConnell had a great four-lap battle in the Last Chance with Russell ultimately getting the win and the last spot in the main event field.

Wade Whitcomb led the Support Main Event into turn one but John "Racer X" Pavia passed him on the back straight. Pavia's turn at the front lasted a lap before Chris Jones went around him at the end of the second lap. Jones never looked back and raced away with the victory. Ron Davis was second, Mike Wiley finished third, Pavia was fourth, Kevin "Rip" Fife was fifth, and Whitcomb finished sixth.

Junior National Champion Broc Nicol didn't get a great start in the Junior 250 Main Event but was aggressive entering turn one and emerged with the lead on the back straight. Nicol extended his lead with each lap and cruised to victory. Dalton Leedy finished second and Hayley Perrault was third.

Jake Isaac led the Mini 150 Main Event for a lap before Courtney Crone went by on the back straight. Crone was then under pressure from Sebastian "Big Daddy" Palmese. Palmese searched high and low to get by Crone for three laps but was unsuccessful. He made one last charge as they entered the final corner and it paid off when Crone went wide and Palmese snuck by on the inside for the win.

Tanner Richey led all four laps en route to victory in the Pee Wee Main Event. Luke Whitcomb finished second, Nick Dunn was third, and Jason Palmese Jr. finished fourth.

The Sidecar Main Event began with a three-wide battle through turns one and two. National Champions Joe Jones and Johnny Glover surged ahead of their fellow combatants on the back straight and secured the lead as they entered turn three. Jones and Glover were flawless the rest of the way and were first to the finish line. Bryan Motis and Josh Bennett were second, Dual Anderson and Ethan Smith finished third, and Casey Driggers and Riley Driggers were fourth.


Sidecar Last Chance
13 – Casey Driggers/Riley Driggers
66 – Gerard Jackson/Anthony Jackson
81 – Dan Rapaport/Jacob Serrato

Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
2 - Bryan Motis/Josh Bennett
007 - Dual Anderson/Ethan Smith
13 - Casey Driggers/Riley Driggers

Pee Wee Main Event
13 - Tanner Richey 0
27 - Luke Whitcomb 50
76 - Nick Dunn 0
795 - Jason Palmese Jr. 0

Mini 150 Main Event
18 - Sebastian Palmese 50
4 - Courtney Crone 50
16 - Jake Isaac 0

Junior 250 Main Event
1 - Broc Nicol
222 - Dalton Leedy
0 - Hayley Perrault
73 - Dryden Gayle (non-starter)

Support Main Event
116 - Chris Jones 30
163 - Ron Davis 30
101 - Mike Wiley 20
355 - John Pavia 10
311 - Kevin Fife 10
227 - Wade Whitcomb 0

Scratch Main Event
14 - Eddie Castro
321 - Russell Green
66 - Jason Ramirez
23 - Steve Russell
86 - Neil Facchini

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.