American Speedway  

2002 Costa Mesa Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results
2002 West Coast Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, CA

Orange County Harley/Buell Motorcycle Blow Out!
Costa Mesa Speedway
May 18, 2002
From Ryan Evans

2001 Mike Faria

One week after 45 year old Bobby Schwartz won the Scratch Main, 45 year old "Flyin" Mike Faria took home top honors in the Scratch Main at Costa Mesa Saturday night.

Faria started fast as he trapped from gate four and held a slight advantage over Josh Larsen exiting turn two. Larsen challenged Faria on the inside entering turn three, but the former National Champion held him back. It was the only chance Larsen would have as Faria pulled away with each lap for the win. Larsen remained in second, Shawn McConnell was third, Chris Manchester was fourth, and Dukie Ermolenko was fifth.

When the eight-man Handicap Main event took to the track, the steady misting that had occurred all night had started to take its effect on the track. The weather made for slick conditions and gave the riders something else to think about as the race started. The first attempt would get no further than turn one because two separate incidents brought out the red flag. Andy Northrup and Eddie Castro went down, while Shaun Harmatiuk and Randy DiFrancesco got together. DiFrancesco was penalized for the restart.

On the restart, Brad Sauer took the lead from his 10 yard handicap. Sauer held the lead for a lap and a half before 18 year old Harmatiuk took over the lead, and for the third week in a row he was seeking his first Handicap Main victory. Larsen had worked through traffic to get into second on the fourth lap. Larsen closed on Harmatiuk and at the end of lap five he made his move. Harmatiuk tried to close the door as they entered turn one, but Larsen brushed him aside and sent Harmatiuk to the ground. Larsen was affected as well because the contact forced him off the precious inside line and allowed a very grateful McConnell to take over the lead. McConnell held the lead all the way to the checkered flag for his second Handicap Main Event win in a row. Larsen was second, Castro was third, DiFrancesco finished fourth, and Faria was fifth.

John DeFries was on a mission in the Support Main Event to prove that he belonged in First Division and he fulfilled it by making a mockery of the race and winning by half a lap. DeFries was second to Billy Braden before passing him on the back straight on the second lap. DeFries then opened up a gigantic lead and took the easy win. Colorado's Chuck Johansen was second, Braden was third, Dave Delbridge was fourth, and 2001 Support Points Champion David Lynch suffered an engine failure and finished fifth.

The first attempt to run the Support B Main Event ended abruptly as Craig Collier went head-over-heels in turn one and brought out the red flag. Rich Brock, racing at Costa Mesa for the first time, quickly took the lead on the restart and steadily pulled away to take the victory in very impressive fashion. Brian Hunt finished second, Rohn Zellner was third, Malcolm Roe finished fourth, Michael Novratil was fifth, and Collier was credited with sixth.

Despite the wet conditions, there was a good crowd for Harley Night. Costa Mesa is closed next Saturday due to the Memorial Day Holiday. Speedway returns to the world famous track on Saturday, June 1 with the ever-popular Freestyle Motorcycle Jumpers. This event never fails to be standing-room-only so get there early.

Support B Consolation
107 - Monte McKeon            20
102 - Jim Lavender            10
209 - Greg Vandemore          10  (penalty line)
155 - Kevin Templeton         10  (penalty line) (fell)
108 - Michael Hernandez       20  (fell)

Support B Consolation    (restarted)
296 - Tom Rossano             20
176 - Carl Gazafy             20
144 - Tom Hamilton            20
169 - Dan Wensloff            10
105 - Mike Hernandez          20  (non starter - restart)
164 - Rusty Hall              10  (non starter - restart)

Support B Main Event     (restarted)
138 - Rich Brock              10
332 - Brian Hunt              10
163 - Rohn Zellner            20
180 - Malcolm Roe             20
181 - Michael Novratil        20
133 - Craig Collier           10  (fell, excluded)

Support Consolation
240 - Hideaki Ota             10
118 - Scott Tidwell           20
106 - Robert Fiesler          10
103 - Brent Smith             10
196 - Rod Lenz                20
100 - Phil Harmatiuk          20
269 - Ed Martinez             20  (non starter)

Support Last Chance
117 - Billy Braden
125 - Johnny Lupo
198 - Mike Boyle
112 - Bryan Baichtal

Support Main Event
316 - John DeFries
 45c - Chuck Johansen
117 - Billy Braden
338 - Dave Delbridge
131 - David Lynch           (engine failure)

Handicap Main Event      (restarted)
  6 - Shawn McConnell         50  *started from the 60
  2 - Josh Larsen             50
 14 - Eddie Castro            40
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco       40  (penalty line)
  9 - Mike Faria              50
 21 - Brad Sauer              10
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk         20  (fell)
166 - Andy Northrup           30  (retired)

Last Chance
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
166 - Andy Northrup

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
  2 - Josh Larsen
  6 - Shawn McConnell
  1 - Chris Manchester
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.