American Speedway  

2013 Pirate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2013 California Results

2013 Pirate Speedway

2013 Pirate Speedway

Pirate Speedway
National Orange Show
Arrowhead Ave
San Bernardino, California 92408

2013 Benny Mears Night
June 7, 2013 - Pirate Speedway - San Bernardino
By: Ryan Evans

Facebook Photos from Howie - RAZ Video

"Battling" Buck Blair saved his best performances for the end of the evening and captured the main event on Benny Mears Night at Pirate Speedway.

Steve Russell, who had only been beaten once all evening, drew gate one for the main event. Brad Sauer, who won the Last Chance to get into the main, drew gate two. Blair, who didn't win any of his heat races, was in gate three. Tyson Talkington drew gate four. Aaron Fox, winner of a main event earlier in the season, was in gate five.

Blair was off the starting line first and held a slight advantage entering turn one but Fox was building momentum on the outside. The exited turn two handlebar-to-handlebar but Blair surged ahead in entering turn three while Fox couldn't make the outside stick and slid off. It would prove to be the only threat to the lead of the transplant from Colorado. Russell finished second, Talkington was third, Fox remounted to finish fourth, and Brad Sauer was fifth.

In the first semi Blair trapped from the outside and held off Fox for the win but both moved on to the main event. Russell led the second semi the entire way with Talkington following him into the main event.

The field entered the first turn four-wide in the Last Chance with Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell getting pushed toward the wall. Mike Fuson emerged from turn two with the lead and Brad Sauer right behind him. Shawn McConnell recovered from nearly falling and desperately chased after the leaders. His effort ended when he fell in turn four. Brad Sauer cut underneath Fuson for the lead at the end of lap one and he cruised to the victory. Fuson held on to second, Troy McConnell was third, and Shawn McConnell was credited with fourth.

Dave Troutt led the Support Main Event for a lap before Chris Jones went by on the back straight. Jones led before Dillon Osborne, who had started from the 30 yard line, took the lead. Osborne pulled away from the field and won handily. Jones finished second, Dave Troutt was third, Jeramiah Allen finished fourth, Sean McDougall was fifth, and Kevin Fife was sixth.

Hayley Perrault defeated Dalton Leedy in the Junior 250 Main Event.

Sara Cords gallantly held off the attack of Sebastian Palmese for two laps but succumbed to the pressure as they began lap three. Palmese ran away from there and took the win. Cords held on to second and Michael Wells finished third.

Nick Dunn was the initial leader of the Pee Wee Main Event but had Jonas LeoGrande closing fast behind him. Dunn held on to the lead until they approached the white flag and that's when LeoGrande went after the leader. LeoGrande took over and led the final lap to take home the victory. Dunn finished second, Jason Palmese Jr. was third, Tanner Richey finished fourth, and Brogen Sauer was sixth.

The next event at Pirate Speedway will be Harley Night. The evening will have all divisions of speedway, juniors, pee wees, and the ever-popular street-legal Harley races.


Pee Wee Main Event
185 - Jonas LeoGrande
76 - Nick Dunn
795 - Jason Palmese Jr.
13 - Tanner Richey
11 - Brogen Sauer

Mini 150cc Main Event
18 - Sebastian Palmese 30
14 - Sara Cords 0
214 - Michael Wells 30

Junior 250cc Main Event
0 - Hayley Perrault
222 - Dalton Leedy

Support Main Event (restarted)
164 - Dillon Osborne 30
116 - Chris Jones 20
210 - Dave Troutt 0
232 - Jeramiah Allen 0 (penalty line)
243 - Sean McDougall 20 (fell)
311 - Kevin Fife 10 (fell)

First Division Last Chance
21 - Brad Sauer
245 - Mike Fuson
114 - Troy McConnell
6 - Shawn McConnell (fell)

First Division Main Event
39 - Buck Blair
23 - Steve Russell
48 - Tyson Talkington
46 - Aaron Fox (fell, remounted)
21 - Brad Sauer (fell, remounted)

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.