American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead
Arrowhead Speedway
June 6, 2001
From Ryan Evans


San Bernardino experienced a youth movement Wednesday night as Billy Janniro captured the Scratch Main and Ryan Fisher was victorious in the Handicap Main at Arrowhead Motor Speedway.

Gary Hicks started from the pole and took the lead in turn one of the Scratch Main and held coming out of turn two. Janniro went to the outside and made a daring move entering turn three. Although it looked like Janniro would run out of room trying to pass Hicks, he was able to complete the outside pass on the front straight. Hicks tried to get back at Janniro on the inside in turn one but was unable to do so. From that point on it was all Janniro who ran away with his second consecutive Scratch Main. Hicks remained in second, Bobby Schwartz was third, and Josh Larsen was fourth.

Shaun Harmatiuk started alone on the 10 in the Handicap Main for the second week in a row. He was pressured right away by Jim Estes on the outside, but Harmatiuk stood his ground the first lap. At the end of lap one Fisher entered the picture and was looking down low to pass Harmatiuk. Entering turn three the second time Harmatiuk left an opening on the inside and Fisher capitalized to take the lead. Fisher opened up a comfortable lead and was never challenged over the final six laps and was victorious for the first time on the new oval. Janniro moved through the field to finish second, Larsen was third, Hicks was fourth, and Randy DiFrancesco was fifth.

Rick Valdez rode four smooth laps to capture the first Second Division B Main Event of his career. Valdez, who is sponsored by rider Jeff Blaydes, started from the 10 and held everyone back for the victory. Robert Fiesler finished second, Tomasz Hampel finished third, Scott Tidwell finished fourth, Billy Braden was fifth, and Kodiak Calkin was unable to start.

Jeff Blaydes, after seeing the rider he sponsors come away with a victory, was not going to be outdone and won the Second Division Main Event for the second consecutive week, but it took some luck to pull it off. Chad Newlee led from the 10 yard line at the start. Newlee, who won the 2nd Division B Main Event last week, was also looking to make it two in a row and was on his way until Blaydes put pressure on him. Entering turn one on the fourth lap, Blaydes went low and Newlee drifted wide before going down. Blaydes took the lead but was immediately pressured by Bobby Krips who moved up to second and appeared to be a worthy challenger for the lead. Blaydes turned it up a notch and Krips was unable to challenge the leader as Blaydes took the victory. Krips was second, John DeFries was third, Gerry Duttweiler was fourth, Philip Williams was fifth, and Newlee was sixth.


2nd Division B Consolation
115 - Mark Baldwin               10
205 - Mike Lewis                 10
228 - Shane Kump                 20
178 - Eloy Medellin              20
171 - Ken Montague               10   (non starter)
107 - Monte McKeon               20   (non starter)

2nd Division B Main Event
293 - Rick Valdez                10
106 - Robert Fiesler             20
174 - Tomasz Hampel              10
118 - Scott Tidwell              20
117 - Billy Braden               10  
350 - Kodiak Calkin              10   (non starter)

2nd Division Consolation
182 - Rudy Laurer                20
336 - Bill Green               10
162 - Mike Lupo                  30   (fell, remounted)
100 - Phil Harmatiuk             10   (non starter)

2nd Division Consolation
165 - Randy Kreps                10
131 - David Lynch                30
125 - Johnny Lupo                20
103 - Brent Smith                10
147 - Winston Williams           10
321 - Billy Lyons                 30   (non starter)

2nd Division Main Event
173 - Jeff Blaydes               20
223 - Bobby Krips                30
316 - John DeFries               30
200 - Gerry Duttweiler           30
239 - Philip Williams            10
123 - Chad Newlee                10   (fell, remounted)

Handicap Main Event
36 - Ryan Fisher                 40
14n - Billy Janniro              50
 4 - Josh Larsen                 50
 3 - Gary Hicks                  50
12 - Randy DiFrancesco           40
15 - Dukie Ermolenko             50
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk            10
56 - Jim Estes                   30

Scratch Consolation
36 - Ryan Fisher
15 - Dukie Ermolenko
12 - Randy DiFrancesco
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk

Scratch Main Event
14n - Billy Janniro
 3 - Gary Hicks
11 - Bobby Schwartz
 4 - Josh Larsen
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.