American Speedway  

2007 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2007 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Jack Milne Cup - Legends of Speedway
June 23, 2007 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria had a perfect night and became the first three-time winner of the prestigious Jack Milne Cup at the world famous bullring oval in Costa Mesa.

Faria launched out of his gate one starting position and into the lead entering turn one. Gary Hicks, who started in gate five was second into the first bend and slotted in behind Faria. Hicks, who is the grand-nephew of Jack Milne, chased down the leader to try to become the first three-time winner himself. Faria was not to be deterred, though, and never wavered en route to the victory. Hicks had to settle for second, Ricky Wells was third, Shawn McConnell finished fourth, and Shaun Harmatiuk was fifth.

Hicks began the first of three rounds of heat races with a win over Buck Blair. Faria scored his first win in heat two while McConnell snuck by Harmatiuk for second. Schwartz was awarded the win in race three after Sterling Cogarwas deemed the cause of the stoppage for bringing down Dale Facchini. Wells earned his first win ahead of Bobby Krips and Phil Collins, who made an unannounced return after sixteen years, to end round one.

Round two started with Neil Facchini getting the victory over Krips. Faria roared to his second straight win by defeating Wells in race ten. Schwartz beat Blair and McConnell for his second win. Harmatiuk defeated Mike Bloomto conclude the second round.

The final round started with Faria completing the heats undefeated with Jimmy Fishback finishing second. Harmatiuk was awarded the win in race seventeen, but all eyes were on Collins who turned in a vintage outside performance to pass Schwartz for second. However, he broke a primary chain in the final corner and fell, which cost him a spot in the semis. Hicks defeated Justin Boyleand Krips to win the next race. Wells was awarded the win in the final heat. Fishback and Neil Facchini finished one-two in a runoff with Bloom to earn the final two spots in the semis.

Schwartz led into turn one in the first semi, but went wide and found no grip in turn two and allowed Wells and McConnell to get by on the inside. Schwartz tried to make the outside work, but it was to no avail and Wells and McConnell were on their way to the main. The second semi was all Faria who led Harmatiuk into the main. Hicks held off every challenge Schwartz could muster in the Last Chance to take the final slot in the main.

Vince Giamformaggio put together four smooth laps to take home the Support Main Event victory. Bryan Buffingtonfinished second, Justin Hassan was third, Damon Barryfinished fourth, and Rudy Laurer was fifth.

Jim Lavender won his first-ever Costa Mesa Support B Main Event. Daniel Faria finished second, Fred Remington was third, Airimis Santana finished fourth, and Charlie Ousley was fifth.

Costa Mesa hosted a 50+ class for the first time in its 39 year history. The class was primarily filled by current Support and Support B riders, but Jim "The Animal" Fishback delighted the crowd and many in the pit area by competing. Unfortunately, he did not compete in the main because he was using his son's bike and he had a runoff just before the 50+ Main Event.

Rick Farron scored an easy win in the 50+ Main Event. Carl Gazafy finished second, Robert Glamuzina was third, and Fishback was credited with fourth.

The Jack Milne Cup honors the 1937 World Speedway Champion who was a pioneer of speedway in its early days and was also an integral part of its rebirth in Southern California in the late 1960s. Milne helped Harry Oxley bring speedway to the Orange County Fairgrounds in Costa Mesa and was a fixture at the world famous track throughout the final years of his life.


50+ Main Event 
147 - Rick Farron 
176 - Carl Gazafy 
313 - Robert Glamuzina 
275 - Jim Fishback   		(non starter) 

Support B Consolation 
714 - Joe Dillard 300 - Jason Dupuy
 00 - Toni Hicks (non starter)
159 - James Ruhuman    		(non starter) 

Support B Main Event 
102 - Jim Lavender 105n - Daniel Faria
152 - Fred Remington 357 - Airimis Santana
312 - Charlie Ousley 

Support Last Chance 
182 - Rudy Laurer 
383 - Randy Skinner 
241 - John Marquez 
136 - Kim Stevens 

Support Main Event 
309 - Vince Giamformaggio 
77 - Bryan Buffington
132 - Justin Hassan 
150 - Damon Barry
182 - Rudy Laurer 

Jack Milne Cup Scoring         		1  2  3    T 
  3 - Gary Hicks 4  2  4    10
  6 - Shawn McConnell 3  2  3    8
  9 - Mike Faria 4  4  4    12
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 4  4  3    11
 18 - Justin BoyleR  0  3    3
 19 - Dale Facchini 3  F  1    4
 22 - Mike Bloom1  3  2    6
 24 - Bobby Krips 3  3  2    8
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 2  1  3    6
 25E - Phil Collins2  2  1    5
 27 - Sterling CogarX  1  1    2
 37 - Denny Scopellite F  1  N    1
 39 - Buck Blair3  3  2    8
 48 - Chris Metoyer 1  2  2    5
 55 - Travis Henderson 0  0  R    0
 86 - Neil Facchini 1  4  1    6
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 2  4  4    10
142 - Ricky Wells 4  3  4    11
178 - Eloy Medellin 2  1  0    3
249 - John Stunkard 1  0  F    1 

Race Results 1: Hicks, Blair, Fishback (tape penalty), Stunkard, Boyle (retired)
 2: Faria, McConnell, Harmatiuk, N.Facchini, Henderson
 3: (awarded) Schwartz, D.Facchini, Medellin, Bloom, Cogar (excluded)
 4: Wells, Krips, Collins, Metoyer, Scopellite (fell)
 9: N.Facchini, Krips, Metoyer, Fishback (fell, remounted), D.Facchini (fell)
10: Faria, Wells, Hicks, Cogar, Stunkard
11: Schwartz, Blair, McConnell, Scopelllite, Henderson
12: Harmatiuk, Bloom, Collins, Medellin, Boyle
16: Faria, Fishback, Blair, Cogar, Medellin
17: (awarded) Harmatiuk, Schwartz, Metoyer, Collins (fell)
18: (restarted) Hicks, Boyle, Krips (penalty line), D.Facchini, Stunkard (fell)
19: (awarded) Wells, McConnell, Bloom, N.Facchini (fell), Henderson (retired) 

Runoff: Fishback, N.Facchini, Blooom 

Semi #1: Wells, McConnell, Schwartz, N.Facchini (fell, remounted), Krips (fell, remounted) 
Semi #2: Faria, Harmatiuk, Hicks, Blair, Fishback 

Last Chance 
3 - Gary Hicks 
11 - Bobby Schwartz 86 - N.Facchini
 39 - Buck Blair
 Jack Milne Cup Final 
 9 - Mike Faria 
 3 - Gary Hicks 
 142 - Ricky Wells 
 6 - Shawn McConnell 
 139 - Shaun Harmatiuk 
 Past Winners 
 1998 - Bobby Schwartz 
 1999 - Gary Hicks 
 2000 - Charlie Venegas 
 2001 - Gary Hicks 
 2002 - Scott Brant
 2003 - Scott Brant
 2004 - Mike Faria 
 2005 - Mike Faria 
 2006 - Charlie Venegas
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.