American Speedway  

2008 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

June 28, 2008 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell collected a double main event victory for the second consecutive week in a remarkable performance at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

The Scratch Main began with Buck Blair getting a slightly better start than Jason Ramirez. Blair’s lead wasn’t enough to come across to the inside and Ramirez pushed the Colorado native wide in the first bend. McConnell used a savvy veteran move and cutback under his younger combatants and seized the lead on the back straight. Blair surged ahead of Ramirez for second, but McConnell had already established a comfortable lead. McConnell was never threatened and led all the way to the checkered flag. Blair was second, Ramirez finished third, Bobby Schwartz was fourth, and Justin Boyle finished fifth.

Brad Sauer led the eight-rider Handicap Main Event field into turn one with Justin Boyle not far behind. McConnell, just as he had done the week before, picked his way through the field quickly. McConnell passed Boyle for second on the third lap and set his sights on Sauer. McConnell passed Sauer for the win the previous week, but Sauer still held the lead entering the final lap. McConnell tailed the leader down the back straight, but it didn’t look as if Sauer would flinch. Sauer left the narrowest of openings coming out of the final corner and McConnell charged up the inside to steal the victory in the final 20 yards. Boyle finished third, Blair was fourth, and Mike Bloom finished fifth.

Bryan Buffington got the best start and led the entire distance for his third consecutive Support Main Event victory. Rick Farron was second, Steve Dziadus finished third, and Billy Braden was fourth.

Mike Boyle took the early lead in the Support B Main Event, but was under immediate pressure from Jonni Jade. Jade was steadfast with his pressure and his persistence paid off on the third lap when he passed Boyle on the inside for the lead. The English native led the rest of the way for the win. Ralph Chudy was second, Dan Wensloff finished third, Toni Hicks was fourth, Jim Lavender finished fifth, and Boyle suffered bike problems that relegated him to sixth.

Joey Holt was awarded the victory in the Youth First Division Main Event after the red flag came out. Rocco Scopellite was second and Chad Hoyt was credited with third.

River McDougall was smooth and fast from start to finish en route to the Youth Second Division Main Event victory. Major Davis finished second and Samuel Ramirez was third.

The 250cc junior bikes returned to Costa Mesa for the first time in well over a decade with a special exhibition. Brad Pappalardo, Joey Holt, and Gino Manzares took to the track three times throughout the evening. The trio provided an excellent showcase for the fans, as well as the promoters, and they’re hoping for more opportunities to display their talent at Costa Mesa in the future.

There will not be any speedway meetings at Costa Mesa until the annual Fair Derby on Friday, July 18. Ricky Wells became the youngest rider to ever claim the prestigious bronze-hat trophy and he has no plans on relinquishing his title without a fierce battle.


Youth Second Division Main Event (restarted)
 43 – River McDougall
999 – Major Davis
 22 – Samuel Ramirez		(penalty line)

Youth First Division Main Event (awarded)
  4 – Joey Holt
  9 – Rocco Scopellite
154 – Chad Hoyt			(fell)

Youth 250cc Exhibition
 21 – Gino Manzares
  4 – Joey Holt
611 – Brad Pappalardo

Support B Consolation
124 – Paul Thornton
292 – Mike Schultz		(fell, remounted)
308 – Hugh Randolph
303 – Bill Carr
226 – Rick Huspek		

Support B Main Event
266 – Jonni Jade	
362 – Ralph Chudy
169 – Dan Wensloff
 00 – Toni Hicks
102 – Jim Lavender
198 – Mike Boyle		(retired)

Support Consolation (restarted)
202 – J.C. Masters
172 – Jim Painter		(penalty line)
252 – Jeff Remington
106 – Robert Fiesler		(non starter)

Support Consolation
150 – Damon Barry
176 – Carl Gazafy
153 – Brad Moreau
209 – Greg Vandemore		(non starter)

Support Semi
 77 – Bryan Buffington
147 – Rick Farron
338 – Dave Delbridge
232 – Allen Doss		(fell, remounted)

Support Semi (awarded)
117 – Billy Braden
212 – Steve Dziadus
213 – Mark Sincavage
326 – Mark Lane			(fell)

Handicap Main Event
  6 – Shawn McConnell		40
 21 – Brad Sauer		10
 18 – Justin Boyle		20
 39 – Buck Blair		40
 22 – Mike Bloom		30
 11 – Bobby Schwartz		40
 93 – J.T. Mabry		30
120 – Doug Greyson		10

Last Chance
  6 – Shawn McConnell
 22 – Mike Bloom
 17 – Robbie Sauer
 30 – Tim Gomez			(non starter)

Scratch Main Event
  6 – Shawn McConnell
 39 – Buck Blair
 66 – Jason Ramirez
 11 – Bobby Schwartz
 18 – Justin Boyle
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.