American Speedway  

2005 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2005 West Coast Results Page


Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Father's Day
June 18, 2005 - Costa Mesa
By: Ryan Evans

Justin Boyle

Three-time National Champion "Flyin" Mike Faria won the Scratch Main for the second straight week and fourth time overall in 2005 at the world famous bullring in Costa Mesa.

The five-rider field left the line simultaneously but Faria emerged from the pack in the lead in turn two with Buck Blair chasing him down in second. Blair tried everything he could but Faria's lead got bigger with each lap as he cruised to the victory. Blair finished second, Shawn McConnell was third, Eddie Castro finished fourth, and Chris Manchester was fifth.

The Facchini brothers, Neil and Dale, were lined up at the front of the eight-rider Handicap Main Event field and it was Neil was first into turn one. Neil pulled ahead of his younger brother who had his hands full with Justin Boyle. Neil lengthened his lead over the first four laps, but struggling to hold the inside after lap four and didn't extend his lead despite the efforts of his brother. Boyle finally forced his way past Dale on lap six and immediately began reducing Neil's lead. Neil made his critical error when he brushed the wall in turn four and Boyle passed him just before taking the white flag. Facchini chased Boyle into turn one, but lifted and collided with Boyle in turn two.

Boyle's bike hooked up and both rider and machine went into the wall in violent fashion. Boyle was down for several minutes, but despite initial fears, escaped with no major injuries. Since the riders had begun the final lap, the race was awarded to Boyle with Neil Facchini, deemed the cause of the stoppage, relegated to last. McConnell was credited with second, Castro was third, Faria finished fourth, and Bobby Krips was fifth.

Former American Finalist Bryan Buffington took the lead in the Support Main, but a fallen rider forced a restart. Unfortunately for Buffington, his machine was unable to make the restart. Mark Baldwin took advantage of the second opportunity and jumped to the front and ran away with his second straight main event victory. Steve Murray was second, Rudy Laurer was third, Buffington was fourth, and Chris Metoyer was fifth after being excluded.

Steve Dziadus Sr. led from start to finish for his third Support B Main Event win of the season. Keith Mullally finished second, Ed Martinez was third, Mike Boyle finished fourth, Robert Glamuzina was fifth, and Damon Barry finished sixth.

Jason Ramirez patiently worked through traffic to win the Youth Main Event. Dylan Black finished second, Chad Hoyt was third, Gino Manzares finished fourth, and Joey Holt was fifth. Jack Higginson led all three laps of the first Pee Wee race with Shane Terry finishing second and Ben McConnell in third. Braydan Galvin passed Broc Nicol on the last lap to win the second Pee Wee race while Austin Beaird finished third.

Next week is the return of the Freestyle Motocross Jumpers which is certain to bring a large crowd. It will also mark the first round of the Golden State Flat Track Series held in conjunction with Perris Raceway. There are many classes, including Support and Youth Speedway, with practice starting at 10:00 a.m. and the races beginning at noon.

The evening's speedway program will begin at 7:30 instead of the usual 6:30.


Pee Wee Race #1
  2a - Jack Higginson
10 - Shane Terry
  2 - Ben McConnell

Pee Wee Race #2
  1 - Braydan Galvin
98 - Broc Nicol
12 - Austin Beaird

Youth Main Event
66 - Jason Ramirez              50
  7 - Dylan Black                20
154 - Chad Hoyt                 0
21 - Gino Manzares              50
114 - Joey Holt                20   (retired)

Support B Consolation
169 - Dan Wensloff           
102 - Jim Lavender                
107 - Monte McKeon            (fell, remounted)
308 - Hugh Randolph
111 - Joe Schultz                (non starter)

Support B Main Event
212 - Steve Dziadus Sr.        10
185 - Keith Mullally             20
269 - Ed Martinez                20
198 - Mike Boyle                 20
313 - Robert Glamuzina         10
150 - Damon Barry                10

Support Consolation
117 - Billy Braden
173 - Jeff Blaydes
176 - Carl Gazafy
213 - Mark Sincavage

Support Consolation
228 - Shane Kump
338 - Dave Delbridge
165 - Randy Kreps
178 - Eloy Medellin

Support Last Chance
148 - Chris Metoyer
118 - Scott Tidwell
106 - Robert Fiesler
113 - Mike McCarthy

Support Main Event  (restarted)
115 - Mark Baldwin
214 - Steve Murray         (fell)
182 - Rudy Laurer           (fell)
177 - Bryan Buffington           (non starter)
148 - Chris Metoyer        (fell, excluded)

Handicap Main Event      (awarded)
18 - Justin Boyle               20
  6 - Shawn McConnell          40
14 - Eddie Castro               40
  9 - Mike Faria                 50
24 - Bobby Krips                30
301 - Dale Facchini              10
130 - Chris Manchester          50   (retired)
201 - Neil Facchini              10  (fell, excluded)

Last Chance (restarted)
39 - Buck Blair
40n - Tommy Hedden
201 - Neil Facchini    (fell, remounted)
24 - Bobby Krips           (fell)

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
39 - Buck Blair
  6 - Shawn McConnell
14 - Eddie Castro
130 - Chris Manchester

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.