American Speedway  

2004 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2004 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

September 11, 2004 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

"Flyin" Mike Faria

Mike Faria won the Scratch Main for the fifth time at Costa Mesa this season and Buck Blair captured his second Handicap Main of 2004 at the world famous oval on Saturday.

The action in the Scratch Main began before the tapes went up when former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas was penalized for touching the tapes. After the riders staged again, Faria trapped the field from gate five and secured the inside line and the lead. The three-time National Champion's grasp of the lead was never in doubt as he raced away with the main event. Bobby Schwartz finished second, Eddie Castro was third, Venegas finished fourth, and Randy DiFrancesco was fifth.

The Handicap Main began without 20 yard rider Justin Boyle who was involved in a crash in the Last Chance Race. This left three riders on the 30 to battle an important drag race to the first turn. Colorado native Buck Blair beat Andy Northrup and DiFrancesco to turn one and took the lead. Northrup emerged from the battle in second place and hoped to catch Blair. His hopes were never realized as Blair rode a fast and smooth eight laps to win the main. Northrup remained in second the entire race, Shawn McConnell was third, Castro finished fourth, and Faria was fifth.

Hideaki Ota jumped into the lead from gate four at the start of the Support Main Event with hopes of winning his first main of the season. Those hopes were ended on the second lap when Steve Murray took over the lead. Sixteen year old Skyler Greyson went by Ota as well and had visions of taking the lead. Murray never allowed Greyson an opportunity and he took his fourth main event win at Costa Mesa this season. Greyson had to settle for second, Ota hung to third, Carl Gazafy was fourth, and Rudy Laurer finished fifth.

Mark Sincavage won the three-rider battle of front yardage riders to take the lead in the Support B Main Event. His lead didn't last long because Robert Fiesler blasted underneath at the end of the first lap. Fiesler, a sergeant for the Los Angeles Police Department, never looked back as he scored a comfortable victory. Steve Dziadus was second, Sincavage finished third, Kim Stevens was fourth, Jim Lavender finished fifth, and Mike Boyle was sixth.

Jason Ramirez, who recently finished third in the Youth National Championship, won both heats and was well on his way to victory in the Youth Main when he fell on the third lap. Austin Novratil was in the right place at the right time as he took over the lead and held it to the checkered flag. Ricky Valdez was second, Joey Holt finished third, and Ramirez was fourth.


Youth Speedway
  8 - Austin Novratil
  5 - Ricky Valdez
114 - Joey Holt
 66 - Jason Ramirez  (fell, remounted)

Support B Consolation
185 - Keith Mullally                	20
169 - Dan Wensloff                     	10
223 - Fred Schmitthammer                20
308 - Hugh Randolph                     10
150 - Damon Barry                     	10	(fell)

Support B Main Event
106 - Robert Fiesler                    20
212 - Steve Dziadus                    	20
213 - Mark Sincavage                    10
136 - Kim Stevens                      	10
102 - Jim Lavender                      10
198 - Mike Boyle                        20   	(fell)

Support Last Chance
182 - Rudy Laurer
107 - Monte McKeon
178 - Eloy Medellin
248 - Brian Starr	(fell)

Support Main Event
214 - Steve Murray
120 - Skyler Greyson
240 - Hideaki Ota
176 - Carl Gazafy
182 - Rudy Laurer

Handicap Main Event
 39 - Buck Blair                    	30
166 - Andy Northrup                    	30
  6 - Shawn McConnell                   40
 14 - Eddie Castro                      40
  9 - Mike Faria                        50
 11 - Bobby Schwartz                    40
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco                 30   (fell)
 18 - Justin Boyle                      20   (non starter)

Last Chance      (awarded)
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
166 - Andy Northrup
 18 - Justin Boyle    	(fell)

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
 14 - Eddie Castro
 43 - Charlie Venegas	(tape penalty)
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco


www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.