American Speedway  

2001 Arrowhead Motor Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2001 West Coast Results Page

Arrowhead Motor Speedway
San Bernardino, California

2001 Arrowhead
Arrowhead Speedway
June 27, 2001
From Ryan Evans


"Gorgeous" Gary Hicks went home with bittersweet feelings Wednesday Night as he captured the Handicap Main, but suffered a mechanical failure while leading the Scratch Main at Arrowhead Motor Speedway in San Bernardino.

The Handicap Main featured a head-to-head battle between the Lupo Brothers, Johnny and Mike, who both started on the zero yard line. The other four competitors all started on the 50 yard line as the complete Scratch Main lineup would be taking their places next to each other in the Handicap Main as well. From the inside to the outside it was Ryan Fisher, Hicks, Dukie Ermolenko, and Bobby Schwartz.

Mike Lupo beat his brother, Johnny, into turn one and held him back through the first lap. Hicks was the first of the back yardage riders to make it to the front and passed Johnny Lupo on the second lap and set his sights on Mike Lupo. Hicks passed Mike Lupo entering turn one on lap three and Fisher followed him past. Fisher camped on Hicks' back tire but couldn't make any headway through four laps as Hicks fought off the 17 year old's challenge. On the fifth lap, Johnny Lupo made contact with the fence on the back straight and went down forcing a red flag. Referee Steve Lucero declared the race over with Hicks taking the victory, Fisher getting second, Ermolenko was credited with third, Mike Lupo was fourth, Schwartz was fifth, and Johnny Lupo was sixth.

Hicks made an excellent trap from the outside in the Scratch Main to take the lead on lap one. Hicks was well on his way to scoring his second double main event victory of the season when he lost a primary chain on the second lap. Hicks' loss was Fisher's gain as the former Junior National Champion took over the lead and cruised to his second consecutive Scratch Main Event victory. Ermolenko was second, Schwartz was third, and a disappointed Hicks was fourth.

Last week's Second Division B winner, Tomasz Hampel, took the lead going into turn one of the Second Division Main. Hampel's lead would be short-lived, however, as Los Angeles Police Officer, Robert "The Sarge" Fiesler took the lead from the Polish rider at the end of lap one. Hampel stayed close to Fiesler through lap three, but at the beginning of lap four David Lynch took over second. Lynch closed ground on Fiesler and got close entering turn one the last time, but Fiesler kept his composure and held off Lynch to take his first Second Division Main Event. Lynch was second, Hampel finished third, Chad Newlee was fourth, Brent Smith was fifth, and Philip Williams was sixth.

Jeremiah LeBlanc took the lead at the start of the Second Division B Main Event. LeBlanc, making his San Bernardino debut, held the lead for two laps, but at the beginning of lap three Billy Braden passed him for the lead. Braden then ran away with his first ever main event victory. Rohn Zellner finished second, Shane Kump was third, Kim Stevens was fourth, Kodiak Calkin was fifth, and LeBlance suffered a mechanical failure and finished sixth.

One notable spectator among the standing-room-only crowd Wednesday Night was Grand National Dirt Track rider Kevin Atherton. Atherton enjoyed watching speedway and was very impressed with the show.

Next Wednesday is Independence Day and will feature a fireworks show after the races. Please note that the racing will begin at 7:30 p.m. next week instead of the usual 8:00 starting time. The fireworks show will begin at 9:30 and all riders and fans are invited to hang out and enjoy the fireworks show. Everyone is encouraged to bring lawn chairs because riders and fans will be required to watch the fireworks from the parking lot.


Second Division B Consolation
118 - Scott Tidwell         20
310 - K.G. Fairbarn        10
327 - Colby Calkin          10

Second Division B Main Event
117 - Billy Braden          20
163 - Rohn Zellner         20
228 - >Shane Kump            20
197 - Kim Stevens           10
350 - Kodiak Calkin         10
137 - Jeremiah LeBlanc      10

Second Division Consolation
293 - Rick Valdez            0
148 - Chris Metoyer         10
147 - Winston Williams      10  (fell)

Second Division Main Event
106 - Robert Fiesler         0
131 - David Lynch           30
174 - Tomasz Hampel          0
123 - Chad Newlee            0
103 - Brent Smith           10
239 - Philip Williams       10  (fell, remounted)

  3 - Justin Boyle

Handicap Main Event
  3 - Gary Hicks            50
 36 - Ryan Fisher           50
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko       50
162 - >Mike Lupo              0
 11 - Bobby Schwartz        50
125 - Johnny Lupo            0

Scratch Consolation
223 - Bobby Krips
 56 - Jim Estes
 82 - Marco Morello
316 - John DeFries

Scratch Main Event
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  3 - Gary Hicks              	(retired)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.