American Speedway  

2005 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Industry Hills Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

August 24, 2005 - Industry Hills Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

2005 Bobby Schwartz

Two weeks after his 49th birthday Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz treated everyone with a vintage performance while earning a very popular main event victory at The Grand in Industry Hills.

Before the main event could get started several riders got into the tapes. The referee determined that Charlie "The Edge" Venegas jumped first and he was excluded. When the tapes finally went up polesitting Ryan Fisher left the line first but Schwartz beat him to turn one. Schwartz drifted a little wide on the back straight, but just when it appeared that Fisher would take advantage Schwartz slammed the door on him as they entered turn three. Fisher unsuccessfully tried the inside on the second lap before switching his attack to the outside. Fisher pulled along side Schwartz on the third lap but couldn't edge ahead. Fisher made another attempt on the outside on the last lap but appeared to lose ground on the back straight. Schwartz was first to the checkered flag and received a rousing ovation for his effort. Fisher was second, Buck Blair finished third, and Venegas was credited with fourth.

The first race of the evening was awarded to Blair after Robbie Sauer went down on the final lap. Billy Hiles defeated Nate Perkins to win race seven. Fisher beat Jimmy Fishback for his first win but suffered engine problems after the race. Venegas finished the round by beating Brad Sauer.

Sauer jumped in front in round two's first race but Venegas powered around the outside for the lead and went on to victory. Blair made it two for two by beating Chris Kerr. Without a machine, Fisher was prepared to concede race 18 but Venegas loaned him his spare bike and Fisher rode it to victory. Schwartz finished the second round with a win over Fishback.

Kerr began the final round with a win over Brad Sauer. Nate Perkins held off Schwartz to win race 24. Venegas remained perfect by winning the next race. Blair led Fisher in a battle of unbeatens before Fisher used the outside to take the lead on lap two and take the win in the final heat.

Fisher got the start in the first semi while Schwartz appeared to be hung out on the outside. The wily veteran rider made a bold move to the pole in front of Kerr in turn three and made it stick. The positions remained unchanged with Fisher winning and Schwartz getting second to earn spots in the main. Sauer got the start in the second semi but Venegas and Blair went by at the end of lap one. Venegas took the win and Blair was second to complete the main event field. Sauer got the start in the Consolation and fought off Kerr's race-long outside challenge to record the win.

Rudy Laurer got the start in the Second Division Main Event and led for three laps before Bryan Buffington went by on the inside entering turn one. Buffington held on from there to win his second main event of the year. Laurer finished second, Eloy Medellin was third, and Steve Dziadus, Jr. finished fourth.

Mike Lane, making his debut, led the Third Division Main on the first lap. Greg Vandemore went through traffic from the 20 yard line and passed Lane at the end of the second lap. Vandemore experienced troubles entering turn one and went down, handing the lead back to Lane. The race had to be stopped and Lane was awarded the victory since half of the laps were completed. Mark Skeels was second, Matt McBride was third, Steve Dziadus, Sr. was fourth, Mike Bershee was fifth, and Vandemore was sixth.Ryan Fisher

Rocco Scopellite came from the back to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Trevor Sargent was second, Austin Santana finished third, and Dominic Manzares was fourth.
Krystal Cramer warmed up for the Youth National Championship by overcoming a 50 yard handicap in less than two laps to win the Youth Main Event. Cramer executed a fantastic outside pass on Joey Holt to take the lead before going on to victory. Dane Adams was second, Gino Manzares finished third, Holt was fourth, and Russell Green finished fifth.

There will be two events at The Grand next week. There will be speedway and sidecars on Wednesday, August 31 and the round two of the AMA U.S. National Speedway Championship on Saturday, September 3.

Pee Wee Main Event
  7 - Rocco Scopellite           
 99 - Trevor Sargent
 14 - Austin Santana
195 - Dominic Manzares

Youth Main Event
 13 - Krystal Cramer     		50
 23 - Dane Adams              	20
 21 - Gino Manzares           	20
114 - Joey Holt                	 0
 18 - Russell Green           	 0

Third Division Consolation
132 - Justin Hassan            	 0
313 - Robert Glamuzina        	10
101 - Wayne Isaac              	 0
150 - Damon Barry             	10
308 - Hugh Randolph            	 0
193 - Billy Swaim             	10	(non starter)

Third Division Main Event (awarded)
141 - Mike Lane              	 0
151 - Mark Skeels             	10
140 - Matt McBride            	10
212 - Steve Dziadus, Sr.      		20
391 - Mike Bershee            	10
209 - Greg Vandemore           	20	(fell)

Second Division Consolation
280 - Kerry Sorensen
269 - Ed Martinez
336 - Bill Green
309 - Vince Giamformaggio    	(fell)

Second Division Semi
177 - Bryan Buffington
272 - Steve Dziadus, Jr.
390 - Troy Robinson
171 - Kenny Hansen

Second Division Semi
182 - Rudy Laurer
178 - Eloy Medellin
163 - Rohn Zellner
213 - Mark Sincavage

Second Division Main Event
177 - Bryan Buffington
182 - Rudy Laurer
178 - Eloy Medellin
272 - Steve Dziadus, Jr.

First Division Scoring		1	2	3	T
 11 - Bobby Schwartz   		2     	3    	2    	7 
 17 - Robbie Sauer             	F    	1    	1     	2
 21 - Brad Sauer               	2     	2    	2      	6
 25 - Jimmy Fishback           	2     	2    	0      	4
 27n - Chris Kerr             	1     	2    	3      	6
 36 - Ryan Fisher              	3    	3    	3     	9
 39 - Buck Blair               	3     	3    	2      	8
 43 - Charlie Venegas          	3     	3    	3      	9
 44n - Billy Hiles             	3     	1    	1      	5
120 - Skyler Greyson          	1     	2    	1      	4
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         	1     	1    	2      	4
301 - Dale Facchini            	1    	0    	1      	2
389 - Nate Perkins             	2    	1    	3      	6

Race Results
 6: (restarted) (awarded) Blair, Schwartz, Kerr, R.Sauer (tape penalty) (fell)
 7: Hiles, Perkins, Harmatiuk
 8: (awarded) Fisher, Fishback, Facchini (fell)
 9: Venegas, B.Sauer, Greyson
16: Venegas, B.Sauer, Hiles, Facchini
17: Blair, Kerr, Harmatiuk
18: Fisher, Greyson, R.Sauer
19: Schwartz, Fishback, Perkins
23: Kerr, B.Sauer, R.Sauer, Fishback (fell, remounted)
24: Perkins, Schwartz, Facchini
25: Venegas, Harmatiuk, Greyson
26: Fisher, Blair, Hiles
Semi #1: Fisher, Schwartz, Kerr, Hiles
Semi #2: Venegas, Blair, B.Sauer, Perkins

First Division Consolation
 21 - Brad Sauer
389 - Nate Perkins
 27n - Chris Kerr
 44n - Billy Hiles

First Division Main Event
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 36 - Ryan Fisher
 39 - Buck Blair
 43 - Charlie Venegas  (tape exclusion)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.