American Speedway  

2006 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2006 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Spring Classic
May 6, 2006 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

The world famous Costa Mesa oval may have a new look but the Scratch Main Event winner was the most familiar of names as Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz was victorious at the annual Spring Classic.

Schwartz drew the pole position for the main event and it proved advantageous at the start as he launched into the lead when the tapes went up. He was challenged immediately by National Champion Chris Manchester who had started in gate five. The two battled shoulder-to-shoulder for two laps with Manchester edging ahead on the straights and Schwartz leading in the corners. Schwartz pulled ahead on lap three and Manchester switched his attack to the inside. Manchester boasted a valiant attack, but it was to no avail as Schwartz was first to the checkered flag. Dukie Ermolenko returned after a one-year layoff to finish third, Eddie Castro was fourth, and Charlie Venegas finished fifth.

George Fox led the Handicap Main for one and a half laps before going down as he entered turn three. This caused riders and bikes to slide and tumble everywhere, leaving Charlie Venegas as the only rider upright after the dust settled. Justin Boyle seemed to get the worst of the pileup with an apparent shoulder injury, but the former Under 21 National Champion chose to restart.

Boyle was at the front of the field for the restart after Fox was penalized and had the daunting task of holding off seven opponents for eight laps with a sore shoulder. Boyle was up to the task as he calmly held off all challenges, including those in the last several laps from Nate Perkins, to win the Handicap Main. Perkins settled for second, Ryan Fisher was third, Venegas finished fourth, and Buck Blair was fifth.

Rohn Zellner led the Support Main put together four smooth laps and led the Support Main from start to finish. Chris Metoyer was second, Johnny Lupo finished third, and Rick Valdez was fourth.

The Support B Main Event had to be restarted after Steve Dziadus Jr. fell and brought out the red flag. Steve Bowen was never seriously challenged on the restart and took home the victory. Mike Boyle finished second, Monte McKeon was third, Robert Glamuzina finished fourth, Steve Dziadus Jr. was fifth, and Ryan Tovat was sixth.

The Spring Classic was the first event on the calendar for Costa Mesa's 38th consecutive season of speedway. The facility underwent a facelift over the winter with all new bleachers installed on the back straight and in the turns. Also, the track itself was widened which should encourage faster and safer racing.


Support B Consolation (restarted)
194 - Tony Bracy                  	20
288 - Rick Fritch                   	10
391 - Mike Bershee              	20   (fell, remounted)
309 - Vince Giamformaggio         	10   (fell)

Support B Consolation
326 - Mike Lane                   	10
273 - Matt Moncrest             	20
169 - Dan Wensloff               	20
308 - Hugh Randolph                  	10
286 - John Zuber                   	20   (fell)
191 - Jared Smith                 	20   (non starter)

Support Main Event (restarted)
177 - Steve Bowen                	10
198 - Mike Boyle                  	20
107 - Monte McKeon                  	20
313 - Robert Glamuzina              	10
272 - Steve Dziadus, Jr.              	10   (penalty line) (fell, remounted)
389 - Ryan Tovat                  	10   (non starter)

Support Consolation
228 - Shane Kump
181 - Michael Novratil
185 - Keith Mullally
338 - Dave Delbridge

Support Consolation
178 - Eloy Medellin
 29e - Harold Hartke
118 - Scott Tidwell
150 - Damon Barry

Support Consolation
 77 - Bryan Buffington
117 - Billy Braden           		(fell, remounted)
182 - Rudy Laurer           		(fell)
214 - Steve Murray         		(fell)

Support Main Event
163 - Rohn Zellner
148 - Chris Metoyer
125 - Johnny Lupo
293 - Rick Valdez

Handicap Main Event
 18 - Justin Boyle                 	20
 13 - Nate Perkins                	30
 36 - Ryan Fisher                  	40
 43 - Charlie Venegas                 	50
 39 - Buck Blair                    	30
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk               	30
 40n - Tommy Hedden                 	30
 29 - George Fox                  	10   (penalty line) (fell)

Last Chance (restarted)
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
 40n - Tommy Hedden
 36 - Ryan Fisher            		(retired)
 24 - Bobby Krips           		(fell, excluded)

Scratch Main Event
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  1 - Chris Manchester
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
 14 - Eddie Castro
 43 - Charlie Venegas
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.